fineleg Posted January 7, 2009 Posted January 7, 2009 What tax software do you folks use (if any)? I have used Turbo Tax in the past and it has been quite good. However, a few years back they made one change - they changed stocks/investments handling to be only in Turbo Tax Premier (more expensive) and not in Turbo Tax Deluxe. Last year I think I bought the Premier version. However, I believe you can still do the stocks/investments in Deluxe (cheaper) edition - although you have to do most of the calculation yourself. I do the calculation, so maybe I can just use Deluxe. What do you folks use? Do it your own with software or without? Or do you use a tax consultant?
Dirty_South Posted January 7, 2009 Posted January 7, 2009 IIRC there was a similar thread started by u last year too :)
vadodaravictor Posted January 7, 2009 Posted January 7, 2009 What tax software do you folks use (if any)? I have used Turbo Tax in the past and it has been quite good. However, a few years back they made one change - they changed stocks/investments handling to be only in Turbo Tax Premier (more expensive) and not in Turbo Tax Deluxe. Last year I think I bought the Premier version. However, I believe you can still do the stocks/investments in Deluxe (cheaper) edition - although you have to do most of the calculation yourself. I do the calculation, so maybe I can just use Deluxe. What do you folks use? Do it your own with software or without? Or do you use a tax consultant? I am a poor guy..don't make lot of money...traditional paper filing for me:icflove:
fineleg Posted January 7, 2009 Author Posted January 7, 2009 IIRC there was a similar thread started by u last year too :) thought so - i was looking for it... "Advanced Search" --> username: fineleg keyword: tax and the icf search tells me "No matches" :(( where is my old thread? is there a way we can "bookmark" favorite threads in ICF? does forum software allow that?
fineleg Posted January 7, 2009 Author Posted January 7, 2009 I am a poor guy..don't make lot of money...traditional paper filing for me:icflove: well its not abt lot of money that i invest - its abt whether you buy/sell stocks, bonds etc and other investments - even if small amt of investing then you need to track all of those transactions and make sure all accounted correctly. buy share of company X - gets acquired by company Y - then so on.
vadodaravictor Posted January 7, 2009 Posted January 7, 2009 well its not abt lot of money that i invest - its abt whether you buy/sell stocks, bonds etc and other investments - even if small amt of investing then you need to track all of those transactions and make sure all accounted correctly. buy share of company X - gets acquired by company Y - then so on. I don't trade. I invest. I just buy broad equity based index funds covering US & other countries and have never sold them. That's why my tax life is simple - amount on W2 + bank 1099s is my income :eyedance:
fineleg Posted January 7, 2009 Author Posted January 7, 2009 Yes but when certain shares go to near zero or bankrupt then one has to take losses for tax year :((
Ram Posted January 7, 2009 Posted January 7, 2009 Somehow, for fineleg alone, this home page displays --- IndianFAQ.com. :giggle:
vadodaravictor Posted January 7, 2009 Posted January 7, 2009 Yes but when certain shares go to near zero or bankrupt then one has to take losses for tax year :(( Looks like finey invested in Satyam:giggle:
fineleg Posted January 7, 2009 Author Posted January 7, 2009 ^ nahi yaar, even satyam is not bankrupt or zero. there are other once upon a time great companies that got busted over the last year!