The Outsider Posted February 20, 2009 Posted February 20, 2009 So it took 13 years for the Indian judiciary to convict a guy where evidence could not have been more straightforward - crores of Rupees in cash were recovered from his two residences. In the meanwhile he is 82 years old and has vowed to appeal in a higher court which means he will live his entire life out of jail despite being as guilty as anyone can ever be. http://www.tribuneindia.com/2009/20090221/main1.htm Thirteen years after Rs 2.45 crore in cash was seized from his residence here, former Union Communications Minister Sukh Ram was today convicted on charges of amassing Rs 4.25 crore disproportionate assets during his tenure in PV Narasimha Rao’s cabinet. He faces a maximum punishment of up to seven-year jail term. The quantum of sentence is likely to be announced on Tuesday. Special CBI Judge V K Maheshwari held the 82-year-old politician from Himachal Pradesh guilty under various provisions of the Prevention of Corruption Act dealing with criminal misconduct of a public servant. “Vide my separate judgment, the accused is convicted,” he said, delivering the verdict in the 13-year-old case. Sukh Ram was not present in the court when the verdict was announced. The court had exempted him from personal appearance to allow him to appear in another court case in the city. In its 150-page judgment, the court differed with the CBI’s computation of Sukh Ram’s disproportionate assets and reduced the amount from Rs 5.36 crore to Rs 4.25 crore. His illegal assets included Rs 2.45 crore cash recovered from his official residence here and Rs 1.16 crore from his house in Mandi in Himachal Pradesh. These were amassed during 1991 to 1996. — PTI
veeru_rocks Posted February 21, 2009 Posted February 21, 2009 he at least got convicted we have thugs strutting around as cabinet minister in our country. for instance our laloo bhaiya... sthg tells me that he got convicted because he was not in active politics anymore had he been active then rest assured he wud have never been convicted.. we have thugs galore as politician in our country
fineleg Posted February 21, 2009 Posted February 21, 2009 he at least got convicted we have thugs strutting around as cabinet minister in our country. for instance our laloo bhaiya... sthg tells me that he got convicted because he was not in active politics anymore had he been active then rest assured he wud have never been convicted.. we have thugs galore as politician in our country :agree: just that one of those same sample, you consider as savior
THX_1138 Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 with a politically inclined press, transparency in conduct is not always possible. though to be honest, rarely ever do politicians suffer the wraith of justice, india or abroad, unless they have embarrassed themselves by requesting something as insipid as oral pleasure in their offices. though this is not an apology for the delayed conviction, it takes time to create a case and argue it, and that too depends on how clouded is the court's docket... i would know, i am about to marry a lawyer :D
THX_1138 Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 its a lot easier to convict businessmen and other thugs who are not as politically entrenched.
fineleg Posted February 23, 2009 Posted February 23, 2009 ... i would know' date='[b'] i am about to marry a lawyer :D Congrats! (and, dont argue with a lawyer :D)
Desi Cartman Posted February 24, 2009 Posted February 24, 2009 I have seen some property owned by the minister in Himachal myself. I remember he was building big hotel in Palampur at the time of all these scams .