Rajiv Posted April 6, 2009 Posted April 6, 2009 OK, I am tethering to my iphone via USB, can I have another PC connect to the PC connected to the iphone and get internet? I also have a wireless router
Rajiv Posted April 6, 2009 Author Posted April 6, 2009 i thought its going to be easy peesee - for the super techies we have here..no one have an answer?
vroomfondel Posted April 6, 2009 Posted April 6, 2009 tereku kaam waam nai kya? saala jab bhi dekho iphone ki ***** me khujli karta hai. is economy mein vela baitha hai kya?
Kohum Posted April 6, 2009 Posted April 6, 2009 OK, I am tethering to my iphone via USB, can I have another PC connect to the PC connected to the iphone and get internet? I also have a wireless router say you have comp A connected to inet using your mobile, then connect a router to this pc A and connect second PC to your router. However, the settings for the router and comp A need to be figured out such that comp behaves as a DHCP server and router [it's usually by default a client] behaves as a DHCP client. Not sure if this was helpful.
Rajiv Posted April 6, 2009 Author Posted April 6, 2009 tereku kaam waam nai kya? saala jab bhi dekho iphone ki ***** me khujli karta hai. is economy mein vela baitha hai kya? I have monday off, but this for a diff reason
Rajiv Posted April 6, 2009 Author Posted April 6, 2009 say you have comp A connected to inet using your mobile, then connect a router to this pc A and connect second PC to your router. However, the settings for the router and comp A need to be figured out such that comp behaves as a DHCP server and router [it's usually by default a client] behaves as a DHCP client. Not sure if this was helpful. somewhat but u lost me after DHCP
vroomfondel Posted April 6, 2009 Posted April 6, 2009 this didn't work for you? http://cre.ations.net/blog/post/how-to-tether-your-iphone-3g-and-browse-the-web-using-your-3g-co
Kohum Posted April 6, 2009 Posted April 6, 2009 somewhat but u lost me after DHCP What I meant to say was that - Router is by default acting as a client PC A needs to be configured to be DHCP server, i.e. start -> control panel -> Network settings -> Local Area Network [Right click, select properties] -> in the list select Internet protocol [TCP/IP] -> click on properties -> in the properties window click on get IP & DNS data automatically, if not clicked already. :nervous: may be this will be useful. If this doesn't work then I don't quite know what to do. You connect Iphone using wire or bluetooth to the first PC A ?
Rajiv Posted April 6, 2009 Author Posted April 6, 2009 Well, this is what I actually wanted Vroom - iphone is already tethering..thats not the problem nandya PC A connected to iphone's 3G network via USB PC B - is not a pc but a internet satellite reciever which only works via well, internet..and it does have options where u can set ur own IP, DNS. currently both are connected to a router, but since the main pc is using iphone, can the sat reciever connect to PC A and use that iphones internet as it itself cannot be connected to the iphone yes..my how tos are not generally simple..already asked this on satellite forum as well as iphone forum..i know its possible but cant get the combo right
dial_100 Posted April 6, 2009 Posted April 6, 2009 Well... there isn't any scope for P2P right?? What is your OS on the PC where your 3G internet connection is setup?
dial_100 Posted April 6, 2009 Posted April 6, 2009 I Think Internet Sharing should help you. # Enable Internet Connection Sharing. To do that, go to Network Connections and locate your 3G internet connection’s dialer. Right click and select properties. From the properties window, select the Advanced tab. Tick the check box for to enable Internet Connection Sharing. Select Wireless Network Connection to enable sharing via WiFi. internet-connection-sharing # Create a wireless computer-to-computer network (also known as ad-hoc network). At the taskbar, right click on your the Wireless Network Connection icon. A window opens to let you choose a wireless network. On the left side of the window, click on the “Change advanced settings” link. You will be directed to the Wireless Network Connection Properties window. On this window, click the Wireless Network tab. Click the Add button to create a new wireless network. Make sure you tick the check box at the lower left side of the window to make your new wireless network an ad hoc (computer-to-computer) network. Adding network security protocols are optional but recommended. create-ad-hoc-network # And that’s it! Now go get another PC, Mac, PSP, iPhone, iPod touch, or whatever, and connect to the new ad hoc network you just created. On Windows XP, you’ll know you have successfully connected when you see something like this: Try this and let us know how it goes.
dial_100 Posted April 6, 2009 Posted April 6, 2009 And if you dont want your PC tied up on this Ad-hoc network (p2p), then think of buying 3G router as well.. but it is bit more on $$$. aite... good luck