veeru_rocks Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Cities/Ahmedabad/Rural-women-pip-urban-sisters-in-voting/articleshow/4488912.cms Urban women may well take a few lessons in participating in democratic processes from their country cousins, most of whom are illiterate. While women voters from rural Gujarat came out in large numbers to make their votes count, urban women lagged way behind as Gujarat went to polls on April 30. If only 45-47 per cent registered women voters in areas like Ellisbridge, Vejalpur, Naranpura and Maninagar in Ahmedabad exercised their franchise, a staggering 73.27 per cent women voted in Dediapada in Bharuch district and 67.76 per cent in Kodinar, Junagadh. The trend was witnessed almost everywhere in the state. “Issues like unemployment, agriculture production, inflation and caste factors have a bigger impact on women in rural areas than on their urban counterparts. There is high participation even in elections to gram panchayats,†says sociologist Gaurang Jani. “In cities, students, especially girls, keep away even from university elections. As a result, we increasingly have an apolitical population, especially among women. Participation of women even in drawing debates. Moreover, political parties too do not seem to mind a low turnout of urban women and concentrate only on their dedicated votebanks,†adds Jani. Polling in Gujarat saw a voter turnout of 47.92 per cent, with Ahmedabad averaging 45.31 per cent. “I was not clear about whom to vote for. I found merits and drawbacks in both parties. On polling day, I was confused as no party could present a reason for me to vote,†says Ahmedabad resident Shilpa Dalal. Many say they were put off by the “vanishing act†that most candidates do after the elections. “I have hardly seen any MP do anything for the area and feel voting for any party would not have been of any help,†says Sangita Patel, a resident of Bodakdev in Ahmedabad.
punjabi_khota Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 And then Fineleg cries about sexist posts when someone says he is surprised to see a woman taking interest in politics.
Lurker Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 Such nonsense is witnessed all across India, although the author selected Gujrat for this article (I will take it ;-) ). There is this famous incident of Sunil Dutt being asked what was the difference between campaigning in slums versus Pali Hill. He had replied the slum dwellers know the difference between Vidhan Sabha and Lok Sabha, Pali Hill residents dont. I am only too happy Dutt saab did not mention Vidhan Parishad!
fineleg Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 And then Fineleg cries about sexist posts when someone says he is surprised to see a woman taking interest in politics. Huh, one article and you generalize :bow: There are people like this "can't care to think about voting" (both male and female) and in every country (not just India). --------------------------------- Indira Gandhi was a woman I suppose, and she was in Politics I suppose. Jayalalitha (corrupt yes) was in Politics I suppose. Several women take interest in politics directly or indirectly. Quit the sexist comments please. Do you know when women got voting rights in a PROGRESSIVE country like USA? After fighting for it? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Voting_rights_in_the_United_States Suffrage: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Women%27s_suffrage Who was responsible for why it took so long to get "voting rights" in USA of all places? And, then now instead of admiring some women who have OVERCOME all these and taking interest in voting/politics, dont make sexist comments. If women had not been so suppressed, they would have been more active than men in these matters by now. Give it time, will you.
Lurker Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 I dont see the gender angle really. What I do see is a lack of female oriented policies in India. In US, for example, females tend to be a big proponent for Right to choose abortion. Often the leaders who are against it feel a wrath of the females. In India there arent too many female oriented topics.
veeru_rocks Posted May 6, 2009 Author Posted May 6, 2009 Mataji it's not one article where soem columnist is pontificating nonsense .. it's electoral statistics from one state .. You can't deny the electoral numbers from a state of 5.5 crore people
Lurker Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 You can't deny the electoral numbers from a state of 5.5 crore people Come on you can not blame Finey. When it comes to that 5.5 crore people state many people are in denial :hysterical:
veeru_rocks Posted May 7, 2009 Author Posted May 7, 2009 Yeah they even invented phrases like those 5.5 crore people are sick when their nonsense was nto bought by them..but that's another issue.. Meanwhile ex_CEC Goplaswamy says in nouncertain terms that these jago re and other campiangs are futile because it's targeted to those edcuated class who are pretending to sleep it's not that they don't know things.. Soye ko jagaya ja sakta hai jo sone ka bahana kar raha hai usko jagane ka koi tarika nahin hai
Desi Cartman Posted May 7, 2009 Posted May 7, 2009 I am not disputing that more people go out to vote in villages but since they are poorer and more desperate to make a difference plus sometimes the neats get them free food , money etc .. BTW I wouldnt be surprised if some of these votes were cast by netas and their saniks only