Not that it would make much of a difference but it was actually Fareed Zakaria who ripped into Pakistan callling it "they have conned", "lied to us", "used our money for fight against India" etc etc. Considering how Fareed Zakaria is thought of as one of the most influential American thinkers today he may very well be the best friend India could ask for.

Fareed Zakaria surely is a good chap, but he is prone to fall into the same pakistani trap he outlined on the show. Not two months ago he was talking of how INDIA should make concessions to pakistan and help it out (with say kashmir) for it to go after the Taliban.
Is this the Fareed Zakaria you want as India's best friend in USA? From his article in Feb. http://www.newsweek.com/id/182651/page/1
If the military agrees to dismantle these jihadist networks—demonstrably—Afghanistan and India should respond with concessions to ease regional tensions.
How can anyone with a basic knowledge of subcontinents history think that this policy of appeasement will work, especially with the pakistani army? His heart may be in the right place but he lacks a firm conviction on the reality of pakistani treachery.
Fareed Zakaria surely is a good chap' date=' but he is prone to fall into the same pakistani trap he outlined on the show. [b']Not two months ago he was talking of how INDIA should make concessions to pakistan and help it out (with say kashmir) for it to go after the Taliban.
Two things here. a) I dont think Zakaria mentioned Kashmir as such. What he meant was India should be prepared to make concessions. And frankly I have heard that note from a long list of qualified people, including a noted Pakistani scribe I had the fortune of discussing Pakistani situation recently. I asked him if there was anything India could do to prevent Pakistan from collapsing and he mentioned that India could start with pulling troops from Kashmir border so Pakistani Army does not have any excuse not to go after militants on its Western borders. This is of course easier said than done. I mean pulling back troops(by India) means there is a chance Pakistan would smuggle infiltrators across the border. At the same time there is also the merit in the argument that Pakistani Army will always use India as an excuse and pile up forces on its Eastern border and not go after Taliban. I think this is what Zakaria was hinting at. b) Specifically at Kashmir I would like to see some "progress". By progress I mean some development on the contentious issue between the two nation. I mean during my entire lifespan the issue is right where it was before. Pakistan does its own cr@p but India seems to do nothing about Kashmir. Now let me categorically say, before bhagwa loony goes nuts, that i dont mean to compromise on J&K as part of India but there has to be some positive thoughts on the state. We simply can not treat it as a bleeding spot as we have for decades. xxx
Lurker , why should india move troops from J&k border .. they may try to pull another kargil or send more terrorists .. India doesnt send anybody to pak (at least via that route) and Im sure pak also knows that Indian army is not gonna attack pak so why should India move troops . when was the last time Indians crossed border to get into pakistan :hmmm:
Lurker ' date=' [b']why should india move troops from J&k border .. they may try to pull another kargil or send more terrorists .. India doesnt send anybody to pak (at least via that route) and Im sure pak also knows that Indian army is not gonna attack pak so why should India move troops . when was the last time Indians crossed border to get into pakistan :hmmm:
Thats why its a catch 22 for India. We can not move troops because of what-if scenario. At the same time if we dont move the troops Pakistani Army uses that as an excuse to keep its army on Eastern border. Sure we can all argue that India has never attacked Pakistan but that would be a sane argument not something Pakistani Army is great at listening to. I do think we need to make our Kashmir border more efficient and qualititative instead of sheer numbers which it seems to be right now.
yes we need better surveillance but I dont think our ministers are capable of anything they still havent anything about protecting seas even after Mumbai attacks so ... but the main question is , why is it India's responsibility to help pakistan when Pak refuses to cooperate with us when it comes to destroying terrorist camps , extradition of Dawood and many more ...

Zakaria was born in Mumbai, Maharashtra, India to a Muslim family. His father, Rafiq Zakaria, was a politician associated with the Indian National Congress and an Islamic scholar. His mother, Fatima Zakaria, was for a time the editor of the Sunday Times of India.

Wasn't Zakaria playing the "good taliban bad taliban" oxymoron card recently? He gets ripped apart regularly on Bharat Rakshak forum.
Yes he was. Almost justifying the paki govt-Taliban peace deals. Exactly the line the red hatted moron Zaid Hamid is spouting.
I mean pulling back troops(by India) means there is a chance Pakistan would smuggle infiltrators across the border.
Bhai sahab. Chance? Last month itself there was heavy infiltration in Kashmir, so many soldiers laid down their lives battling them. For God's sake, please dont give in to naivete.
b) Specifically at Kashmir I would like to see some "progress". By progress I mean some development on the contentious issue between the two nation.
India's position is consistent - pakistan should shut down the terror factories across the border and stop infiltration completely first. I think pakistan going down the sh!t-hole is the best thing to happen. If pakistan collapses there will be less tethers on India to punish it for every act of terrorism emanating from paki soil. Quite possibly pro-pakistani Kashmiri people might also give up on it. Without pakistan there would be no Kashmir dispute.
Bhai sahab. Chance? Last month itself there was heavy infiltration in Kashmir, so many soldiers laid down their lives battling them. For God's sake, please dont give in to naivete.
You are making a mistake again. What I am trying to clarify is where Zakaria was coming from. And indeed this is the argument propounded by many, including Zakaria. I have also mentioned it is a catch 22 situation for India. Damned if you do, damned if you don't.
why is it India's responsibility to help pakistan when Pak refuses to cooperate with us when it comes to destroying terrorist camps , extradition of Dawood and many more ...
It is not Indian responsibility as such, it is just a case of making the correct diplomatic and strategic policy. If India is to emerge as one of world's important powers it will also have to start providing solution, and work towards them, instead of acting as victim all the time. Stopping infiltration is only one in the many measures. And lets all be honest for a second, infiltration does not only happen in Kashmir valley area. It happens lot more at Bihar/UP/Nepal border, Bengal/BD border, heck even Mumbai killings did not happen via Kashmir route. Of late anytime you read about ISI miscreants it is pretty clear they are moved via Indo-Nepal border. We need more efficient border policy, this whole "amassing" of troops does not do anything good for India. xxx

Such time to time ripping Pakistan apart is useless apart from the short term excitements on the net. The authorities in the developed and powerful nations know everything and they are playing around. Unless they realize the situation and sincerely do something to prevent a catastrophe, we will remain open to the first ever terrorist nuclear attack.

Fareed Zakaria surely is a good chap' date=' but he is prone to fall into the same pakistani trap he outlined on the show. Not two months ago he was talking of how INDIA should make concessions to pakistan and help it out (with say kashmir) for it to go after the Taliban.[/quote'] source? and as much as i can imagine, based on the philosophy he adheres to, he might have suggested a deescalation of troops from kashmir so that pakistan may redeploy. not that absurd a suggestion since the situation in kashmir was improving, thought it was possibly in response to the draconian military presence.
I am not a fan of Stewart's brand of humour, but that segment was something else Oh, the irony of the "Go Taliban Go" chest stickers left me in splits :hysterical:
really? what about him do you not like?
kis bevakoof ki muh lag raha hai? i just ignore him and VR/DR now a days.