Rajiv Posted May 23, 2009 Posted May 23, 2009 Almost every time I read Sonia Gandhi here, there is always something negative attached to it Sonia is this, sonia is that, she controls everything etc and make her sound that she is doing it for selfish reasons etc I wonder, what inspired her or what kept her living in India after Rajiv died? Someone who probably was used to free lifestyle came to India due to marriage. She had Rajiv by her all the time, but what would have gone through her mind when he died She must have felt alienated and lost, someone who probably wasn't settled in India and after the death chose to live between restrictions, media and people who weren't perfect company I mean why would she trouble herself getting into the mess of Indian Politics and sacrifice her choices, ie., not marrying again I don't about past politics but to me she had guts to stay in India and carry on, still she gets a lot of slack from everyone - has anyone seen things from her POV?
cybervickey Posted May 23, 2009 Posted May 23, 2009 Almost every time I read Sonia Gandhi here, there is always something negative attached to it Sonia is this, sonia is that, she controls everything etc and make her sound that she is doing it for selfish reasons etc I wonder, what inspired her or what kept her living in India after Rajiv died? Someone who probably was used to free lifestyle came to India due to marriage. She had Rajiv by her all the time, but what would have gone through her mind when he died She must have felt alienated and lost, someone who probably wasn't settled in India and after the death chose to live between restrictions, media and people who weren't perfect company I mean why would she trouble herself getting into the mess of Indian Politics and sacrifice her choices, ie., not marrying again I don't about past politics but to me she had guts to stay in India and carry on, still she gets a lot of slack from everyone - has anyone seen things from her POV? how old was she when she married rajiv ? .Damn man , she is a full bred italain , how didi she manage to adapt to a totally foreign culture ,wearing saris and all! and kudos to indian people for seeing past someone ethnicity !
seedhi Posted May 23, 2009 Posted May 23, 2009 Almost every time I read Sonia Gandhi here, there is always something negative attached to it Sonia is this, sonia is that, she controls everything etc and make her sound that she is doing it for selfish reasons etc I wonder, what inspired her or what kept her living in India after Rajiv died? Someone who probably was used to free lifestyle came to India due to marriage. She had Rajiv by her all the time, but what would have gone through her mind when he died She must have felt alienated and lost, someone who probably wasn't settled in India and after the death chose to live between restrictions, media and people who weren't perfect company I mean why would she trouble herself getting into the mess of Indian Politics and sacrifice her choices, ie., not marrying again I don't about past politics but to me she had guts to stay in India and carry on, still she gets a lot of slack from everyone - has anyone seen things from her POV? The only POV I have is the performance of the govt she led by proxy in the last five years. And that, frankly, has been PATHETIC.
CSK Fan Posted May 23, 2009 Posted May 23, 2009 The only POV I have is the performance of the govt she led by proxy in the last five years. And that' date=' frankly, has been PATHETIC.[/quote'] Bilge!! Pure, unadultarated bilge. The goverment's performance has been better than BJP's last one despite it being recession time all over the world. And Proxy goverment? Was Advani proxy BJP leader when Bajpai was PM? If not then why accuse Sonia? Thankfully the people of India felt that the goverment;s performnce was much, much better than BJP's annd gave more votes to them than last time
riya Posted May 23, 2009 Posted May 23, 2009 Going back to Italy was much better for her ?i don't think so.Would she be able to lead the life that she has in India.she was a different person after marriage and in a differnt position which was rather too difficult to throw away. .Not at all surprised that she didn't go back to Italy. By the way whose selection was the current president .Whoever it is i am showing my extreme displeasure to her/him.
seedhi Posted May 24, 2009 Posted May 24, 2009 Bilge!! Pure' date=' unadultarated bilge. The goverment's performance has been better than BJP's last one despite it being recession time all over the world. [/quote'] On internal security this govt has been among the WORST of all times. Which govt had such a character as Shivraj Patil as Home minister?? Even on the economy, the fiscal deficit is higher than it has been in 17 YEARS. Thats how bad financial mismanagement has been. Regarding proxy - I dont think anyone with a functioning brain will deny that Sonia Gandhi's approval was needed in all decisions. Otherwise ask yourself what people like Arjun Singh and Shivraj Patil were doing in the cabinet. Their only qualification was that they were "loyal" to the family. Heck, one of the main jobs of Shivraj Patil was to accompany Sonia Gandhi on her trips so that the Home Minsiters aircraft could be used free of charge for her. Manmohan Singh himself is on the record saying that he is PM only on the wishes of Sonia Gandhi. I dont know about you, but I would rather not have the PM of my country bowing to the wishes of an extra constitutional person. Lastly, can some Sonia worshipper explain to mortal souls like us the reasoning behind installing Pratibha Patil as the President of India instead of giving APJ Kalam a well deserved second term? We will see many more such nuggets of Sonia Gandhi's "brilliance" for next five years. So buckle up!
ViruRulez Posted May 24, 2009 Posted May 24, 2009 On internal security this govt has been among the WORST of all times. Which govt had such a character as Shivraj Patil as Home minister?? Even on the economy' date= the fiscal deficit is higher than it has been in 17 YEARS. Thats how bad financial mismanagement has been. Regarding proxy - I dont think anyone with a functioning brain will deny that Sonia Gandhi's approval was needed in all decisions. Otherwise ask yourself what people like Arjun Singh and Shivraj Patil were doing in the cabinet. Their only qualification was that they were "loyal" to the family. Heck, one of the main jobs of Shivraj Patil was to accompany Sonia Gandhi on her trips so that the Home Minsiters aircraft could be used free of charge for her. Manmohan Singh himself is on the record saying that he is PM only on the wishes of Sonia Gandhi. I dont know about you, but I would rather not have the PM of my country bowing to the wishes of an extra constitutional person. Lastly, can some Sonia worshipper explain to mortal souls like us the reasoning behind installing Pratibha Patil as the President of India instead of giving APJ Kalam a well deserved second term? We will see many more such nuggets of Sonia Gandhi's "brilliance" for next five years. So buckle up! About the fiscal deficit, please provide the source. I dont understand when there was 9% economic growth going on how can the fiscal deficit be high. Regarding Arjun Singh and Shivraj Patil, they have both been left out by Manmohan Singh.. even Arjun Singh's son and daughter were denied ticket by Congress.. at least they are showing some signs of improving and that is good... it seems that they are trying to provide a better govt. with more say from MMS .. so I would still prefer it.. at this time, they look much better than Mayawati, Jayalalitha, BJP etc... let us see what happens ahead but it is quite good as of now
ViruRulez Posted May 24, 2009 Posted May 24, 2009 BTW seedhi I dont know but your posts sound quite similar to a bhagora member here named veeru_rocks wehre he made similar meaningless posts ... and he also seemed to come to only the politics section of ICF with some kind of propaganda .. if you are related to veeru_rocks I would advise you to ask him to post here because a lot of people are waiting for veeru_rocks in ICF after the elections :giggle: Anyways I just saw your previous posts and previous threads and none of them are in the cricket forums You have made mostly replies in veeru_rocks threads as I just checked out and if I was sherlock holmes I might have thought you are veeru_rocks and would have checked your IP to confirm it :winky: All your threads on ICF http://indiancricketfans.com/search.php?do=finduser&u=8788&starteronly=1 All your posts on ICF http://indiancricketfans.com/search.php?do=finduser&u=8788 Sherlock Holmes would have been suspicious seeing these and the uncanny similarity with D_R / V_R Many people are waiting for him and people are waiting for him to post by his real name
fineleg Posted May 24, 2009 Posted May 24, 2009 All I gotta say is, in her prime B-> No wonder Rajeev Gandhi was floored :winky:
seedhi Posted May 25, 2009 Posted May 25, 2009 About the fiscal deficit' date=' please provide the source. I dont understand when there was 9% economic growth going on how can the fiscal deficit be high. [/quote'] Fiscal deficit is related to the borrowings the government makes, when it spends more than it earns. Infact it is in managing the deficit where the true acumen of a govt shows. Till 2006, the US economy under Bush was also growing well but the deficit was the major concern. Anyway here is a source: http://indiatoday.intoday.in/content_mail.php?option=com_content&name=print&id=29813 Some excerpts from it: For starters, this Government’s statement of account shows it contains the seeds of a larger fiscal mess, which the next government will have to combat. With gross market borrowings for the current fiscal year 2008-09 pegged at Rs 3,06,000 crore, the Government has tripled its open market borrowing from the original Rs 1,33,300 crore—thus pushing up the fiscal deficit from 2.5 per cent to 6 per cent. Compared to the fiscal year that saw the UPA come to power, the NDA government had left behind a deficit of only 4.8 per cent of the GDP at Rs 1,32,103 crore while the present Government’s interim budget has a deficit of 6 per cent of the GDP at Rs 3,26,515 crore. If one takes the reported headline deficit of 6 per cent along with off budget items accounting for 3.5 per cent of GDP, the Central fiscal deficit for the year rises to nearly 9.5-10 per cent. Combine this figure with the state deficit, and India’s gross deficit stands at almost 12 per cent of GDP, which is the highest ever since 1991. Regarding Arjun Singh and Shivraj Patil, they have both been left out by Manmohan Singh.. even Arjun Singh's son and daughter were denied ticket by Congress.. at least they are showing some signs of improving and that is good... it seems that they are trying to provide a better govt. with more say from MMS .. so I would still prefer it.. at this time, they look much better than Mayawati, Jayalalitha, BJP etc... let us see what happens ahead but it is quite good as of now So you are judging the UPA by what you expect to be its good performance in the future?!! How about judging it on the basis of its last 5 years. As for the future, who knows, but hope for the best and prepare for the worst.
seedhi Posted May 25, 2009 Posted May 25, 2009 BTW seedhi I dont know but your posts sound quite similar to a bhagora member here named veeru_rocks wehre he made similar meaningless posts ... and he also seemed to come to only the politics section of ICF with some kind of propaganda .. if you are related to veeru_rocks I would advise you to ask him to post here because a lot of people are waiting for veeru_rocks in ICF after the elections :giggle:If you find my posts meaningless and propaganda, feel free to ignore them. In almost a year of membership I have made 200 posts, so I am sure it woudnt be too much effort on your part to avoid them. You have made mostly replies in veeru_rocks threads as I just checked out and if I was sherlock holmes I might have thought you are veeru_rocks and would have checked your IP to confirm it :winky: All I can say is that your wild guess is way off the mark. Go ahead with an IP check and disabuse yourself of this assumption.
ViruRulez Posted May 25, 2009 Posted May 25, 2009 Fiscal deficit is related to the borrowings the government makes, when it spends more than it earns. Infact it is in managing the deficit where the true acumen of a govt shows. Till 2006, the US economy under Bush was also growing well but the deficit was the major concern. Anyway here is a source: http://indiatoday.intoday.in/content_mail.php?option=com_content&name=print&id=29813 Some excerpts from it: So you are judging the UPA by what you expect to be its good performance in the future?!! How about judging it on the basis of its last 5 years. As for the future, who knows, but hope for the best and prepare for the worst. I have always maintained that almost all politicians in India are corrupted and personally I dont care much about any politician.. but I am a youth with a modern outlook who likes only success and development.. at least the present govt. is trying to do so.. and it is a stable govt. with a good leadership in the future too... and it also supports the youth of the country which I like ... I am not for them but it does not make any sense to oppose them when they have done nothing terribly bad... none of the Indian govt. have been perfect and if you believe politics in India can be 100% it is not realistic.. they will remain scumdogs but I willl still support them as of now because at least MMS and Rahul Gandhi seem to be comparatively good persons as compared to the rest of the political scumdogs I see the future of this govt. at least bright compared to the other political parties.. the other parties do not have good leadership at least for the next 5 years or more .. BJP does not have leadership and I would be the last person to expect Mayawati, Mulayam Singh, Jayalalitha or Prakash Karat to become PM All the other political parties try to garner votes by dividing India .. some use caste, some use religion and some use region to garner votes and I hate that from the depth of my heart .. so there is no good option left and so it is better to let the present govt. do and as of now it seems working for a better governance.. I like that mostly all clean ministers have been given chances this term and I have confidence that Rahul Gandhi should be able to do justice to the expectations of the Indian people with his modern attitude
ViruRulez Posted May 25, 2009 Posted May 25, 2009 If you find my posts meaningless and propaganda, feel free to ignore them. In almost a year of membership I have made 200 posts, so I am sure it woudnt be too much effort on your part to avoid them. All I can say is that your wild guess is way off the mark. Go ahead with an IP check and disabuse yourself of this assumption. Yaar I am not against you but I am just a bit surprised that you do not make posts in a cricket forum about cricket and all your posts are related to politics.. I just felt that your posts resembled a member who has fled the forum recently though he was mad regular in the politics forum with propaganda sort of attitude and many are waiting for him even now in ICF .. anyways I hardly care about politicians that much but a person only opposing one thing seems indigestible We the normal members at ICF are all rational thinkers who post with rational minds and oppose something wrong in govt. or a political party irrespective of any factors.. but blindly opposing any political party or supporting any political party without base is what I dislike .. I believe that we should all use our rational thinking in every step of life and that is why I took the name of veeru_rocks as he used to make propaganda sort of posts and threads without any rational thinking
seedhi Posted May 25, 2009 Posted May 25, 2009 Ok so, this one of yours is a hilariously rhetorical post. I have always maintained that almost all politicians in India are corrupted and personally I dont care much about any politician.. but I am a youth with a modern outlook who likes only success and development.. Good for you. I hope you support N.Modi then as among the major states Gujarat is the best performing one in terms of development and investment. at least the present govt. is trying to do so.. and it is a stable govt. with a good leadership in the future too Its not even been a week since this govt took office - a bit too early to comment on the stability I would say. ... and it also supports the youth of the country which I like ... I am not for them but it does not make any sense to oppose them when they have done nothing terribly bad Lol!! How does the UPA support the "youth" - by implementing 50% reservation in central univs? Or by the promise of introducing minority reservation, and private sector reservation (read congress manifesto)? Tell me how exactly is the govt "supporting the youths" in the last 5 years? ... none of the Indian govt. have been perfect and if you believe politics in India can be 100% it is not realistic.. they will remain scumdogs but I willl still support them as of now because at least MMS and Rahul Gandhi seem to be comparatively good persons as compared to the rest of the political scumdogs Ok so it finally boils down to MMS and RG being "good persons". Not performance or past track record but the goodness of the person. Next what - cuteness? sexiness? I see the future of this govt. at least bright compared to the other political parties.. the other parties do not have good leadership at least for the next 5 years or more Well I am not that optimistic and going by the track record of 5 years I dont see any reason to be. ..so it is better to let the present govt. do and as of now it seems working for a better governance.. Its not been in office for even a week for any sort of evaluation. I just want to ask you - if the congress implements minority reservation and private sector reservation (which it promised) would you support it too? I like that mostly all clean ministers have been given chances this term and I have confidence that Rahul Gandhi should be able to do justice to the expectations of the Indian people with his modern attitudeIs Rahul Gandhi the PM? Isnt Manmohan Singh supposed to lead the nation? Or am I supposed to assume that MMS is just a face and the real power is Rahul Gandhi? In any case we shall see what happens.
ViruRulez Posted May 25, 2009 Posted May 25, 2009 Ok so, this one of yours is a hilariously rhetorical post. Good for you. I hope you support N.Modi then as among the major states Gujarat is the best performing one in terms of development and investment. As a progressive leader and as a developer I always respect Modi .. but he has got one serious flaw and hope he removes that soon to gain my full respect ... I believe in the "Unity and Diversity" of India and so I hate politicians who try to garner votes dividing India.. hope N. Modi can remove this blot of being communal and then I will have my 100% respect for him Its not even been a week since this govt took office - a bit too early to comment on the stability I would say. Bhai its a stable govt... even a 12 year old kid will be able to say so .. they have 262 seats and any party will be ready to give them 10 seats.. anyways the present govt. has got support of 322 MPs ... so how can it not be stable .. the Indian people gave a verdict for a stable govt and it is clearly a stable govt. as they have 50 additional seats for buffer right now Lol!! How does the UPA support the "youth" - by implementing 50% reservation in central univs? Or by the promise of introducing minority reservation, and private sector reservation (read congress manifesto)? Tell me how exactly is the govt "supporting the youths" in the last 5 years? I hate reservation in the present system. I dont want any more reservation and I hope that Rahul Gandhi will not let such a thing to happen as he has a modern outlook IMO. If any reservation was there I would prefer the economically backward classes to get reservation. I dont want any interference with private sector too and I think these will never be implemented .. the thing I like about the present Congress party is that there are many youth leaders and most of them are highly educated unlike most MPs from other parties Ok so it finally boils down to MMS and RG being "good persons". Not performance or past track record but the goodness of the person. Next what - cuteness? sexiness? Well I am not that optimistic and going by the track record of 5 years I dont see any reason to be. Its not been in office for even a week for any sort of evaluation. I just want to ask you - if the congress implements minority reservation and private sector reservation (which it promised) would you support it too? Is Rahul Gandhi the PM? Isnt Manmohan Singh supposed to lead the nation? Or am I supposed to assume that MMS is just a face and the real power is Rahul Gandhi? In any case we shall see what happens. Let me ask you one thing.. it is a fact known to me as well as to you that this govt. is going to last for 5 years and as most political pundits are predicting it wil win in 2014 by even a bigger margin as Rahul Gandhi will become the PM candidate then.. so instead of opposing the govt. dont you think that we should wait and see .. I am not in favor of anybody but they are at least taking the right steps as of now.. they have removed all the ineffective ministers from the Cabinet .. they are stronger this time and hopefully they will provide better governance.. when the whole India is hopeful what is the point of opposing each and everything I am not against criticism but blatant criticism of any party or blatant support of any party is really not desired.. it should be rational criticism rather than imperative opposition of the govt... give them time and see how it goes .. anyways they will continue likely for the next 10 years even if anyone does not give them time.. so just wait and see how it goes ahead.. MMS has said he will take tough steps to stop the effect of global recession in India within the next 100 days .. so let us wait and watch.. anyways MMS is one of best economist ever produced in India and so let us give him some time instead of pointing fingers at him from day 1 when he is at least trying to do something Lets be optimistic instead of being pessimistic :two_thumbs_up:
seedhi Posted May 25, 2009 Posted May 25, 2009 As a progressive leader and as a developer I always respect Modi .. but he has got one serious flaw and hope he removes that soon to gain my full respect ... I believe in the "Unity and Diversity" of India and so I hate politicians who try to garner votes dividing India.. hope N. Modi can remove this blot of being communal and then I will have my 100% respect for him Look at any of N. Modi's speeches in this election - none of them have any communal overtones. In 2 months time the SIT will submit its report on any evidence linking N Modi to the riots, and soon the Nanavati commission will also give its final report. If he is exonerated (of which I am sure of) that should be enough to finally bury this issue for him. Bhai its a stable govt... even a 12 year old kid will be able to say so .. they have 262 seats and any party will be ready to give them 10 seats.. anyways the present govt. has got support of 322 MPs ... so how can it not be stable .. the Indian people gave a verdict for a stable govt and it is clearly a stable govt. as they have 50 additional seats for buffer right now Firstly stability is not just in numbers but also in the tantrums thrown by the coalition partners. Who can predict what blackmail Mamta and DMK will attempt? I hate reservation in the present system. I dont want any more reservation and I hope that Rahul Gandhi will not let such a thing to happen as he has a modern outlook IMO. If any reservation was there I would prefer the economically backward classes to get reservation. I dont want any interference with private sector too and I think these will never be implemented .. the thing I like about the present Congress party is that there are many youth leaders and most of them are highly educated unlike most MPs from other parties The minority reservation and private sector reservation is in the Congress manifesto. They are obligated to implement them unless they want to be branded as liars. I can see the BJP opposing minority reservation, but no political party can afford to come out strongly against private sector reservation once any bill is introduced for the fear of losing the BC/SC/ST votes. So it remains a distinct possibility. Let me ask you one thing.. it is a fact known to me as well as to you that this govt. is going to last for 5 years and as most political pundits are predicting it wil win in 2014 by even a bigger margin as Rahul Gandhi will become the PM candidate then I have no reason to believe anyones prediction of what is going to happen in 2014. Infact if the congress anoints RG as the PM candidate without him having served as a minister (which I think will be the case) then they could very well be in for a drubbing. .. so instead of opposing the govt. dont you think that we should wait and see .. I am not in favor of anybody but they are at least taking the right steps as of now.. they have removed all the ineffective ministers from the Cabinet .. they are stronger this time and hopefully they will provide better governance.. when the whole India is hopeful what is the point of opposing each and everything Firstly, I am not opposing the govt. I am only looking at the past 5 years of Manmohan Singh's performance and preparing for what might befall in the next few years. The point of this thread is the supposed slack some of us gave Sonia, and I am only making it clear that it was based on nothing other than the performance of the UPA in the last five years. As of now I dont see any reason to rescind that criticism. I am not against criticism but blatant criticism of any party or blatant support of any party is really not desired.. it should be rational criticism rather than imperative opposition of the govt... give them time and see how it goes .. anyways they will continue likely for the next 10 years even if anyone does not give them time.. so just wait and see how it goes ahead.. MMS has said he will take tough steps to stop the effect of global recession in India within the next 100 days .. so let us wait and watch.. anyways MMS is one of best economist ever produced in India and so let us give him some time instead of pointing fingers at him from day 1 when he is at least trying to do something Lets be optimistic instead of being pessimistic :two_thumbs_up: I am waiting an watching but not holding my breath. At this point of time the misgovernance of the last five years is fresh in many people's mind and it cannot be glossed over just by an electoral win.
fineleg Posted May 25, 2009 Posted May 25, 2009 That is *not* Sonia. Thats Reese Witherspoon! :banghead:
suraj Posted May 25, 2009 Posted May 25, 2009 That is *not* Sonia. Thats Reese Witherspoon! :banghead: and you realized that just now TL:hysterical::hysterical:
ViruRulez Posted May 25, 2009 Posted May 25, 2009 Look at any of N. Modi's speeches in this election - none of them have any communal overtones. In 2 months time the SIT will submit its report on any evidence linking N Modi to the riots, and soon the Nanavati commission will also give its final report. If he is exonerated (of which I am sure of) that should be enough to finally bury this issue for him. Firstly stability is not just in numbers but also in the tantrums thrown by the coalition partners. Who can predict what blackmail Mamta and DMK will attempt? The minority reservation and private sector reservation is in the Congress manifesto. They are obligated to implement them unless they want to be branded as liars. I can see the BJP opposing minority reservation, but no political party can afford to come out strongly against private sector reservation once any bill is introduced for the fear of losing the BC/SC/ST votes. So it remains a distinct possibility. I have no reason to believe anyones prediction of what is going to happen in 2014. Infact if the congress anoints RG as the PM candidate without him having served as a minister (which I think will be the case) then they could very well be in for a drubbing. Firstly, I am not opposing the govt. I am only looking at the past 5 years of Manmohan Singh's performance and preparing for what might befall in the next few years. The point of this thread is the supposed slack some of us gave Sonia, and I am only making it clear that it was based on nothing other than the performance of the UPA in the last five years. As of now I dont see any reason to rescind that criticism. I am waiting an watching but not holding my breath. At this point of time the misgovernance of the last five years is fresh in many people's mind and it cannot be glossed over just by an electoral win. I will not debate any longer as this debate is not going anywhere.. I would prefer to remain a bit optimistic instead of closing my minds completely towards anybody .. anyways I would have to be highly pessimistic if I think that this govt. would not be stable after the people of India voted for a stable govt. .. a 272+50 seats is a safe bet and it will be highly pessimistic if I think the govt. would break down after sometime.. anyways Mamata or DMK will not withdraw their support because they have state elections where they would need support of Congress. Anyways I am ending this debate and let me be hopeful. As I have told previously too, the govt. or politicians can hardly make any difference to our lives personally because most of us are from well off backgrounds as evident when we are able to access the internet at will.. the people who I care about are the poor and the downtrodden and hope that their conditions improve India's overall developement and economic growth will continue irrespective of any govt. and so I am not much worried about any political party in power.. if they are doing just fine then also it is ok for me.. I just hope that they try to improve the lives of the poor people and rest we all can make our destiny ourselves :winky: