ONEANDHAFF (one and a half) : In Bangalore autorickshaw parlance, ‘ONEANDHAFF’ (ie pay-me-one-and-a-half-times-what-the-meter-shows ) is a challenge the driver throws at you, signaling the start of a game of Grand Theft by Auto(rickshaw edition). The probability of you receiving this challenge is directly proportional to : a) the distance of destination from driver’s ‘comfort-zone’ regions B) the distance of your state of origin , measured upwards from the Vindhyas c) the font size of the word ‘SUCKER’ on your face. For really huge font sizes, there’s also ‘DUBBALMETER’. http://iyermatter.wordpress.com/2009/07/15/indian-transformers-autorickshawbot/ :hysterical:
haha' date=' awesome, oneandhaff, its what most AUTOBOTS charge all over the country :haha:[/quote'] Bangalore is particularly terrible when it comes to that. Its a pain to go out anywhere after 7-ish in the evening. They charge exorbitant amounts of money. For those familiar with Bangalore, to get from the Majestic to the Bull Temple road area, I was charged Rs. 70! :omg: I haven't been to other metropolitan cities (barring Hyderabad, where this happens but auto drivers are not nearly as evil/cunning).

It's because of the ambiguous rules and regulations that governments have in place. But here is one from the city of Nawabs - In May/June I walked up to a rickshaw guy (not auto) and asked him, "Hazratganj chaloge?" . The guy reclining on his rickshaw seat, "Nahin bhaiya abhi bahut garmi hai, abhi to nahin jaayenge". This is not a one off in Lucknow!

rickshaws r slave labor
Bangalore is particularly terrible when it comes to that. Its a pain to go out anywhere after 7-ish in the evening. They charge exorbitant amounts of money. For those familiar with Bangalore' date=' to get from the Majestic to the Bull Temple road area, I was charged Rs. 70! :omg: I haven't been to other metropolitan cities (barring Hyderabad, where this happens but auto drivers are not nearly as evil/cunning).[/quote'] Tell me about it! I was charged Rs. 40 just to go from Forum, Koramangala to 80 feet road, Koramangala.
Bangalore is particularly terrible when it comes to that. Its a pain to go out anywhere after 7-ish in the evening. They charge exorbitant amounts of money. For those familiar with Bangalore' date=' to get from the Majestic to the Bull Temple road area, I was charged Rs. 70! :omg: I haven't been to other metropolitan cities (barring Hyderabad, where this happens but auto drivers are not nearly as evil/cunning).[/quote'] Never travelled in an Auto around Bangalore, but Yes in Manipal, i have found many a "Apun ka Raj" Autowalahs, bleddy he charged me Rs.120/- to get me to to Udupi, i couldnt even argue with him, coz my lack of proficiency in the native language, tried the national language, but couldnt get a word of his Rajnikanth Style Hindi and then the next time i decided to travel in one of those Super-Phaasst Buses.(Well they have a story of their own).
Never travelled in an Auto around Bangalore' date=' but Yes in Manipal, i have found many a "Apun ka Raj" Autowalahs, bleddy he charged me Rs.120/- to get me to to Udupi, i couldnt even argue with him, coz my lack of proficiency in the native language, tried the national language, but couldnt get a word of his Rajnikanth Style Hindi and then the next time i decided to travel in one of those Super-Phaasst Buses.(Well they have a story of their own).[/quote'] LOL.. nice one! Dude, manipal rocks! Love the super phasshht city & yexpress buses :two_thumbs_up:
LOL.. nice one! Dude' date=' manipal rocks! Love the super phasshht city & yexpress buses :two_thumbs_up:[/quote'] Yup, it had a lonely village kinda feel around 15 years back(which i loved), but now since MIT, the developments have picked up its almost like Mumbai, almost everything's a phone call away, its no more the lonely ol' town :((. The only positive i guess would be the Medical College -- Hot Chicks.