Eating out Guide in Kolkata...

theguyinallblue

Have Chittaranjan's Rossogollas. Simply the best
peter cat is gud...itz in park street...eat chelo kebabs and chkn marakesh and sizzler there go to esplanade try mughlai in various shops..badshah,aminia,aaliya,aseela......there is very famous roadside shop just near new empire cinema a big stall...u will see lotz of ppl on frnt of dat stall Try fish fry at diffrnt places Go 2 china town and try chinese at beijing...expensive bt very good Try kebabs at buffet at sigree in south city at 300 smthng TRy buffet at 64 ballygunje place or bhojo hari manna for authentic bengali food lotz of oder places neways WELCOME TO KOLKATA

Hey Sunny..thanks yaar for the list.. i want to try Muglai paratha.. fotchka.. jhal mudi, Rolls, and some good fish dishes... can you list some places for this... also....how far they will be from sealdah...

mughlai paratha u will get good in the esplanade area try rolls at aseela near elite cinema in esplanade jhal muri or fuchka to kai jagah milte hai raste par try near vardaan market fish dishes are good in 64 ballygunje place and bhojo hari manna go to mani square near salt lake and try itz food court good food there u can also try south city malls food court dont waste ur time going to forum malls food court all places are a bit far not to far from sealdah but after 10 years i guess you shld roam about all over it has chngd a lot btw wer do u live now a days after u left kolkata....... if u need any more help with food i will tell.........
thanks sunny for the detailed info.... appreciate this... i also did some research...and found the same name...almost everywhere... have made a list of "Must visit + Must Eat"... i am not much into "Mall" foods... i came to delhi...after calcutta..... although i am there for 6 days only... will try to make the most of it......

1. Kabiraji Cutlet from Regent (S N Banerjee Road) 2. Moghlai Parota from Anadi Cabin (S N Banerjee Road) 3. Kosha Mangsho from Golbari (Shyambazar) 4. Egg Chicken Roll from Kusum / Park Steet 5. Ujjala's Chanachur 6. Phulkopir Singara (cauliflower samosas) from Mrityunjoy (Lansdowne) 7. Chelo Kabab @ Peter Cat (Park Street) 8. Fish Roll @ Bijoligrill ( off Southern Avenue ) 9. Mishti Doi & Rosogolla from Mithai (Beckbagan) 10. Amritti from Bhim Nag/Ganguram 11. fish dishes , 64 ballygunje place and bhojo hari manna 12. aamer morobba outside Gariahat Market 13. Azad hind Dhaba at Ballygunge Circular Road 14. Shiraz 15. fuchkas - southern Avenue 16. For Tea , Near Gurudwara , Elgin road 17. Kewpie's - Elgin Road 18 . Momos at Hamro Momos ( Off Lee Road) chicken steamed Momos with Momo soup.. these are my list.... i think i will have to buy a city guide for the bus and tram routes... although i have downloaded the bus routes... i think a detailed city guide will be an added advantage..

Guest Shivani

aaaaah ....i so miss the pastries at flurys :'( '6 ballygunj place' happens to be a restaurant near 'city centre mall' try that ..it serves the best bengali dishes according to me ... !may be u'll like it as well have a fun trip n happy stay !

1. Kabiraji Cutlet from Regent (S N Banerjee Road) 2. Moghlai Parota from Anadi Cabin (S N Banerjee Road) 3. Kosha Mangsho from Golbari (Shyambazar) 4. Egg Chicken Roll from Kusum / Park Steet 5. Ujjala's Chanachur 6. Phulkopir Singara (cauliflower samosas) from Mrityunjoy (Lansdowne) 7. Chelo Kabab @ Peter Cat (Park Street) 8. Fish Roll @ Bijoligrill ( off Southern Avenue ) 9. Mishti Doi & Rosogolla from Mithai (Beckbagan) 10. Amritti from Bhim Nag/Ganguram 11. fish dishes , 64 ballygunje place and bhojo hari manna 12. aamer morobba outside Gariahat Market 13. Azad hind Dhaba at Ballygunge Circular Road 14. Shiraz 15. fuchkas - southern Avenue 16. For Tea , Near Gurudwara , Elgin road 17. Kewpie's - Elgin Road 18 . Momos at Hamro Momos ( Off Lee Road) chicken steamed Momos with Momo soup.. these are my list.... i think i will have to buy a city guide for the bus and tram routes... although i have downloaded the bus routes... i think a detailed city guide will be an added advantage..
nice list good.......use metro as ur preferred transport not tram or bus most places u will reach with metro and a bit of walking..........happy staying...........and let us know of ur experiences.........hv pastries at kookie jar...........