patriot Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 "Afridis are not born everyday, invest in academies" Johannesburg: Terming the ICC Champions Trophy the toughest event, Pakistan vice-captain Shahid Afridi on Friday evening hinted that a victory in the series here would be a watershed event for Pakistan, as the Pakistan squad has many inexperienced players. ‘A lot depends on our performance in the Champions Trophy and I am looking forward to this elite competition,’ Afridi told a gathering at a reception hosted in his honour by the Pakistani expatriate community in South Africa for his outstanding performance in the World Twenty20 in England where Pakistan beat Sri Lanka in the final at Lord’s. ‘If Pakistan is not that successful in the Champions Trophy I would hope that PCB continue to invest in academies and training institues. The Anwar's, Inzibhai's and Afridi's are not born everyday, we need more academies to groom promising cricketers’. He however, said the Champions Trophy would be the toughest of cricketing events as the best eight teams will be battling for supremacy. A gold medal was presented to Afridi for his excellent show in the World Twenty20 where he won the man-of-the-match awards in the semi-final and the final. Lt Gen ® Tauqir Zia, former chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), complimented Afridi for his superb performance in world event held in England. ‘Afridi without any shadow of doubt is Pakistan cricket history’s most popular player,’ he stressed. Pakistan take on the Warriors for their second warm up match, tomorrow.
Dinx - the Jinx Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 ‘Afridi without any shadow of doubt is Pakistan cricket history’s most popular player,’ he stressed. :hysterical:
DomainK Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 ‘Afridi without any shadow of doubt is Pakistan cricket history’s most popular player' date=’ he stressed. :hysterical: He is right. Afridi is the most popular player in Pakistan. This is a statement of the common cricket fan there.
Aadhavzone Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 i dunno why, i like him a lot, though he flaps most of the times! But Afridi at T20 WC was entirely different & terrific indeed, and if he continues the same tempo, its difficult for the opposition, though there are many other craps in the team to drop his shoulders! :hysterical:
Sachinism Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 Someone help him remove his head from his ass.
DomainK Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 Someone help him remove his head from his ass. But then he won't remain popular in Pakistan.:secret:
MUMBAISKIPPER Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 Someone help him remove his head from his ass. but he is a headless creature
Celeste Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 How many people can create a world record on their debut innings??
DomainK Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 i dunno why, i like him a lot, though he flaps most of the times! But Afridi at T20 WC was entirely different & terrific indeed, and if he continues the same tempo, its difficult for the opposition, though there are many other craps in the team to drop his shoulders! :hysterical: He averages less than 17 in SA. Ghanta khelega!! Harbhajan is a better batsman.
Aadhavzone Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 He averages less than 17 in SA. Ghanta khelega!! Harbhajan is a better batsman. i think he averaged almost the same less than 30s everywhere :hysterical:! i said Afridi we saw in T20, was entirely different & terrific! tho...kuch ghanta kel sakthe hai! I think Other teams definitely would keep an eye on him, & it wont be as easy as before to get him!
Celeste Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 i think he averaged almost the same less than 30s everywhere :hysterical:! i said Afridi we saw in T20, was entirely different & terrific! tho...kuch ghanta kel sakthe hai! I think Other teams definitely would keep an eye on him, & it wont be as easy as before to get him! Afridi stats are poor indeed but earlier he was just a utility player who was only expected to contribute few overs & runs. He was never expected to be a reliable player but recently he has showed how dangerous he can be if he use patience. He single handedly won a WC by being little careful. :hatsoff:
Aadhavzone Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 Afridi stats are poor indeed but earlier he was just a utility player who was only expected to contribute few overs & runs. He was never expected to be a reliable player but recently he has showed how dangerous he can be if he use patience. He single handedly won a WC by being little careful. :hatsoff: Exactly! :cheers:
patriot Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 http://fakeiplplayer.blogspot.com/ The brainless animal is apparenly married...but still doesn't shy of flirting --- but gets his @$$ whopped in return. A hilarious account by the Fake IPL blogger. Confusion, instead of cricket, is the name of the game that the Weapons of Self Destruction (WSDs) - Al Pakeezah are playing. They probably thought that they have 3 warm up games instead of 2. After yesterday's game, their left arm grenade hurler hurled abuses at his Captain - Bhindi Khan - for being left out of the side. Their other strike bowler - Kumar Bull - is also complaining about the constant changes in the field while he is bowling. Mr. Missed-by-5-Runs is a tad more polite and has softly told Bhindi Khan that he should be batting at No. 4 and not No. 7. Won't be too long before others also join in. I think one more loss for them and the revolt in the ranks will be out in the open. Talking about the WSDs, their run of bad luck seems to be following them even off the field. After the game last night, 6-7 of them made their way to an upmarket club in Soho that costs about 500 Pounds cover per table and is frequented by Football stars. They entered the place all wide eyed, made their way to the bar, leaned on the counter, looked around casually, trying too hard to be cool. A familiar sight really. A bunch of desi guys in a club trying to look cool, without realising that if they really were cool they'd already be with chicks. The leader of this pack was the failed warrior of their tribal region, who spends more time walking from and to the pavilion than in the middle. He's the one who would approach the girls. Why he was chosen as the ring leader will remain one of the biggest mysteries to ever confront mankind. And with pick up lines like "Will you dance", "Why you laugh", "We are cool guys", "You have spikes in your eyes" it's not really surprising that they returned empty handed. :laugh:
Malcolm Merlyn Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 Afridi thinks he is as good as inzi...........what does he thinks he is viv richards or sobers or tendulkar............avgs 23 in ODis.........in most other teams he will not even get into the squad........:finger:
Celeste Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 Afridi thinks he is as good as inzi...........what does he thinks he is viv richards or sobers or tendulkar............avgs 23 in ODis.........in most other teams he will not even get into the squad........:finger: When did he said that?? Give link please
Malcolm Merlyn Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 When did he said that?? Give link please what did he mean by saying afridis are nt born everyday?those quotes are used for legends and afridi is an avg player...........with a bloated head..........
DomainK Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 what did he mean by saying afridis are nt born everyday?those quotes are used for legends and afridi is an avg player...........with a bloated head.......... It may also mean that retards aren't born every day.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted September 19, 2009 Posted September 19, 2009 It may also mean that retards aren't born every day. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: