Indian board sets up committee to appoint coach!

Chandan

Link Cricinfo staff April 23, 2007 The Indian board (BCCI) has set up a seven-member committee to select the next coach of the Indian team. A statement released by the BCCI today said the committee would meet at the earliest and give its recommendations to the board regarding the next coach or cricket manager for India. Dav Whatmore, the Bangladesh coach, has expressed an interest in coaching India and there are reports that Tom Moody, the Sri Lanka coach, is also being considered. Sharad Pawar, the board president, will head the committee which also includes former captains Sunil Gavaskar, Ravi Shastri and S Venkataraghavan. N Srinivasan, BCCI treasurer, and MP Pandove, the joint secretary are also members of the committee while Niranajan Shah, the board secretary, will be its convenor. After Greg Chappell quit as India's coach the board appointed Ravi Shastri as the side's manager for the tour to Bangladesh in May. But Shastri has reportedly informed the board that he would not be able to continue as manager after the tour because of his media commitments. India will play three ODIs and two Tests between May 10 and May 29 in Bangladesh. In June they host the Afro-Asia Cup before heading off to England for three Tests and seven ODIs. -------------------

Re: Indian board sets up committee to appoint coach! Link from Rediff Bangladesh's current coach Whatmore has publicly shown his interest in the job, which Chappell described as the "toughest cricket assignment in the world". Moody, who has done an excellent job with the Sri Lankan team, is also said to be in the reckoning. The three former captains were also in the panel which had selected Chappell as the coach in May 2005. Moody, Mohinder Amarnath and Desmond Haynes were the other candidates who had appeared for the interview in New Delhi. Although no date has been fixed for the first meeting of the committee, a top source in the Board indicated that a meeting could be convened in the first week of May. The source declined to comment on the possible candidates for the job but gave enough indications that the team could have another foreign coach. "Shastri will not be available after the Bangladesh tour. We will shortlist a few names in the first meeting and then begin the process of selecting the new coach," the source said.

Re: Indian board sets up committee to appoint coach!

Gavaskar picked a "dushman" the last time ...(according to him only :hic:) and he gets to choose again :wall: :wall: .I guess the talk about accountability is just talk.
Last time Gavaskar never wanted a foreign coach.Only Ganguly then close to Creg and Shastri wanted Greg. hope atleast now they will go for Indian coach.

Re: Indian board sets up committee to appoint coach! So you think an Indian coach will put an end to all the woes of Indian cricket??? :roll: I heard on NDTV that Moody doesn't want to apply this time and he has made up his mind to go back to WA. So that leaves us with Whatmore, Patil, Gaekwad, Amarnath (God save us!) and perhaps even Robin Singh. Let us see who is chosen this time!!!

Re: Indian board sets up committee to appoint coach! Money and much ado for Shastri Akshay Sawai Mumbai THE SEARCH has not quite begun. But the search party has been formed. The BCCI said in a statement on Monday that a sevenmember ?special committee? has been set up to advice the apex body as it begins its hunt for a coach/manager for the team. Board president Sharad Pawar leads the committee. The other six members are Sunil Gavaskar, S Venkataraghavan, N Srinivasan, M P Pandove, Niranjan Shah (convenor) and Ravi Shastri. Shastri? Isn?t he the coach/manager himself ? Only for the Bangladesh tour. Shastri told the Board he is unwilling to stay on, somewhat unbecoming for a man who, after his appointment, had gallantly said, ?if you look at the state of Indian cricket at the moment, I thought it was a good time to put your hand up and ask to be counted.? Board secretary Niranjan Shah said on Saturday that the Board has yet to receive applications for the job. But some names have been doing the rounds for sometime. Chief among them are Australians Tom Moody and Dav Whatmore. Viv Richards, John Buchanan, John Wright are also believed to be on the committee?s mind. It is common knowledge that Shastri?s flourishing television and media career is the main reason why he is loath to commit himself to a longer term as India coach, which could be as paying but more demanding, especially in terms of public pressure. ?I don?t know if I can get out of my media commitments,? Shastri told HT a few days ago. What makes TV difficult to let go for someone like Shastri? What is the money like? Sources said that Shastri negotiates a series-by-series deal with ESPN Star Sports, the network he usually works for. Unlike a Sunil Gavaskar, he is not on their payroll. Though full-timers like Gavaskar earn more (reportedly around Rs 2 crore per year), Shastri is not shackled to one network, but still makes a decent amount. A full-fledged series, like India-South Africa last season, alone brings him Rs 75-80 lakh. But if you factor in other assignments, he would probably make around as much as the $300,000 (Rs 1.37 crore approx) that Greg Chappell made per year from the BCCI. But Shastri, if he continues as a commentator, would lead a charmed life compared to the crushing pressure faced by a contemporary Indian coach. Besides, ESPN-Star Sports have won the audio-visual rights for ICC events from 20072015. That means these eight years are packed with earning potential for those like Shastri. Shastri did not take calls or reply to a text message while Board treasurer N Srinivasan didn?t want to comment. Secretary Shah and Chief Administrative Officer Prof Ratnakar Shetty could not be reached since they were on a flight to the West Indies. ----------- HOW MUCH THEY EARN Rs 1.37 crore :Greg Chappell a year Former Indian coach Rs 1.33 crore :P.R. Menon in 2005-06 MD, Tata Chemicals Rs 1.07 crore :Jai Hiremath a year MD, Hikal Rs 22 crore :Mukesh Ambani a year CMD, Reliance Ind Rs 13.16 crore: Anil Singhvi a year Partner, Notz Spucki Richard D. Fairbank Rs 1033 crore :CEO, Capital One According to our estimate, there are 75-100 CEOs in India who are earning about a million dollars in compensation annually. ? K Sudarshan of EMA Partners, a global CEO search firm.

Re: Indian board sets up committee to appoint coach! New coach will be for two years: BCCI New Delhi, April 24: The Indian cricket team's new manager and coach would be appointed for a tenure of two years, the Board disclosed today. A day after constituting a seven-member panel to pick Greg Chappell's successor, the BCCI said it was yet to zero in on possible candidates for the job but has decided to give the new appointees a couple of years to work with the team. "We have formed a panel under Board president Sharad Pawar with three former captains (Sunil Gavaskar, Ravi Shastri and Venkat Raghavan) and office bearers. We will start working immediately after the World Cup and appoint a new manager and coach for a tenure of two years," BCCI secretary Niranjan Shah, who is currently in Kingston, said. "We will see who all are available for the job after the World Cup is over," he said. Though Bangladesh coach Dav Whatmore and Sri Lanka coach Tom Moody are said to be front runners for the job, Shah maintained the Board would initiate the search only after the World Cup final. "I don't think it would be right to check on anybody until the World Cup is on. The entire process will start only after the World Cup gets over," he said. ------------------------------------------------------ Tom Moody is going back to Australia. He wouldn't apply for the job this time.

Re: Indian board sets up committee to appoint coach! Whatmore ready for more challenges St. Lucia: Dav Whatmore has emerged as a strong candidate for the post of India's coach after his record with the Bangladesh team. Whatmore has done wonders with teams that he had coached and Bangladesh's success at the World Cup is strong evidence that he is a master of the art - coaching. There were reports in the Indian media that Whatmore has been contacted by the BCCI for the post after coach Greg Chappell stepped out. However, Whatmore denied that he had any offer from the Indian board while speaking to Gulf Times, but said he would keep his options open if such an offer is made. "No not yet. I am a professional cricket coach who has had success with every team that I have been with ? Sri Lanka, Lancashire and Bangladesh. As a professional coach, you consider any opportunity that comes along and if they come along there will be due consideration," notified Whatmore. However, he is confident of meeting the challenges if he is made the coach. "It is a big challenge. There are certain principles in any team that you coach and every team is slightly different from a number of other areas but the thing that makes it probably more difficult is that you are scrutinised in every aspect. "There is a huge volume of interest, it's like a religion and much bigger than any other country. So there will be lots of distractions but essentially there are some proven methods to perform consistently well and if you stick with that and don't get distracted too much, and then you should have some success." Whatmore, however, refused to comment on the changes made by BCCI in the team and on the decision to bring in Ravi Shastri as the manager saying, "I can't comment on that. I am still a Bangladesh coach for another month. We are playing India and my job is to continue to have Bangladesh perform as well as we can." The 53-year-old also played down the question on Indian board's decision to drop senior players. "It's the decision of the Indian selectors. We have to plot and plan against the people who have been picked by the selectors. Anyone playing for India is a good player, no question." The forthcoming Test series in Bangladesh is a good opportunity for his young side to stamp their authority at the Test level, felt Whatmore. "It is another opportunity for the Bangladesh team to show the people that we are not a flash in the pan. It will be all tough games, and India especially will be feeling that they have to prove a point." The coach is quite pleased with what he had done during his tenure with the Bangladesh side. "Overall it's a success. If anybody had said to me before the tournament that you progressed to the Super Eight and finished seventh I would have taken that; so overall it's been a success," he concluded. --------------------------------------------- So will it be Whatmore???

Re: Indian board sets up committee to appoint coach! moody not keen on job

BRIDGETOWN: Sri Lanka's coach Tom Moody would not be interested in the Indian job even if the offer was to come his way, a senior player of the Lankan squad has said. Indian Board (BCCI) secretary Niranjan Shah, who has come to the Caribbean to witness the World Cup semifinals and final, had also planned to hold informal discussions with Moody but apparently nothing of that sort has happened. Shah after watching the first semi-final in Jamaica, left for St. Lucia on Tuesday night to watch the second semi-final on Wednesday. Shah confirmed as much that the new coach would have a tenure of two years. Interestingly, he has said, "The Board would appoint a permanent manager for the Indian team." It's a new development and seems to go with captain Rahul Dravid's opinion who apparently suggested to the board that they should have a permanent manager with the team. Shah said that the actual discussions for the Indian coaching job would take place after the World Cup was over and when some clarity emerged on who was available. As of now, only Moody and Dav Whatmore of Bangladesh among international coaches were in contention. Moody had applied for Indian coach's role two years ago but the Indian board had then given Greg Chappell preference over him. Moody apparently doesn't want to take up a job which involves lot of international travelling as well as the accompanying pressure of media and fans. Besides, there were indications that Moody could become the coach of Western Australia.

Re: Indian board sets up committee to appoint coach! Moody moves ?India cold, Lanka hot MUMBAI: India?s hunt for a foreign coach just got tougher with a high-ranking official of the Sri Lankan Cricket (SLC) confirming that they were in no mood to let go Tom Moody ? to Western Australia or to any other cricket playing country. Indian cricket board secretary, Niranjan Shah, who was in St Lucia, said that no offer has yet been made to Australian Moody, who is tipped in the race to replace Greg Chappell, along with Bangladesh manager Dav Whatmore. ?We?ve not approached any coach and this is not the right time,? Shah told DNA from the West Indies. Shah said that the actual discussions for the Indian coaching job would take place after the World Cup is over. ?We?ll not approach anyone. They have to approach us,? he added. He also clarified that the BCCI has not received any application and denied reports that the Board is cozying up to former coach John Wright. He reiterated that the Board is open to having a foreign coach. However, Sri Lanka cricket authorities are on the job to ensure that Moody is not poached. Kangadaran Mathiwanan, the secretary of SLC told DNA from Barbados that they are very, very keen on retaining Moody, whose contract ends in May, even after the World Cup comes to an end. ?The result against Australia in the final notwithstanding, we are keen on ensuring that Moody stays with us. He has done a fantastic job. We have been impressed with the improvement he (Moody) has brought to the team in the long run,? Mathiwanan said. The SLC secretary, however, said that he did not pay much attention to reports that Moody was keen on coaching Western Australia or that the BCCI also had him on their list of prospective candidates. ?Before leaving for the Caribbean, Moody had discussions with us and we had decided that any call on his future will be taken once the World Cup is over. After the final, once we all go back to Sri Lanka we will sit down and try and convince Moody to renew his contract,? Mathiwanan said. Apparently, Moody doesn?t want to take up a job which involves a lot of international travelling as well as the accompanying pressure of media and fans. ------------------------------- So apart from Whatmore, what options does India have?