Google Considers Pulling Out of China in the Name of Free Speech

China? ... :hmmm: pffft yahan ICF pe phokat mein dikta hai sarkar ... kayko Cheen-ween janeka :--D
Perhaps someday you will realize the difference between free and hate speech and that will be the day you will grow up and not give up on India because your favorite party got hammered in a free and democratic election.:winky:
Is that why Amreeka hasnt sensored me or BRF or FFI etc etc ... ? Perhaps one day you will wake up and find a exit from your parallel world :hmmm"
Yaar, phir wahi gade murde ukhaadne! You open a site and ICF links to it on it's homepage. A cricket site cannot be jeopardized for your perception of a religion.
Is that why you were frothing at your mouth in the Jyoti Basu condolence thread ? Shouldnt you be more respectfull towards your comrade who was "elected" in a free and fair democratic process for perhaps more years than you have actually been alive :--D But Yep they are sooo free that they tend to repeatedly elect commies goons and scumbags .... :hail:
What happened to your charge that I am a Commie or a Communazi then?:giggle: And despite Basu's and CPM's repeated electoral victories I never gave up on India or West Bengal.

For those who might have missed it, Google has abandoned the Chinese search engine market. Kudos to them for taking the stance! http://www.nytimes.com/2010/03/24/world/asia/24china.html?ref=asia

Now China has tightened its grip on the much more variegated world of online information, effectively forcing Google Inc., the world’s premier information provider, to choose between submitting to Chinese censorship and leaving the world’s largest community of Internet users to its rivals. It chose to leave. Google’s decision may not cause major problems for China right away, experts said. But in the longer run, they said, China’s intransigent stance on filtering the flow of information within its borders has the potential to weaken its links to the global economy. It may also sully its image — promoted to its own people as well as to the international community — as an authoritarian country that is economically on the move, perhaps even more so than the sclerotic, democratic West.
“What does Google’s exit say? What it says publicly is what everyone deeply engaged in China knows privately,” Kenneth G. Lieberthal, a Brookings Institution scholar and former Clinton administration adviser on China, said in an interview. “This is a system with very substantial domestic imperfections,” Mr. Lieberthal said. “And the view from afar that this is simply an unstoppable juggernaut — that they have found the keys to the magic kingdom — is not correct. China’s leaders understand this as well as anyone.” The conclusion of Google’s four-year Internet experiment in China — an effort to transplant Western free-speech norms here — was anything but smooth. On Monday, it effectively shut down the search engine it hosted inside China, after declaring in January that it would stop cooperating with Chinese censors.
But China also does not acknowledge to its own people that it censors the Internet to exclude a wide range of political and social topics that its leaders believe could lead to instability. It does not release information on the number of censors it employs or the technology it uses for the world’s most sophisticated Internet firewall. Its 350 million Internet users, many with fast broadband connections, are assured they have the same effectively limitless access to information and communications that the rest of the world enjoys. Google publicly challenged that stance in January, and reinforced its ideological opposition to China’s policies by finally pulling the plug on its mainland search engine after a failed round of talks with Chinese officials. That forced Chinese leaders to defend their control of the Web, which they did partly with an outburst of nationalism and vitriol. The cost, at least with some influential sectors of its own society, could be steep. In the technology sector, Google is viewed as an innovator that has spurred rapid development of the Chinese Web. Its departure will leave some Chinese companies with greater influence, but could also stifle competition, some fear. "Google is good at innovation, and when it leaves, the rest of the companies in China will lack motivation. Without its countervailing power, the industry won’t be as healthy,” said Zhang Yunquan, a professor at the Institute of Software at the Chinese Academy of Sciences.
Condolences to the likes of sarchasm for their loss of hope for free information. :winky:

Google will now provide uncensored results routing through Hong Kong .. they are now taking direct confrontation with the Chinese govt. .. kudos to Google for taking on the communists and working for freedom of speech and democracy of netizens :hatsoff:

Godaddy won't sell domains to China another major player pulls out
who told you that .. I mean Godaddy will not sell .cn domains or they will not sell domains to any credit cards or accounts from China .. that is really surprising to hear .. but some other company will take advantage of it .. Name.com were selling .cn domains for as low as 25 cents if I remember correctly on some special offers last year .. they are concentrating on .in, co.in and .cn domains and they will take advantage if Godaddy pulls out I suppose