There is no one like Tendulkar. He is the greatest: Kapil

SachDan

One thing that Kapil doesn't know is how to talk, but he was a damn good cricketer and gave the country more than probably 99% of them who have played for us, for that I would cut him a lot of slack.

Guest BossBhai

-- Removed on request of the user --

Gavaskar is annoying, but we can expect it from Sehwag, he doesn't beat around the bush and just gets to the point of it. The best thing I've heard him say was when asked by some interview, "Is Sachin the master of cricket" and he interrupts the guy with, "NO!!! Not master, God of cricket"
Fully agree. Sunny is annoying, but Viru has an innocent belief. He does not expect, he has just taken it for granted that Sachin is capable of anything and everything in cricket.
That ONE criticism was not pertaining to his poor form in England but he had questioned Srt's ability of bailing India out of a certain predicament. That comment is no different than patriot's claim of some else baking the cake and tendulkar adding icing to it. So by that account patriots been always right then. "Not bailing India out of trouble will always be a blot on his career"
Come on now. You Sachin fans need to chill down a little bit. Here is my two cents on the subject. Sachin Tendulkar has managed to pull himself out of the brink which, atleast in my cricketing memory, is unprecedented. Most other greats - Viv, Imran, McGrath, Gavaskar, Miandad, Botham etc - had started to lose their edge towards the end of their career. Even my own hero Kapil, play far too long than what was right and there was a real danger Sachin was doing that. That Sachin did a Houdini is as celebrated a story in cricket annals as is ever gonna be. But lets not kid anyon here. His fans who are crying hoarse now are as surprised(by his form) as are his critics. His best fans were suggesting how "Sachin is no more 16 and hence no reason why he should play like a 16 year old" or "He does not score at 55 anymore but is still good for 50 or thereabouts". Now that he is scoring at 60 or so they are all out thumping their chest and suggesting "shamelessly" that they knew it all along. I will cut greats like Kapil and Ian Chappell slacks on this since they had an opinion, like anyone else, and were proven wrong, quite like everyone else. if Kapil says SRT is the greatest lets take it at that and celebrate Sachin instead of hounding Kapil. xxx
You are missing the point and thats not what Kapil said. In fact Sachin was subjected to some of the most vile personal attacks on him where his motive for playing, his patriotism and his commitment was questioned. Its only fair that those making those allegations eat them now

Funny how people change their views. Article from year 2007. Sachin fails at crunch times: Kapil Dev

New Delhi, July 24: Former captain Kapil Dev traded his guns at Sachin Tendulkar after his failure in the first cricket Test against England, saying he has not delivered at crunch situations which will remain a ‘blot’ in his career. "Every time people hope big things from Sachin Tendulkar but often it is only disappointment that we are left with. He is thought to be the backbone of the Indian team but many times he has not stood up to the ocassion," he said. "Figures say that Sachin has not been able to perform uunder pressure. This will remain a blot in his career," Kapil Dev said. "There are many players who play well but they face difficulties against good bowling attack, like Sourav Ganguly faces. These kind of questions will be raised in case of Sachin as well and it will continue to remain a blot in his career till he wins matches for India under difficult circumstances," he said. When asked whether Tendulkar deserved a place in the side, Kapil said, "Whether it is Sachin or anyone, one who does not perform does not have any place in the team" Tendulkar was out for 16 in the second innings while India were chasing a stiff total of 380 to win the Test match. "Sachin has big records to his name but until he wins matches for India in these conditions, people will raise fingers at him," Kapil said. On Mahendra Singh Dhoni's match-saving knock, Kapil said that the wicketkeeper-batsman was playing ‘tentatively’. "He has the ability to win matches for India on his own. He was tentative on the last day of the Test match and was not able to play freely." Kapil also said that the bowling attack needed to be consistent. "You cannot win matches by bowling well in patches. For winning a Test series abroad one needs to perform consistently."
http://www.expressindia.com/news/fullstory.php?newsid=89941
Sugarcoating to say the least.
You are missing the point and thats not what Kapil said. In fact Sachin was subjected to some of the most vile personal attacks on him where his motive for playing' date=' his patriotism and his commitment was questioned. Its only fair that those making those allegations eat them now[/quote']
"Figures say that Sachin has not been able to perform uunder pressure. This will remain a blot in his career," Kapil Dev said. "There are many players who play well but they face difficulties against good bowling attack, like Sourav Ganguly faces. These kind of questions will be raised in case of Sachin as well and it will continue to remain a blot in his career till he wins matches for India under difficult circumstances," he said.
I suppose both of you are hinting towards this statement. And what is so very wrong about that statement anyway? Sachin and his performance in crunch situations is the basis for the most online cricket discussions. Ever! As a Sachin fan you are entirely allowed to feel miffed and throw in arguments as to why that line is incorrect, but surely it would be intellactually dishonest to dismiss that line as being "unpatriotic" or "mindless", or worse think that thought has not happened to many other minds. That line has been uttered by as many people, not only Kapil. Lets get used to it. xxx

It is impossible to keep your composure as well as Sachin does amidst these OTT praise and OTT criticisms from both fans, former players, current players, opposition players, cricket experts. Any other playe (Punter, Lara.. ) would have given 1000s of responses in their career if they had such criticisms. A rare sportsman that comes once in a century.

Guest BossBhai

Kapil is never a good speaker and may be more Sachin lover than other so wanted more from Sachin so may be it was word of frustrations. Chappel has wrote this article to divert anger form his brother after WC debacle when GC was coach . as any person do in the defeat blame fate or God :)

I remember that discussion you had with me about 2-3 yrs ago and you wanted him to score 1600+ runs in 20 odd inngs ... :-D here you go : http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?p=234138#post234138 he missed your cut by a long way .... and if you were the selector you would have dropped him about a year ago if not earlier .... thats the whole point.
The whole point is "fans" like you. I remember bringing that point up, and also remember how every Sachin fan chicken at that time to suggest he would be scoring at 60 plus :giggle::giggle: It is hilarious that you now do a chest thumping as if you were indeed claiming this turnaround. I would have agreed if you had simply suggested back then, what you are claiming now. Reality check Sachin's performance even surprised you, although (as always) you are too proud to concede that. :giggle:

You guys always miss very simple points. You are saying even the fans are surprised. Just for arguments sake, even if they are, how exactly does that justify all the cr.appola you and ohter haters pulled on SRT and still do it occassionally and then justify it. Oh and btw, the silence during someone else's slump did stfu some idiots and why is that?

Guest BossBhai

No chicken wicken ..... I quite clearly explained to you in that thread how your logic of allocating X runs over N inngs is speculative to put it mildly ... Unlike you I did not set unrealistic expectations and when they werent met I did not go around harassing the great guy. The point remains ... You would have dropped Boss somewhere during 2008 while I knew greatness cannot be encapsulated in numbers and that it would eventually triumph.
I see still chickening out eh BB. Question was simple, answer should be simple. Did you foresee Sachin scoring at 60? If so point me where you did. If not eat humble pie pweeease. :--D
What am I claiming now that I did not back then ? :hmmm: ... Anybody who has followed my posts from yrs before you came here in early 2007 know that I have not changed my tune over that time .... "the Boss is batting siggy" was coined in 2003 and it remains unchanged :winky:
Yes you have not changed tune, cos you have only one fata baja, bas apna gun gaao. Arre bhaiya who was criticizing Sachin in 2003 when you made the signature?? People, and yours truly included, were criticizing him in 2006/07 when he was down. At that time why did you not put your money where mouth is and said yes Sachin would score at blah blah in 2010?? Abhi he starts scoring run and like barsaati medhak you peter out! Kya bhai kuch bhi? :secret:
Guest BossBhai

Because its stupid to do that ... never done it not for Boss not for RD ... simply because no one knows what conditions they will encounter in future also as explained in that thread I value the 55 he scored in Mumbai more than the big hundreds at SCG ... I value the Eng series where he avgd 40 odd more than the SL series in Ind or even the recent SAF series. You considered those series Avgs in 2006/7 as failures ... I did not ... but for what its worth his last 1653 runs havent come at 60 + avg nor did his next 1653 since that post you made in Nov'2007 ... keep in mind that you dont consider runs againt BD as worth counting. So according to that post SRT is a failure and drop worthy. I said completely the opposite.
Lets cut the cr@p here, shall we? Between the two of us we both know who relies on stats, and who relies on quality of cricket. The question was simple, and the answer should also have been simple. I dont mean to argue in circles, as we almost always seem to do. I had mentione earlier how his performance even surprised his own fans who were resorting to the whole "Oh he is old he can not play like he was when he was 16". Now that he is doing so folks like you are out to gain the glory. Thanks for proving my point.
Yes I will be very happy if he scores 4/5 tons in a row or if he avgs 35-40 ish as he did in 2007... because greatness cannot suddenly vanish in a maater of 2 yrs. So by all counts you were wrong.
Got nothing to do with any of that mumbo-jumbo. As I said earlier the turnaround that Sachin has shown is quite unparalleled. Nobody would have seen it coming. Ian Chappell did not see it, neither did Kapil and nor do I. And certainly not you, so quit talking like Ajmeri Baba as if its your taweez that has made him score runs :secret:

So, with the benefit of hindsight, you're slagging off what he said three years ago. Perfectly reasonable and factually correct statements, in my view given the position at that time. Kapil would no doubt respond - if he considered your prejudiced diatribes worthy of a response at all. Kapil Dev has forgotten more about cricket than most of us ever knew and is still ahead of most of us. He tells things as he sees them and doesn't care whose sensitivities he upsets. He was exactly the same when he was playing. Shameless are those, who feel the need to abuse and rant at India's only World Cup winning captain and greatest ever all round cricketer, because he raises a relevant but bitter point at a time when it was justified. But then who are we arguing with here ? A set of fans of would abuse and blame the entire team for his frequent shortcomings in pressure matches and then raise him to the heavens when he achieves personal glory. Even the fact that, he turned out to be the most pathetic captain in the history of our cricket was blamed by his deluded fans on him having a poor team. Ofcourse, it is a team game. Maradona and Pele also played a team game with 11 players. Only, on those big days like WC finals and semis , they unfailingly always brought in their very best game in a turbo charged manner. Ditto Michael Jordan, who is a bigger sporting icon than SRT will be in a million life times. In another team game, when it mattered most, in those crucial crucial finishing moments of the 4th quarter, he would almost become superhuman for the Bulls. Thats what fricking champions are about. Unfortunately in India, cricket matters more than anything, and we are otherwise woefully short on sporting heroes. SRT's image as a controversy free thorough gentleman and family man for 20 years adds multiple times to his numerous personal milestones and makes him the marketing phenomenon he is now.

Guest BossBhai