Mr. Wicket Posted March 8, 2010 Posted March 8, 2010 pls vote guise. big question. really big. (bigger than h4te's and that other guy's)
h4te Posted March 8, 2010 Posted March 8, 2010 this is a very tough decision. after minutes of contemplation, i have come to a conclusion: the black guy. Statistically speaking, blindor averages more wickets per match and also has the most aggregate wickets. More importantly, all of his wickets have contributed in the result of the match (unlike someone else's performances...calling gra).
Guest DeveGowda Posted March 8, 2010 Posted March 8, 2010 Guys what is this Special Affection towards 1990's.... ar u all had a 90 RC ?
mhr123 Posted March 8, 2010 Posted March 8, 2010 I think even Javed Akhtar gives a close competition to Shakoor and Baaaknoor, he gave the 3 Lbws at Sharjah awarding a hattrick to Aqib .
Guest DeveGowda Posted March 8, 2010 Posted March 8, 2010 I have a headache now :whine: Take 90 RC :giggle:
Ram Posted March 8, 2010 Posted March 8, 2010 After conducting extensive analysis, it has come to our attention that there is a two way tie b/w Steve Bucknor of West Indies and Javed Akhtar of Jokist...err..Pakistan. Therefore, we're left with no alternative but to resort to that time-tested and totally scientific method of statistical analysis. Steve Bucknor had the distinction of having effed up while umpiring against all test playing nations, while Javed Akhtar was specially used by Pakistan as a WMD against India only. So, Steve has the record of performing against all opposition in all conditions, but Akhtar has proven himself capable only in subcontinental conditions against Asian nations, because his drug abuse and rape charge back home prevented him from traveling anywhere else. So obviously, a tick mark for Blind man Steve there. Next of course, is the consistency through the different periods of their careers. Surprisingly, Steve began his umpiring career rather badly, having earned the reputation of being a relatively decent umpire b/w the period 1994-1998. However, he became true to self and his umpiring degenerated rapidly in the period since, culminating in the crowing achievement of his career, the Sydney test of 2008. Akhtar on the other hand, has a record of excellent right throughout his career - He was pathetic from start to finish. So, the Pakistani pulls one back here. Now, to the game breaker - Their performance in that all important 4th innings. Meticulously crunched stats from cricinfo's statsguru tool, probably the most (ab)used database in the world, show us that Akhtar has messed up 17 of 23 lbws/bat pad decisions that he gave in the 4th innings, giving him a success ratio of almost 80%. Bucknor bhai, on the other hand falls slightly short, having messed up only 32 off 48 of the same decisions that he gave in the 4th innings. From this, we have to conclude that even though both Javed Akhtar and Steve Bucknor have a proven track record of excellence that simply cannot be challenged, it has to be said that Akhtar is by far, the worst umpire of the 90s!:two_thumbs_up: P.S; After using Cricinfo's precious bandwidth by conducting the above statistical analysis, I have received a mail from cricinfo's technical team to 'simply eff off and not use our tool every once in a while just because your nose feels itchy or your throat feels parched'. They've also suggested to me in no uncertain terms that I 'am probably better off actually watching a match and making my conclusions of players and umpires, rather than scratch my head, wondering whats the next statistical parameter I am going to use to diss my most hated player'. Point taken, Cricinfo. :two_thumbs_up:
dev.goswami Posted March 8, 2010 Posted March 8, 2010 After conducting extensive analysis, it has come to our attention that there is a two way tie b/w Steve Bucknor of West Indies and Javed Akhtar of Jokist...err..Pakistan. Therefore, we're left with no alternative but to resort to that time-tested and totally scientific method of statistical analysis. Steve Bucknor had the distinction of having effed up while umpiring against all test playing nations, while Javed Akhtar was specially used by Pakistan as a WMD against India only. So, Steve has the record of performing against all opposition in all conditions, but Akhtar has proven himself capable only in subcontinental conditions against Asian nations, because his drug abuse and rape charge back home prevented him from traveling anywhere else. So obviously, a tick mark for Blind man Steve there. Next of course, is the consistency through the different periods of their careers. Surprisingly, Steve began his umpiring career rather badly, having earned the reputation of being a relatively decent umpire b/w the period 1994-1998. However, he became true to self and his umpiring degenerated rapidly in the period since, culminating in the crowing achievement of his career, the Sydney test of 2008. Akhtar on the other hand, has a record of excellent right throughout his career - He was pathetic from start to finish. So, the Pakistani pulls one back here. Now, to the game breaker - Their performance in that all important 4th innings. Meticulously crunched stats from cricinfo's statsguru tool, probably the most (ab)used database in the world, show us that Akhtar has messed up 17 of 23 lbws/bat pad decisions that he gave in the 4th innings, giving him a success ratio of almost 80%. Bucknor bhai, on the other hand falls slightly short, having messed up only 32 off 48 of the same decisions that he gave in the 4th innings. From this, we have to conclude that even though both Javed Akhtar and Steve Bucknor have a proven track record of excellence that simply cannot be challenged, it has to be said that Akhtar is by far, the worst umpire of the 90s!:two_thumbs_up: P.S; After using Cricinfo's precious bandwidth by conducting the above statistical analysis, I have received a mail from cricinfo's technical team to 'simply eff off and not use our tool every once in a while just because your nose feels itchy or your throat feels parched'. They've also suggested to me in no uncertain terms that I 'am probably better off actually watching a match and making my conclusions of players and umpires, rather than scratch my head, wondering whats the next statistical parameter I am going to use to diss my most hated player'. Point taken, Cricinfo. :two_thumbs_up: Hell!!!! what a post!! :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: :cantstop:
nballa Posted March 8, 2010 Posted March 8, 2010 i remember a specific incident during an odi in the 90's, don't remember the opposing team, but ajay jadeja edged to the first slip. the umpire slowly raised his hand with the finger then brought it down and adjusted his hat. some sharma guy, what a clown lol.
Mr. Wicket Posted March 8, 2010 Author Posted March 8, 2010 I have a headache now :whine: You can put up with Gunner but a thread about umpiring gives you a headache? :hitler:
h4te Posted March 9, 2010 Posted March 9, 2010 why is this not in jokes :hitler: because you're not the OP :finger:
riya Posted March 9, 2010 Posted March 9, 2010 Steve Bucknor was the biggest match winning umpire,period.
Desi Cartman Posted March 9, 2010 Posted March 9, 2010 because you're not the OP :finger: i iz hurt :sniffle: