Feed Posted June 9, 2010 Posted June 9, 2010 A club game may not be the exact indicator to his form but Sehwag’s intent at the crease showed a method amid the madness. He presented the full face of the bat to each ball, allowed 14 dot balls, and ran 11 singles and a double. More... Sehwag back from injury, with a bang Express News Service Posted: Wed Jun 09 2010, 00:02 hrs New delhi: For two days, Virender Sehwag was trying hard to meet the 7.30 am deadline to play his comeback match in the Capital’s club circuit. While he had to skip his usual teams of choice — ONGC and Collage Group — in the process, the India opener was third time lucky on Tuesday, as he played alongside a few close friends for Rajnigandha Cricket Club in Lala Raghubir Cricket tournament. The venue was Modern School grounds and a strong opposition in Air India, sprinkled with current and former first-class players, fitted in Sehwag’s scheme of things ahead of the Asia Cup. The India opener showed his complete recovery by fielding in the deep and even bowling the final over and claiming two wickets. But that was a little trailer. The real Sehwag show started past 1 pm, when he opened the innings while chasing 297 in 40 overs. Sehwag scored 69 off 38 balls, with eight fours and four sixes. But the knock was viewed independently from the context of the Group-B league game. All shots in book The first two deliveries were cracked to the point boundary and the third went for a straight six. The 50 on board came within the first three overs, as Sehwag played and missed just once. He had rehearsed all the shots in the manual within the first five overs, including the upper cut he had innovated. A club game may not be the exact indicator to his form but Sehwag’s intent at the crease showed a method amid the madness. He presented the full face of the bat to each ball, allowed 14 dot balls, and ran 11 singles and a double. Sehwag was dismissed as he tried to go under and hit a fast off-break from Ajit Chandela to be caught at wide long-on. Looking unhappy to have missed out on more vital match practice — he will play for ONGC in another tournament on Thursday — before leaving for the Team India camp in Chennai, Sehwag still enjoyed the company of his friends in the dressing room as the match simmered up to a high-scoring thriller. Amardeep Sonkar carried on his good work with the ball (4 for 65) to score 82 in the middle-order as Ragnigandha CC scored a two-wicket victory. Brief Scores Air India: 296 for 9 in 40 overs (C Madan 74, N Sharma 56, R Prakash 51, Deepak Joon 42, A Sonkar 4/65, V Sehwag 2/13, R Rathore 2/36) Rajnigandha Club: 299 for 8 in 39 overs (A Sonkar 82, V Sehwag 69, T Jain 56, T Pant 35 n.o., K Singh 2/50, Y Chahal 2/52)
saneindian Posted June 9, 2010 Posted June 9, 2010 I read that Akhtar is having a rethink on playing Asia cup now :--D
b555 Posted June 9, 2010 Posted June 9, 2010 I read that Akhtar is having a rethink on playing Asia cup now :--D u serious?
TheWall Posted June 9, 2010 Posted June 9, 2010 I read that Akhtar is having a rethink on playing Asia cup now :--D can Chukthar "Think"? :omg:
Karan114 Posted June 9, 2010 Posted June 9, 2010 After a bleak few weeks for Indian cricket, really looking forward to watch Veeru bat again.
mastana Posted June 9, 2010 Posted June 9, 2010 After a bleak few weeks for Indian cricket' date=' really looking forward to watch Veeru bat again.[/quote'] Against ordinary Bangladesh. :woot:
bangladeshifan Posted June 9, 2010 Posted June 9, 2010 Against ordinary Bangladesh. :woot: Mashrafee is getting ready to bowled shewag in his 1st over:--D
mastana Posted June 9, 2010 Posted June 9, 2010 Mashrafee is getting ready to bowled shewag in his 1st over:--D :fear:
bangladeshifan Posted June 9, 2010 Posted June 9, 2010 there is a joke in bangladesh. we just need to invent a sunglass by wearing that mashrafee will see every batsman like shewag and he'll get 10 wickets every match:--D
Clarke Posted June 9, 2010 Posted June 9, 2010 there is a joke in bangladesh. we just need to invent a sunglass by wearing that mashrafee will see every batsman like shewag and he'll get 10 wickets every match:--D He averages 30+ in both formats against Bangladesh, thats ur idea of a bunny ? Ur entire team must be a bunch of rodents by those standards.
mastana Posted June 9, 2010 Posted June 9, 2010 He averages 30+ in both formats against Bangladesh' date=' thats ur idea of a bunny ? Ur entire team must be a bunch of rodents by those standards.[/quote'] He said its a joke. So calm down. :p
Clarke Posted June 9, 2010 Posted June 9, 2010 He said its a joke. So calm down. :p Jokes are made on bunnies or noobs, not on legends like Veeru especially when its coming 4m Bangbros.
saneindian Posted June 9, 2010 Posted June 9, 2010 If Viru bhai can have a 9-10 month long ODI season like he had between June 2008 till the NZ tour in 2009, WC 2011 won't go anywhere outside India His record during that period read 22 matches, 1280 runs, @61 with a SR of 132 with 3 100s and 10 50s. Comeon Viru we need an encore.
Sid Posted June 9, 2010 Posted June 9, 2010 If Viru bhai can have a 9-10 month long ODI season like he had between June 2008 till the NZ tour in 2009, WC 2011 won't go anywhere outside India His record during that period read 22 matches, 1280 runs, @61 with a SR of 132 with 3 100s and 10 50s. Comeon Viru we need an encore. cant agree with you more,you are bang on about the time he was playing regularly we were unbeatable but problems started after that nz tour ,after which he got injured and missed world t20 and thereafter each icc event,if veeru remains fit till the world cup and yuvi comes back to shape,even with our ordinary bowling,we will be difficult to beat
bangladeshifan Posted June 9, 2010 Posted June 9, 2010 Jokes are made on bunnies or noobs' date=' not on legends like Veeru especially when its coming 4m Bangbros.[/quote'] just joke yaar.....legend ko leke joke nehi kiya ja sakta iye kaisi baat hain......main bhi shewag ka fan hun........ sabko itna chota mat samjho..........o bara hota hain jo khudko chota samajhta hain..........anyway sorry for my hindi
gaurav92 Posted June 10, 2010 Posted June 10, 2010 just joke yaar.....legend ko leke joke nehi kiya ja sakta iye kaisi baat hain......main bhi shewag ki fan hun........ sabko itna chota mat samjho..........o bara hota hain jo khudko chota samajhta hain..........anyway sorry for my hindi You are a Girl :omg:
mastana Posted June 10, 2010 Posted June 10, 2010 You are a Girl :omg: abey woh chor yeh hindi kaise bol rahi hai? :omg: @bangladeshifan Welcome to ICF.
bangladeshifan Posted June 10, 2010 Posted June 10, 2010 You are a Girl :omg: nope.....it should be "ka" i think.....sorry for my bad hindi anyway.