achilles Posted July 10, 2010 Posted July 10, 2010 I dislike the quality of umpiring and match referring during any Asian series or any crucial series involving the subcontinent teams.
Mr. Wicket Posted July 10, 2010 Posted July 10, 2010 I dislike the quality of umpiring and match referring during any Asian series or any crucial series involving the subcontinent teams. But saaaaaar... yumpiring is all well and good, and the likes of Bowden, de Silva and all are EXPEERYUNSHED decision makers! BCCI Babus know besht after all... why else would they be the only ones (well, along with SLC) resisting the UDRS and suggesting we stick to leaving the outcome of every match and series in the hands of the yumpires? Who needs better umpiring or technology to reduce errors when we can remain with status quo? Wait for two weeks saaaar, and we will rejoice in the match skewing abilities of the umpires when the technology free series in Sri Lanka begins! :woot: :proud:
achilles Posted July 10, 2010 Posted July 10, 2010 But saaaaaar... yumpiring is all well and good, and the likes of Bowden, de Silva and all are EXPEERYUNSHED decision makers! BCCI Babus know besht after all... why else would they be the only ones (well, along with SLC) resisting the UDRS and suggesting we stick to leaving the outcome of every match and series in the hands of the yumpires? Who needs better umpiring or technology to reduce errors when we can remain with status quo? Wait for two weeks saaaar, and we will rejoice in the match skewing abilities of the umpires when the technology free series in Sri Lanka begins! :woot: :proud: Lawl. B->
gaurav92 Posted July 10, 2010 Posted July 10, 2010 But saaaaaar... yumpiring is all well and good, and the likes of Bowden, de Silva and all are EXPEERYUNSHED decision makers! BCCI Babus know besht after all... why else would they be the only ones (well, along with SLC) resisting the UDRS and suggesting we stick to leaving the outcome of every match and series in the hands of the yumpires? Who needs better umpiring or technology to reduce errors when we can remain with status quo? Wait for two weeks saaaar, and we will rejoice in the match skewing abilities of the umpires when the technology free series in Sri Lanka begins! :woot: :proud: Yexxxeeeellent Post Saar
Herculus Posted July 10, 2010 Author Posted July 10, 2010 I hate to watch a 50 overs ODI match for 8 hours. anyone??
The Outsider Posted July 10, 2010 Posted July 10, 2010 I hate to watch a 50 overs ODI match for 8 hours. anyone?? Yeah, let's pimp for Pro 35.
ludhianvi Posted July 10, 2010 Posted July 10, 2010 No female umpires :(( That will increase the number of batsmen getting out. Good idea on a flat placid track and it will decrease the number of drawn matches. :cantstop:
gaurav92 Posted July 11, 2010 Posted July 11, 2010 That will increase the number of batsmen getting out. Good idea on a flat placid track and it will decrease the number of drawn matches. :cantstop: :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
ZodiaC Posted July 11, 2010 Posted July 11, 2010 That will increase the number of batsmen getting out. Good idea on a flat placid track and it will decrease the number of drawn matches. :cantstop: :cantstop::cantstop:
Herculus Posted July 11, 2010 Author Posted July 11, 2010 I hate that the players of lesser nations does not even get a full time contract whereas the annual income of Dhoni is around Rs 50 crores. Anyone wanna discuss this ?
Herculus Posted July 11, 2010 Author Posted July 11, 2010 IPL x 10000000000000000000000000000 means??
Herculus Posted July 11, 2010 Author Posted July 11, 2010 I hate to see that none of the associate tourneys gets popularity world over. I hate that the BCCI despite all its huge money not helping the lesser nations and ICC just keeping quiet. anyone wanna discuss this ??
Herculus Posted July 11, 2010 Author Posted July 11, 2010 She hates IPL a billion zillion times. the only cricket that i watch nowadays is the first 6 matches of KKR in IPL
achilles Posted July 11, 2010 Posted July 11, 2010 the only cricket that i watch nowadays is the first 6 matches of KKR in IPL
SJS50 Posted July 12, 2010 Posted July 12, 2010 Its impossible to hate anything about cricket because one loves it so much but then there is cricket and there is cricket :-) I have tried, hard trust me, but am not able to accept what goes on at the T-20 format as cricket. I don't hate T-20 but it does nothing for me, nothing whatsoever except, sometimes to be able to see great 'cricketers' playing and I can watch Sachin playing even if it was in a gully with ten year olds. But the games themselves do not excite me. Coming back to the question, while I do not hate anything about the game, I do feel very disappointed at a few things. Here they are off the cuff and in no particular order since I am thinking them up as I type . . . 1. The spectator's apathy to the first class game which in turn has led to the decline in interest in Tests. Connected to this, I am disgusted that the authorities at ICC as well as the individual boards are doing so little to resurrect the first class game. Top international cricketers do not, in many countries most notably India) do not think it worthwhile to play in the FC game thereby denying the game of the attraction for spectators, the test of skills that those in the fringes of international cricket need and the eventual revival of the game at the levels that matter the most. The media, both print and electronic does not seem to realise (again most glaringly in India) how much they could have contributed to the game if they covered FC cricket as they did 20 years ago and the damage they are unwittingly perhaps, causing to the game by not helping to market the FC game more effectively. Finally the BCCI (and others like them) for not giving the above any thought. 2. The steady decline in the quality of the contest between bat and ball. The media and, unfortunately even BCCI (and others like them) seem to think that it is batting, runs, sixes and boundaries and scoring rates that bring people into the stadiums and the game has, thereby, been sliding, almost irreversibly it seems, into one dominated by the batsmen. Needless to say, it has affected bowling standards and the stocks of top class bowlers around the world, thereby giving further boost to the batting. Thus an unrelenting one way vicious cycle has been set in force. Again, the spectators, under the massive influence of conditioning, are not the one's to be blamed for it. It is those who run the game that are directly responsible and the media, indirectly. Both the authorities and the media are too focussed on short term financial equations to have the time or the inclination to pause and think of the long term negative implications. Those who, till yesterday were considered saner voices including some of the game's finest exponents, are fast dwindling into an abject minority since most have been roped into the ever expanding group of those with vested interest. 3. The increasing levels of "cricket-illiterates" amongst the game's followers. I understand that this is not a very popular and palatable comment amongst cricket lovers for many seem to consider it a personal affront. Trust me this is meant as nothing of the sort. A very miniscule minority of cricket lovers have first hand knowledge of the game's intricacies and nuances from the direct experience of having played it at decent levels. This is not something new. This has always been the case. However, a very large number of those outside this group, were very knowledgeable (some amongst the more knowlegeable even when compared to the finest cricketers) and their knowledge was acquired. It was acquired from the written word and from the spoken word (from the time live commentaries on radio or TV became common). Unfortunately this source has dried up considerably. Firstly because reading cricket books for anything except knowing the 'masala' of the cricketers experiences, isn't most people's idea of spending precious time. The print media has lost out majorly from the electronic media and the last named considers "eye-candy" a much more important item on their menu than hard core cricketing bread-and-butter. It used to be an absolute delight to sit in a pavilion and talk cricket to the vast number of really knowledgeable people one met there. Today it is impossible. If you are interested in screaming, waving 4's and 6's and "I love you mama"placards, and wave frantically at the camera and join in the Mexican waves, you must go and see a Test match in India. If you want to be able to sit and get completely absorbed in the battle between bat and ball, discuss whether a man should be removed from the off side and brought to forward short-leg and why, you better look for your cricketing friends and invite them home to watch the game on TV. Do not forget to turn the volume to "mute" if a South Asian commentator is on the mike though. I haven't been to a Test match years. My wife thought once I retire, I will go to see a test match in India irrespective of which city it was played in ! You have to see the young men and women who are used as anchors by TV channels beaming for Indian audiences and see how they overnight start considering themselves as cricket-pundits to realise what is happening. Unfortunately, hundreds of millions, listen to them and that is their only cricket education. Nova 1