WTF is happening I am not exchanging a good chunk of US $$ for atleast 2 years now It's going down and down 1 US $ = $1.10 CAD ( Hardly any difference there now) 1 US $ = 40.55 Rupees Almight US Dollar vat laga giya Any hope for improvement?

Re: US Dollar dip me too. usa dollar account hereby gets frozen for the time being..

Re: US Dollar dip Allow me to swear but love**y lag gaye mere bhai! In a year the dollar has gone from 45 to high 40. Thats like a 10 percent drop. I was wondering since last summer if I should send some lumpsome amount to India to make some investment, doesnt see that happening now. On the other hand my sister who lives in UK is delighted with how the Pound is soaring!! Poora major type se laga hai apna.... :Cry:

Re: US Dollar dip

:lmao: :lmao: ya, from that POV is great But saale, job kar..paisa nikhal
Boss, give me a part-time job that nets me 40k a year( my tution), and I will gladly do it :lmao:

Re: US Dollar dip

:lmao: :lmao: ya, from that POV is great But saale, job kar..paisa nikhal
Boss, give me a part-time job that nets me 40k a year( my tution), and I will gladly do it :lmao:
I remember in my days, some of my friend used to get proper jobs on F-1, they always spoke about how IRS and Immigration were diff dept. so they got away and even got their taxes back

Re: US Dollar dip Kabira it is straight forward, not sure what details you need. I usually use Remit2India to get the best exchange rates to trasfer from Citibank US account to Citibank NRI account. Process takes about 5 days. Citibant internal transfers take about 24 hours but the exchange rates suck. Citi exchange rates are usually lower by 1-2 rupees.

Re: US Dollar dip BTW, The Indian rupee will be @ $1 = 35 Rupees by next January. Not just my prediction. The Indian rupee is still undervalued.

Re: US Dollar dip kabira, I inquired about it a few years back but never ended up using it so not sure of the details. Basically, you put in dollars and Citibank puts Rupees under your name in India. What you gain? Citibank gives a much higher interest rate than you'll find in the US and higher than the one generally prevelant in India. What Citibank gains? Foreign capital in India for investment purposes.

Re: US Dollar dip I am looking for something where I can keep my account in dollars intact and should be able to use it anytime from India for withdrawals..

Re: US Dollar dip Buy Gold in these times (the gold funds that is). Historically when currency has weakened Gold has been the safe haven. Gold will likely hit 1000 (around 700 now) soon. Oil too is a safe play. I'd also recommend Emerging markets. As for rupee, if dollar devalues rupee will too, as many Indian businesses's fortunes are tied to dollar.

Re: US Dollar dip I actually deposited in US interest account so I gain in US $ and exchange it when a miracle happens but time being, the dam thing is tied up I remember 2002 days, damn thing was $1.60 CAD

Re: US Dollar dip abe yaar kaahe ko jana le rahe ho. I just checked how much I still owe a lot of money for my student loan. :mad: :mad: Fc uk, every month i make a transfer the rates I get makes me feel like :wall: Citi NRI is tenshion free till the US Dollar rates doesnt takes a :shit: on your plans.

Re: US Dollar dip How many of you study in the US of A? It was completely beyond the reach of most of us when we were growing up. My dad often dreamt of it, but we never had the means. Once he wrote to my mausa-ji, who lived in the US, asking if he would facilitate my entry into med school in the US. Dad was under the impression that he could afford to pay the tuition fees, if mausa-ji helped with the admin stuff. Mausa-ji let dad down very gently by explaining, through a long letter, that medical education in the US was pricey business and out of reach of even average US citizens (in those days). Poor dad! I know CC had a Canadian education, Holysmoke studies in the US, probably Vroom did so as well, and then there's ask4me... Lucky so and sos! I envy your previlged upbringing!