achilles Posted October 28, 2010 Posted October 28, 2010 Hang on. So it is perfectly alright for people to give 'logic' and 'gyaan' to show Tendulkar is better than Bradman. When I use the same 'logic' and 'gyaan' for other batsmen then I am bringing down the quality of the site? You should pause and think that the problem is not with my applying the 'logic' to other batsmen which supposedly gives absurd results, it is with the 'logic' itself. EDIT : But feel free to delete, close the thread. I have already realized that nothing I will say or write can change the jingoistic notion of Sachin bhakti. And found further proof of it when I went to another site yesterday and saw why Imran Khan is greater than Bradman. This is not about analysis and understanding, but a matter of belief, which cannot be changed. I just have my bit of fun applying the same logic to other cricketers and laughing at the absurd results I see like Jadeja is a greater player than Mankad for example, or that Kallis is greater batsman than Richards. Not everything is supposed to be proved all the time. Like any same man/woman, let wisdom talk, not rants. Relax guys ... I was just helping out Proff with the right stats .... if I wanted to rip apart I would have done so in a more detailed post ... from what I can make out this was between Outsider and dial from another thread ... But if anyone is willing to debate without getting personal or hurling silly smilies ... from my side I guarantee a wonderfull debate and I will even help crunch stats for you and you dont have to agree to everything that I say. Just be honest and dont make it a ego thing. And as far as this thread is concerned we can still make a good thread out of it and I will do more than my share. In an argument, someone has to give in. It doesn't necessarily mean that the person lost, but it means that the person is above the argument itself. The two of you make this fun an absolute pleasure to read. Its disappointing at times to see y'all "debate" as it gets murky and members don't know whether to intervene or just ignore it.
dial_100 Posted October 28, 2010 Posted October 28, 2010 Relax guys ... I was just helping out Proff with the right stats .... if I wanted to rip apart I would have done so in a more detailed post ... from what I can make out this was between Outsider and dial from another thread ... But if anyone is willing to debate without getting personal or hurling silly smilies ... from my side I guarantee a wonderfull debate and I will even help crunch stats for you and you dont have to agree to everything that I say. Just be honest and dont make it a ego thing. And as far as this thread is concerned we can still make a good thread out of it and I will do more than my share. Bossy, me?>??? of all you think I am the reason for these threads. B-> Chalo, kuchh to kaam aaye hum. Well, yaar of all others, I was one of the very few who were on a neutral side and none of my posts I have said that SRT is better than DON. Nor anyone is forcing me to say (as if I care) that Don is better than the modern greats. In fact I would request you and DSR to give up defending SRT. He is too good yaar. You guys dont need to defend him. Few guys are just doing it for the heck of it. There are definitely some who are absolutely anti-SRT and you take them on and it is just fine but Shwetabh is definitely not one of them. And I know you guys long enough. Longest i stretch my point is upto 2-4 replies. Many of my replies contained some agreements to valid points. For me it is never the battle of give up or not. Having said that I am still not convinced with either side of the arguments and I am still sticking to my opinion but no further addition from my side in those threads.