satyam1729 Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 Was just trying to point out that maybe this guy has some problems with India. He has a history of writing such articles. Co-incidence' date=' maybe? I think not.[/quote'] Jealousy is a tribute which mediocre pays to the genius.
Homerus_Unus Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 Well putting Athers aside...Dhoni's form is cause of concern. This is really his first form blip since his debut in ODIs. The guy has consistently averaged 45+ every calender year after year. it remains to be seen if at all he will recover? Has his technique finally caught up with him? I think the commies were discussing the other day that he is averaging less than 24 (?) this year. Thats dreadful for a person who was ranked #1 batsman in the world for a long time. +1 If only people removed their homer-glasses they'd see that his form with the bat has dipped of late.
Bublu Bhuyan Posted March 25, 2011 Author Posted March 25, 2011 Jealousy is a tribute which mediocre pays to the genius. :haha: What else can define his earth shattering Test average of 37 odd, that too being a specialist batsman? Add to that, a mind blowing strike rate of 58.64 in ODI cricket :two_thumbs_up:
Sachin=GOD Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 Jealousy is a tribute which mediocre pays to the genius. copied from me :headshake:
BERGKAMP Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 Athers and Bumble are both bitter and jealous nobodies, who love having sly digs at India and everything associated with our cricket. Both are huge hypocrites and would jump at the chance and do anything to make even 10% of the money some of the big players do.
Bublu Bhuyan Posted March 25, 2011 Author Posted March 25, 2011 +1 If only people removed their homer-glasses they'd see that his form with the bat has dipped of late. None of us are denying it. But attributing it to the number of ads he appears in is idiotic. It's a blatent cheap shot. What about Tendulkar's lean patch during 05/06, was that too because of the number of ads he did?
Bublu Bhuyan Posted March 25, 2011 Author Posted March 25, 2011 Athers and Bumble are both bitter and jealous nobodies, who love having sly digs at India and everything associated with our cricket. Both are huge hypocrites and would jump at the chance and do anything to make even 10% of the money some of the big players do. Not sure about David 'Bumble' Lloyd, but Atherton's history suggests so.
NareshK Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 Was just trying to point out that maybe this guy has some problems with India. He has a history of writing such articles. Co-incidence' date=' maybe? I think not.[/quote'] It's no co-incidence. He has been at it for a long time.
Karan114 Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 +1 If only people removed their homer-glasses they'd see that his form with the bat has dipped of late. Dhoni's poor form has been discussed plenty on this forum...there was a whole thread on it yesterday. That's not the point here - Atherton's ridiculous correlation of shooting ads and poor batting form is.
Bublu Bhuyan Posted March 25, 2011 Author Posted March 25, 2011 Dhoni's poor form has been discussed plenty on this forum...there was a whole thread on it yesterday. That's not the point here - Atherton's ridiculous correlation of shooting ads and poor batting form is. Exactly.
Homerus_Unus Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 None of us are denying it. But attributing it to the number of ads he appears in is idiotic. It's a blatent cheap shot. What about Tendulkar's lean patch during 05/06' date=' was that too because of the number of ads he did?[/quote'] He surely has a bias but I'd rather take home the core message. Dhoni truly needs to man up and play better and our Indian cricket fans need to stop displaying such madness which saw Dhoni's house being attacked or Chappell (no matter how detrimental he was to the team) punched in his head. Throwing a hissy fit about such opinion pieces (get a clue mate, everyone has a biased opinion) and making inane accusations about him being JEALOUS of Dhoni's financial success or Tendulkar's batting success or being anti-Indian is silly.
Homerus_Unus Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 Dhoni's poor form has been discussed plenty on this forum...there was a whole thread on it yesterday. That's not the point here - Atherton's ridiculous correlation of shooting ads and poor batting form is. Now that is a valid argument.
Ranjha Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 Dhoni will do ads and win the worldcup for India shut the *** up atherthon ...we know u r broke and just jealous.
ViruRulez Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 Atherton is the biggest *****hole and I have mentioned it from several years. His articles in English media ridiculing anything related to India used to piss me off from several years. So, not surprising that he tries to take another dig on India and Indian cricket. He never seems to be comfortable with the fact that India has displaced England from the cricketing epicenter and has become the most powerful cricketing nation by a huge margin. I had posted a few articles earlier too. At the same time, I really hope that Dhoni also pulls up his socks. Perhaps he is the only batsman who has been quite dull for a long long time. He was one of the pillars in our middle order till a year or so ago and now he is a huge weakness in the middle order. Hope he shuts up his critics including me in the upcoming matches. Shaadi se ho gayi hai kya barbaadi. He has stopped performing as a batsman since his marriage. Maybe being a family man has made him concentrate less on the game. Whatever it is but hope he fires again and we can see the helicopter shots in reality too instead of only in the Pepsi ad.
Homerus_Unus Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 Atherton is the biggest *****hole and I have mentioned it from several years. His articles in English media ridiculing anything related to India used to piss me off from several years. So, not surprising that he tries to take another dig on India and Indian cricket. He never seems to be comfortable with the fact that India has displaced England from the cricketing epicenter and has become the most powerful cricketing nation by a huge margin. I had posted a few articles earlier too. At the same time, I really hope that Dhoni also pulls up his socks. Perhaps he is the only batsman who has been quite dull for a long long time. He was one of the pillars in our middle order till a year or so ago and now he is a huge weakness in the middle order. Hope he shuts up his critics including me in the upcoming matches. Shaadi se ho gayi hai kya barbaadi. He has stopped performing as a batsman since his marriage. Maybe being a family man has made him concentrate less on the game. Whatever it is but hope he fires again and we can see the helicopter shots in reality too instead of only in the Pepsi ad. So, you can make a brazen correlation between his marriage and his batting, but should Atherton make a correlation between his shooting ads and his batting, he is viciously attacked and called anti-Indian. :haha:
DomainK Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 :haha: What else can define his earth shattering Test average of 37 odd' date=' that too being a specialist batsman? Add to that, a mind blowing strike rate of 58.64 in ODI cricket :two_thumbs_up:[/quote'] And not enough ad offers. :giggle:
DomainK Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 So, you can make a brazen correlation between his marriage and his batting, but should Atherton make a correlation between his shooting ads and his batting, he is viciously attacked and called anti-Indian. :haha: I hope you understand the difference between a forummer taking a casual funny dig discussing with friends and an known expert writing a serious professional article published on a well known website?
Homerus_Unus Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 I hope you understand the difference between a forummer taking a casual funny dig discussing with friends and an known expert writing a serious professional article published on a well known website? The topic of this thread is "Michael Atherton takes a dig at Dhoni." That's exactly what he did. And Atherton is no professional writer...he's just an opinionated pundit like several others.
ViruRulez Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 So, you can make a brazen correlation between his marriage and his batting, but should Atherton make a correlation between his shooting ads and his batting, he is viciously attacked and called anti-Indian. :haha: Sorry I was about to mention just joking at the end of the sentence you quoted in the post but I forgot due to typo. I was just joking on that part. I am not attacking Atherton but his attitude towards Indian cricket and cricketers and BCCI and anything remotely related to India has been highly derogatory to say the least. I forgot the name of the English newspaper where he used to post but he tried his best to bring down India whenever he could. I am not referring to just this case but I have been noticing him columns and articles in various websites and he tries every bit to pull down India. I have posted a few of his articles a couple of years ago on ICF to show the same. I am not citing this single incident but his anti-India rhetoric as a whole.