Brainfade Posted April 6, 2011 Posted April 6, 2011 Is it just me or does anyone else find these random cash prize announcements a bit OTT? I mean they won the cup, got their medals, will be getting tons of endorsements, great for them. Can't the Delhi govt use the 4+2=6 crores on some development projects for the poor instead of adding to the coffers of these guys who are already raking in enough money for several generations? Completely agree. I am all for honoring them and giving them their due, but it is way OTT. It is just the politicians' chance to bask in the team's glory.
Sachin=GOD Posted April 6, 2011 Author Posted April 6, 2011 four Indian players employed by Air India, including captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni have been promoted. Dhoni was promoted as manager from his earlier position of deputy manager at the Ranchi office of the carrier. Yuvraj Singh has been promoted as senior manager while Harbhajan Singh and Suresh Raina will now be managers. http://www.deccanherald.com/content/151193/cash-plots-awards-follow-team.html
Orange Posted April 6, 2011 Posted April 6, 2011 So none of you philantropists will expect a bonus for doing great work I suppose Usually a bonus is a certain percentage of the wage but this has blown out of proportions. Remember, there're those who've sacrificed limbs and lives for the nation and what do they get? What did the cricketers sacrifice in comparision and just how has their achievements benefitted the people? We must be committed jackasses to condone this disgrace when the deserving get crumbs or nothing. Epic disgrace!
Sachin=GOD Posted April 14, 2011 Author Posted April 14, 2011 Yuvraj gifted Audi Q5 for his stellar World Cup show MUMBAI: The spate of gifts for the victorious Indian World Cup cricket team continues. As promised, German car major Audi on Thursday presented a brand new Audi Q5 to Yuvraj Singh for his performance in the recently concluded mega event. Former Indian cricketer Ravi Shastri and Audi India chief Micheal Perschke presented the keys to the car, considered among the sportiest and most elegant SUV in its class. "I would like to congratulate Yuvraj on being declared the Man of the Tournament at the World Cup 2011. His performance on the cricket field has made us all proud," said Perschke. Perschke said that it was cricket which first brought Audi to India as an Audi 100 was gifted to Shastri for his winning performance at the World Cricket Championship in Australia in 1985, where he was declared the Champion of Champions. On his part, Yuvraj said he was happy to be presented with the swanky car. "It is after 28 years India brings the World Cup home. It is an honour to be chosen and felicitated by Audi as they continue their tradition," Singh. Audi, with its four rings on the grille, has had a deep-rooted relationship with cricket over the years. The memory of the 1985 Indian team's victory lap in the Audi 100 continues to live on in the minds of Indian cricket fans even today. "My association with the iconic brand Audi began 26 years ago, when I brought home the country's first ever Audi. I am happy to see Audi India take this tradition forward and continue to recognise the achievement of champions in the cricketing field," said Shastri. He added that Yuvraj, with his versatility, consistency, talent and thirst for excellence, has set new benchmarks in the cricketing world. Link
yoda Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 So none of you philantropists will expect a bonus for doing great work I suppose From my employer (in this case BCCI) yes.
Sachinism Posted April 15, 2011 Posted April 15, 2011 My uncle was telling me Gujarat goverment gave 1 lakh to Yusuf and Munaf I was on the floor
bhanu Posted April 15, 2011 Posted April 15, 2011 My uncle was telling me Gujarat goverment gave 1 lakh to Yusuf and Munaf I was on the floor :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::haha:
CSK Fan Posted April 15, 2011 Posted April 15, 2011 From my employer (in this case BCCI) yes. Wonder why the Indian fan get so emotionally attached to the tea, why do they throw stones or put garlands, why do they burn effigies and demand players to be dropped. Shouldnt it be the employers job to praise or punish them? It should work both ways, you know.