cricketfan2010 Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 1999 pakistan reached final of the world cup. Indian board and pakistan board were more or less the same. May be Indian board was slightly richer. But pakistan team was probably enjoying more success then Indian team... Now look where we are.... Our board is Richest.. Our cricketers are top of the rankings in Tests and ODIs. We have a thriving system that is systematically churning our champion players. Besides our cricketers have managed to stay scandal free most of the time despite receiving so much so soon (money and fame wise).. Our players haven't been caught eating cricket balls, dancing on the pitch or spot fixing. No matter how much we hate BCCI for their heavy handedness and stupidity when it comes to scheduling, I think BCCI should get some credit for it. We should also be thankful that we have been fortunate enough to have honest role models like Dravid, Kumble, Laxman, Ganguly and Tendulkar... Our youngsters have had these magnificent men as role models.. Pakistan youngsters have had likes of Afridi and Salman Butt.. Any other reasons why we have moved in right direction since 1999 and pakistan cricket has moved backward during the same time span?
Cricket Tragic Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 I have read this somewhere else also :hmmmm2: Padosi forum. :two_thumbs_up:
Sachin=GOD Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 Padosi forum. :two_thumbs_up: Not there. I don't go there..........................ever. Waise wahan se yeh sab faltu matter yahan kyon lekar aate hai log :dontknow:
cricketfan2010 Posted April 4, 2011 Author Posted April 4, 2011 I have read this somewhere else also :hmmmm2: Me.. too. I am looking for our perspective.. Has it anything to do with our economy. Our democracy, our values, Our way of living in harmony with people of all religions. We have had Sikh as a pm, Muslim as President and Christian as leader of the ruling party. This secular atmosphere allowed our economy to grow and success at cricket may just be a trickle down effect of the same and this world cup win may just be tip of the Iceberg for Indian cricket team.. With all this money, I am sure sooner or later we will have system in place where we product bowler to complement our legendery batsmen... And our performance at other sports may improve too...
satyam1729 Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 Copy-paste job from padosi forum. WE. :giggle::giggle:
satyam1729 Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 Me.. too. I am looking for our perspective.. Has it anything to do with our economy. Our democracy, our values, Our way of living in harmony with people of all religions. We have had Sikh as a pm, Muslim as President and Christian as leader of the ruling party. This secular atmosphere allowed our economy to grow and success at cricket may just be a trickle down effect of the same and this world cup win may just be tip of the Iceberg for Indian cricket team.. With all this money, I am sure sooner or later we will have system in place where we product bowler to complement our legendery batsmen... And our performance at other sports may improve too... BCCI was richer than PCB even then. The worst thing to happen to Pak cricket is India stopped playing them at Sharjah. That gave them big blow.
cricketfan2010 Posted April 4, 2011 Author Posted April 4, 2011 Not there. I don't go there..........................ever. Waise wahan se yeh sab faltu matter yahan kyon lekar aate hai log :dontknow: Its a point worth discussing.. May be teams are mirror image of economy.. our foreign reserve is number 7th in the world.. pakistan's is 16 billion.. our billionairs have more money then that.. what the hack even bcci may get richer then pakistan sooner or later.. lol
Dhruv200 Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 Tendulkar contributed immensely to BCCI more than any player in 1990s.
akshayxyz Posted April 4, 2011 Posted April 4, 2011 As Chidambaram put it - You can not ride a tiger for too long.
Prakat Posted April 5, 2011 Posted April 5, 2011 Although India's stature has risen dramatically, the gulf is widened ever more by Pakistan cricket's non-stop slide into the dark side of sports. The reasons are many with economic growth being one of them in India's case. As for Pakistan, I suppose the state of affairs in their cricket only reflects the state of the nation in many ways. But not sure that it has to be like that at all. After all Brazil excelled in soccer long before BRIC became a powerful alliance.
saneindian Posted April 5, 2011 Posted April 5, 2011 In 2000, Dada and Wright took over Indian cricket. rest as they say is history.
imran666 Posted April 5, 2011 Posted April 5, 2011 array cricketfan2010 mera bhai dont worry about us ..we are just going through a lean patch .. we will be back ..we r the only crickting nation who find talent from streets ...and iam 100% sure e will find someone like wasim waqar shoaib inzi imran khan etc soon...we had the chance to rule the crickting world in the 90s but team infighting favouritism destroyed us ...hopefully it wont happen this time ...i just remember this line ...when there is life there is hope and talking about india ...i remember india of 90s and i swear i used to feel so sorry for sachin .india was a 1 man team running on his sholders ..he used to be blamed all the time india loose by the media ..but hats off to the BCCI the way they brought new talent after jadeja and azhruddin were banned ..at that time i thoght india was finished to be honest ..and now even if sachin dont play iam sure innia is capable of posting over 300 runs on the board and capable of chasing it too...and i really find it funny how indians still bash the BCCI ..u guys should thank god u have such a cricket board
Zap_Brannigan Posted April 5, 2011 Posted April 5, 2011 BCCI pushed the cheaters off the team and built a new team around and gave more importance to the players than administrators. It has nothing to do with finances. If someone believes that India was just "slightly" richer than Pak in 99, then they are delusional. By the time Dalmiya took over ICC in 96, BCCI was already one of the top 3 boards and majority of the money for cricket were coming from India. IIRC, by 99, 60% of ICC revenues were from India. From the 96 WC and up until recently, Sachin was the highest paid cricketer in the world.
cricketfan2010 Posted April 5, 2011 Author Posted April 5, 2011 array cricketfan2010 mera bhai dont worry about us ..we are just going through a lean patch .. we will be back ..we r the only crickting nation who find talent from streets ...and iam 100% sure e will find someone like wasim waqar shoaib inzi imran khan etc soon...we had the chance to rule the crickting world in the 90s but team infighting favouritism destroyed us ...hopefully it wont happen this time ...i just remember this line ...when there is life there is hope and talking about india ...i remember india of 90s and i swear i used to feel so sorry for sachin .india was a 1 man team running on his sholders ..he used to be blamed all the time india loose by the media ..but hats off to the BCCI the way they brought new talent after jadeja and azhruddin were banned ..at that time i thoght india was finished to be honest ..and now even if sachin dont play iam sure innia is capable of posting over 300 runs on the board and capable of chasing it too...and i really find it funny how indians still bash the BCCI ..u guys should thank god u have such a cricket board Even if you find talent like Wasim from street with your political and administrative system I doubt it if pakistan will ever rule cricketing world. Infighting and favouritism will still flourish... If anything this culture of picking players from street is hurting pakistan cricket. Thats why pakistan hasn't produced any great batsman lately. We still bash the BCCI for their mistakes.. We have a freedom of speech to do that... Every one should be accountable.. In sport or in public life.. I guess this is the reason behind the difference in 2 economies..
imran666 Posted April 5, 2011 Posted April 5, 2011 Even if you find talent like Wasim from street with your political and administrative system I doubt it if pakistan will ever rule cricketing world. Infighting and favouritism will still flourish... If anything this culture of picking players from street is hurting pakistan cricket. Thats why pakistan hasn't produced any great batsman lately. We still bash the BCCI for their mistakes.. We have a freedom of speech to do that... Every one should be accountable.. In sport or in public life.. I guess this is the reason behind the difference in 2 economies.. i have to agree with u on finding batting talent on streets as a bad idea ..but bowling wise history has proven it has worked for pak ..u can see from the way pak batsmens play they r from streets coz of there tacnique ...to become a good batsmen u need to start from very early age playing with a hard ball not trying to hit tape ball as hard as u can in a 5 over match in streets
cricketfan2010 Posted April 5, 2011 Author Posted April 5, 2011 i have to agree with u on finding batting talent on streets as a bad idea ..but bowling wise history has proven it has worked for pak ..u can see from the way pak batsmens play they r from streets coz of there tacnique ...to become a good batsmen u need to start from very early age playing with a hard ball not trying to hit tape ball as hard as u can in a 5 over match in streets That probably is a very good analysis and you have have hit the nail on the head that.. I have heard the tape ball culture is responsible for producing fast bowlers. That may be true of one of the side effect may be the decline of quality batsmen.
Dhruv200 Posted April 5, 2011 Posted April 5, 2011 i have to agree with u on finding batting talent on streets as a bad idea ..but bowling wise history has proven it has worked for pak ..u can see from the way pak batsmens play they r from streets coz of there tacnique ...to become a good batsmen u need to start from very early age playing with a hard ball not trying to hit tape ball as hard as u can in a 5 over match in streets u still couldnt beat India in crunch games when u had Imran Waqar Wasim