What do you think about Shivaji(Rajni starrer)?

Lurker

Is it going to be one of the all-time blockbusters? Anyone seen yet? Any first-hand reviews? Also how do you folks find Rajni? Personally I have always liked his style and it is a shame that he(or likes of Kamal Hassan, Mohanlal) never got their dues in Hindi cinema. I have seen Rajni's movie Baasha a couple of times and even though I understood not a single lines I did really enjoy the movie. xxx

Sivaji is the most expectation filled film ever in Tamil Cinema ! The combination of Rajni-Shanker-Rahman is simply irresistable ! I havent seen the movie yet , but reviews from Singapore ( where its already released) say the movie is complete entertainer. Rajni hasnt let his fans down.

heard he was getting paid whopping 20 crores for this movie alone.....wtf highest ever paid to a movie star in indian cinema
Generally , he gets half of the movi profit.. and along with that , he has got some distribution rights too for some areas !

Sivaji?? I know he is Big in South, but I find him funny with his cigarette tricks Now, even Nagma was a goddess in South at one time :shades_smile:
They still are..... they "bathed" rajni's poster in milk so that his sivaji wud turnout to be superhit ..to think he was bus conductor once.... kya naseeb hain

I did not know in what context you meant that.. An over-hyped actor cant rule a industry for 30 years...
In the context of quality of his movies. Well he has a huge fan following, what can I say. BTW, did you watch Chandramukhi and did you like it?

Seems like the movie is sold out in India, as well as US, South East Asia etc. Blockbuster in making? By the way this is a clip from the movie Baasha. Specially like last part where he says the dialogue(though I can not understand any of it). id4Vz4LrWSM&mode=related&search This may be a chance for us to share some of the great regional movies of India. Any recommendation for Rajni, Kamal Hassan, Chiranjeevi, Nagarjuna etc? Masala movies preferably hehehe. xxx

In the context of quality of his movies. Well he has a huge fan following, what can I say. BTW, did you watch Chandramukhi and did you like it?
Chandramukhi was crap for the most part... But , who cares... We love to him to bits anyways.. Just watching a Rajni movie is reason enough to celebrate for most of us..

i am a Rajni Fan for his style..though i can not understand a word of the language... but this time..Media has hyped it so much that i am planning to watch it in a movie hall...just to watch the other people's reactions... how they react... if Amitabh has fans in Kabul... the rajni has fans in Japan... There is something about Rajni which people do not know... what is it about Rajni.. ? May be a documentary on Rajni will be a first step towards understanding the enigma called Shivaji The Boss...

i have seen one film of Nagarjuna..in the regional language.,...starring Ayesha Takia.. actually i saw that move more for ayesha than for any thing else...and it was on TV.. no doubt...their fils are more stylish... some hard core acting based movie from south...from the stalwarts....i would love to see.... may be sriram can name some really good movies of southern stars ....acting wise....not style wise.. !-! ( Rajni Style ).. even i have started doing this thing...:cantstop:

This may be a chance for us to share some of the great regional movies of India. Any recommendation for Rajni, Kamal Hassan, Chiranjeevi, Nagarjuna etc? Masala movies preferably hehehe. xxx
Kamal Hasan did a movie called "Anbe Sivam" ( which literally means, Compassion is God) along with Madhavan. It has nothing of the usual fights-dance-bad guys etc masala stuff that southern movies are generally associated with. In the movie , Kamal plays a handicapped socialist and madhavan a suave capitalist supporting modern guy. They accidentally share a journey from Orissa to Chennai and the story tells the tale of how Madhavan , after initially hating Kamal , is drawn towards his ideology and principles. Kamal has , as usual , put in a rollicking performance in playing a handicapped, quick tongued socialist. Madhavan too has matched kamal scene for scene. I would say this movie is a must watch for people who want to watch a southern movie but dont do coz they cant stand the usual masala stuff. As expected , the movie didnt do great in the box office , but won critical acclaim all over.

There is something about Rajni which people do not know... what is it about Rajni.. ? May be a documentary on Rajni will be a first step towards understanding the enigma called Shivaji The Boss...
Yes.. Rajni is truly a Phenomenon ! For 30 years , each and every one of his films have been hits.. For people from North India or some of the other southern states , his style/antics will border on the funny/ridiculous. But it is that same style that has won him fans cutting across age , gender and different classes of society. Though his movies are generally associated with fancy masala stuff , it is credit to him that he has chosen clever screenplays that he predicted will reach the people. Rajni makes just one film evry two years, but each and every technician of his films are best in the business. The strange thing about Rajni is , it isnt just the masses that love him. I have had friends from Stanford, Purdue who are literally going gaga about watching the movie. These guys are planning to print Rajini t-shirts and break coconuts in front of the cinema halls. That is Rajni for you.. Truly an Enigma !

The strange thing about Rajni is , it isnt just the masses that love him. I have had friends from Stanford, Purdue who are literally going gaga about watching the movie. These guys are planning to print Rajini t-shirts and break coconuts in front of the cinema halls. That is Rajni for you.. Truly an Enigma !
Yes that's what baffles me as well. Look at it this way, most South Indian fans can perhaps agree that Kamal Hassan, Mamooty, Mohanlal are much better actors than Rajnikanth. However I have never seen the "elite" flock to watch a Kamal Hassan movie in US. To watch a Rajni movie I have seen practically everyone rushing to watch the latest release. xxx

i fully agree with the views here.... my friend is a die-hard "worshipper", should i say.... he made me watch the movie, u r talking abt, lurks... baadshah... it is pretty cool.... he has a very different style... i wouldnt mind watching tht baadshah movie again acually...

Its no surprise some of you guys actually like Baasha.. Baasha was a water-shed movie in Rajini's career. Till then ( 1995 or 96) Rajini was this outstanding box office hero. After Baasha, he literally became a Demi-God in Tamil Nadu.