Washed up or Forgotten talent that deserves another go

maniac

Washed up or Forgotten talent that deserves another go  

• Murali Karthick
    • Dinesh Karthick
    • Irfan Pathan
    • RP Singh
    • Parthiv Patel(not exactly ignored but needs to be given a longer run)
    • Balaji
    • Badrinath
    • Pragyan Ojha
    • Ravindra Jadeja(Haters gonna hate but more than a decent spinner imho)
    • Abhimanyu Mithun(Needs to be tried in helpful conditions)

Who of these forgotten/Washed up/Ignored talent who have played quiet succesfully for us in the past deserves to be given another long run.

Dinesh Karthik. His keeping is as good or as bad as Dhoni's plus he is a better bat than him in Tests. We should make Gambhir the test captain. Dhoni does not deserve a place in the test team .

Kis "tailunt" ki baat kar raha hai bhai?
Instead of fantasizing about the mythical bowling powress of Yadav and Varun Aaron who have been ordinary for what I have seen of them,the options aint that bad considering the players who have proved to be good on an international stage on occassions. I forgot to add Jaffer to the poll but here is the basis of the players listed Good/Experienced spinner proven at the international level:Murali Karthick,Ojha Allrounders:Irfan Pathan(Bowls the same pace as PK and more than a capable technique with the bat),jadeja-I am not trying to humor people here but from what I have seen Jaddu has got a better technique than Yuvraj and I also rate him a better spinner Wicket Keepr:Kartick,Patel both on and off proven performers:Definetely technically better batsmen than our Kaptaan Seamers:RP,Mithun(Never given a fair run in helpful conditions IMHO also handy with the bat compared to some of our other seamers) Middle order:Badrinath He can't be as worse than Raina or Yuvi in these conditions

RP Singh for me... he's a pretty decent swing bowler who would have been great in these conditions just like he was in 2007. Plus he adds variety being a left-armer especially since Zaheer is out.

The only ones even worthy of consideration at this point 1) D. Karthick 2) Ojha 3) RP Singh provided he starts showing improved first class performances Realistically once our regular batsmen are back (VS & GG) only Ojha has some chance of a look in i.e. if HS gets kicked out & his replacement Mishra fails

Murali Kartik, Dinesh Karthik, Irfan Pathan, RP Singh, Parthiv Patel, Balaji, Badrinath, Ojha, Jadeja, Mithun
Definitely not these 2, they are over-aged already and given a lot of chance in International arena and have failed. Irfan, RP and Ojha are the ones I see coming backing in few months given our bowling sucks now.
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/stats/index.html?bowling_pacespin=2;class=2;filter=advanced;orderby=wickets;spanmax2=31+DEC+2010;spanmin1=01+Jan+2009;spanval1=span;spanval2=span;team=6;template=results;type=bowling Look at our 2nd best spinner fom 2009 to 2010 in ODI's...Can't understand the hatred on this guy based on Tontee-Tontee performances.Look at his economy rate as well. Like it or not Jaddu deserves another go in this Indian team based on the beleif some seniors have in his allround-capabilities...Once again not trying to stir any *** or humor people here but definetely not as bad as a prospect compared to some players we have tried recently
Experience and also a good cricketing brain...Plays county cricket in England,Was performing decently before he was dropped,deserves a chance atleast as a stop-gap option
Explain please- what does he bring at this stage??
The question here would be: what doesn't he bring? I take it you didn't see him in that county match between Somerset and Essex. He was class with both the ball and bat. He's more familiar with English conditions than most of our other spinners and is far more wily than Dartbhajan, who's also got a pathetic average and SR to boot of late and has no variations whatsoever. But considering his age, it seems unlikely he'll be recalled. He's been ignored and given the cold shoulder for far too long.
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/stats/index.html?bowling_pacespin=2;class=2;filter=advanced;orderby=wickets;spanmax2=31+DEC+2010;spanmin1=01+Jan+2009;spanval1=span;spanval2=span;team=6;template=results;type=bowling Look at our 2nd best spinner fom 2009 to 2010 in ODI's...Can't understand the hatred on this guy based on Tontee-Tontee performances.Look at his economy rate as well. Like it or not Jaddu deserves another go in this Indian team based on the beleif some seniors have in his allround-capabilities...Once again not trying to stir any *** or humor people here but definetely not as bad as a prospect compared to some players we have tried recently
Just goes to show how you don't know how to read those stats. 2nd best spinner, based on what? Wickets?? ridiculous Ashwin and Ojha are top 2 based on averages and Jadeja is 7th. We're done with this schmuck
Guest Gunner

Can Irfan Pathan make No.6 as a pure batsman (forget his bowling)?