I was having a discussion with a buddy who felt that the abundance of Indian techies in US is due to cheap labor. I was like that would be illegal? simple answer is they lack talent and get it from India but do they set the salary there or is it a different package

It is illegal to pay H1 people below prevailing wage. BUT there has been historically the whole 'IT consultancy' thingie where people work at lower wages (or sometime no wages etc) through some body-shop..there has been recent crackdown on this.

Your friend is right about the labour cost thing. H1B is more about low cost of labour than high skills. The L1 visas are for the highly skilled employees and there is strict filtering now happening for this visa, whereas H1Bs getting rejected are fairly rare for employees of reputed companies

Your friend is right about the labour cost thing. H1B is more about low cost of labour than high skills. The L1 visas are for the highly skilled employees and there is strict filtering now happening for this visa' date= whereas H1Bs getting rejected are fairly rare for employees of reputed companies
All masters and PhD students who graduate from a univ in US and get a job get it on H1 visa :nervous:

There was also a scam where consultancy sponsored your H1 for free. If it cleared the lottery, then you would need to pay the consultancy and work at their designated location for a certain period. they used to get a cut from their clients as well. It got curbed after H1 fees were increased and applicants went down due to recession

All masters and PhD students who graduate from a univ in US and get a job get it on H1 visa :nervous:
I was talking about techies only. The Phd and masters students come under a different category in the visa cap.

People can go to any extent to live and work in US .:facepalm: This has been one of the reasons why many have been duped and many will in future as well .

I hope they keep doing that. Keep em away from Australia, Europe etc..:pray:
I was talking about techies only. The Phd and masters students come under a different category in the visa cap.
no you are confused here...I had Masters degree and Had H1B. You are talking about J1, thats research Visa. L1 is different type of visa for those companies like TCS, Infosys, they bring plenty of ppl on L1, L1 is temporary visa, if they have to ever apply for Green Card they should convert it to H1B
nahi yaar...Both techies and masters come under H1B only but the caps to them are different. IIRC masters were 20K and Techies and other employees applied under a different cap of 65K. The software companies mostly make use of this visa to get cheap labour in the US. My previous company heavily applied for it.

>>nahi yaar...Both techies and masters come under H1B only but the caps to them are different. IIRC masters were 20K and Techies and other employees applied under a different cap of 65K The master student had 20K reserved out of 65K. But it was always H1B.

Masters/Phds have 20k exclusive AND if it runs out, then they fall into 65K cap. But i don't know why you are bringing cap issue here, the point is both are H1b visas, with exactly same rules and regulations.

>>nahi yaar...Both techies and masters come under H1B only but the caps to them are different. IIRC masters were 20K and Techies and other employees applied under a different cap of 65K The master student had 20K reserved out of 65K. But it was always H1B.
I dont know if the 20K came under the 65K or above it, but my point was mainly for techies.

>Your friend is right about the labour cost thing. H1B is more about low cost of labour than high skills. The L1 visas are for the highly skilled employees and there is strict filtering now happening for this visa, whereas H1Bs getting rejected are fairly rare for employees of reputed companies here you are totally wrong.. L1 visas are for temporary visa where you can bring your employee from another country to work on clients site. Infosys, TCS thrive on this visa type.

Masters/Phds have 20k exclusive AND if it runs out' date=' then they fall into 65K cap. But i don't know why you are bringing cap issue here, the point is both are H1b visas, with exactly same rules and regulations.[/quote'] Like I said, I was only talking about techies who apply under the general cap. That is used mostly by Indian service companies to bring in people who will work for less, not extraordinarily skilled people.