Hey guys! Hope everyone is doing well. I just wanted to get your advice on how to deal with this situation I have going on. Everyone has been real helpful in the past so I thought I'd give it another shot. Found this awesome company doing work that is really cool (Control systems with Digital circuits, work in LabVIEW, FPGAs). It's a startup company, so only 10 employees, and they are hiring. Their ad went up on August 19, and I applied August 22. I've been waiting for a call back from them since. When I called them last week, they said the hiring process was being handled by their president, and he was on vacation and getting in the next week. It's since been about 3-4 days. In the meantime, I was approached by a recruiter for this exact same position! I told him that I applied individually for the job, and he said that wouldn't be a problem and he would present my case to him. Haven't heard from him for 5 days. My question to you folks, should I e-mail the president directly and introduce myself? In this e-mail I could explain my qualifications, express interest in the company, and see what the deal is with my application. Pros: It shows some initiative, and might make me stand out a little bit Cons: Could completely weird out the president. Could seem like I'm jumping the queue, not waiting in line like all the others who have applied already. And I could also seem like a cheat to the recruiter. I know I'm getting a little anxious, but I really want to see what is going on with my application! What do you guys think? PS: I am a new grad with 16 months work experience through co-op placements

If you were already dealing with that 'president' then, you just need to send a followup/reminder on status of your candidature, while expressing your keenness on joining and enthusiasm about their work. Keep it short and wait for his reply.

Dude' date=' if u r in delhi, and dont have a job, send ur resume to me. [b']My dad is running a construction company and he is recruiting people. He may hire u if i recommend u. pm me for more details.
:WTF: Did you even care to search the meaning for FPGA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! In case you missed other keywords - "Control systems with Digital circuits"
Allright dude, i just wanted to help him.

^^ I am sure you had the right intentions. No doubt about it. But wo kahavat suni hai - बेवक़ूफ़ दोस्त से समझदार दुश्मन भला Ab isko bhi dil pe mat le lena

As long as you dont sound like despo trying to buy cocaine off the black-market, it is perfectly ok to reach out to people in a courteous, professional manner. The worst they can do is it ignore you, whose outcome is exactly the same as you not reaching out to them at all, in the first place.

If you were already dealing with that 'president' then, you just need to send a followup/reminder on status of your candidature, while expressing your keenness on joining and enthusiasm about their work. Keep it short and wait for his reply.
Hey Akshay, Yaar I phoned and talked to someone else who was a technical person, but definitely not the president. I haven't spoken to the president yet, but I think I might have to!
Allright dude' date=' i just wanted to help him.[/quote'] Hey blue panther, thanks a lot man! Unfortunately I'm not in delhi, but in Canada. Maybe if I move there though :)
As long as you dont sound like despo trying to buy cocaine off the black-market, it is perfectly ok to reach out to people in a courteous, professional manner. The worst they can do is it ignore you, whose outcome is exactly the same as you not reaching out to them at all, in the first place.
Hey Ram! Long time no talk man, hope you're doing great. The thing is I have already applied through their website....hope he doesn't think I'm some punk that's trying to suck up to him by e-mailing him and jumping the queue.
Hey dude, I am doing just fine. How have you been? :) Its ok if you have applied through their website. You can actually reference that in your e-mail saying that you had already applied thru the company website, but also wanted to get in touch directly. Again the key word is being 'Professional'. As long as you dont spam their inboxes, or leave a 1000 voicemails, its perfectly ok to contact people for polite inquiries.
But you ARE a punk trying to suck up to him and jumping the queue. :dontknow: The thing is , there is nothing wrong with it. You can do far worse things than that.

lol pk yaar i might be a punk, but I ain't never sucked up to anybody to my life. And yes I am jumping the queue....but I can't really wait anymore. I turned down 3 jobs in 3 months over the summer, got turned down by another company I really liked. This one seems to be another good opportunity.... PS: Should really reword my last post and take out the suck up part...I don't think that's sucking up

Dude you are far too young to start thinking whether can do or not. Trust me you will make far worse decisions in your career and life down the line. Go for it. Whats worse that can happen? They/he wont get back to you. Thats the situation anyways, isnt it?

Just email him and inform him that u had applied bla bla bla and also mention the reason for contacting him is that an agent is suggesting that you should apply via him. Im sure he will reply since small business owners try and save money wherever they can :--D I can bet 1 gazallion ICF$ that he will reply with at least " will get in touch with you and no u have already applied so no agent is required"

Hey Akshay, Yaar I phoned and talked to someone else who was a technical person, but definitely not the president. I haven't spoken to the president yet, but I think I might have to!
Follow up as many times as you wish with whoever was point of contact... As others said, you are too young to be thinking so much. Still if you want to be safe, just don't ask around with each and everyone you interacted with. Not that it will hamper your chances significantly.. but most likely you will be leg-pulled over that for long time, in case you get through.