akshayxyz Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 ^ I disagree... even for a core2 duo 1GB is too low, from here on additional 2GB will see a significant boost in performance. And combine it with tweaked system - the machine can serve well for all the normal use for long long time. SJ - don't rush into buying new laptop. What are your typical usecases - what made you feel to go for upgrade? - any particular application, if its just browsing and word/doc apps, and simple gaming, movie watching.. then you are on right track.. external hard disk + additional 2GB RAM would be most cost effective upgrade to your current state. And if your system can utilize 4GB (looking at ur config, it is very unlikely), then only upgrade to 4GB.
akshayxyz Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 Also - it is quite possible that you might get 4GB memory for lesser (or similar) price than 2GB - in that case go ahead with 4 and let your system use whatever can.
Holysmoke Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 ^ I disagree... even for a core2 duo 1GB is too low, from here on additional 2GB will see a significant boost in performance. And combine it with tweaked system - the machine can serve well for all the normal use for long long time. SJ - don't rush into buying new laptop. What are your typical usecases - what made you feel to go for upgrade? - any particular application, if its just browsing and word/doc apps, and simple gaming, movie watching.. then you are on right track.. external hard disk + additional 2GB RAM would be most cost effective upgrade to your current state. And if your system can utilize 4GB (looking at ur config, it is very unlikely), then only upgrade to 4GB. His system is not a core 2 duo. The Pentium Dual-Core brand was used for mainstream x86-architecture microprocessors from Intel from 2006 to 2009 when it was renamed to Pentium.
akshayxyz Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 ok - I misread that, but even then - if one is not doing any computationally intensive tasks/apps.. then dual-core is good enough for typical home use. And RAM upgrade is most logical and rewarding investment, as the immediate step. And yes, if you have throw-away money - go ahead for higher end machine. From my experience: Pentium M from 1GB to 2GB - helped. - (running XP/Fedora) Dual-core from 2GB to 3.2GB, helped significantly. (running winXP/win7!!) i7 from 4GB to 8GB, helped significantly - (running win7 64 bit). And for typical home use cases - browsing, word, movies, 2D games - etal, the lesser endowed systems are still working well.
urbestfriend Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 Most likely you are using 32 bit machine' date= so 4GB wont be utilized fully on your machine... only ~3.2GB will be usable.. so better add on only 2GB chip (overall 3GB) - if your system supports 2 slots. Even with that you will see significant boost. As for HDD, I would suggest 160 is good enough, just take the external portable HDD. in terms of cost per unit 1TB will be cheaper. Also I have heard that, after recent floods in Bangakok/ChinkiArea.... these components have become costlier, and 500GB is more affected than 1TB prices. Not true, a 32bit OS can map to 4GB, both windows and linux support it.
urbestfriend Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 ^ No it cant Are you saying 3.2 GB physical memory is used and remaining can't be used?
akshayxyz Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 Not true' date=' a 32bit OS can map to 4GB, both windows and linux support it.[/quote'] As you already might be knowing - There are two levels - first the hardware has to support it - .. for 32 bit systems, it must have PAE (physical address extension) - which SJ's system seems to have. Next level is, OS - for Linux, default 32 bit kernels are not shipped with 'pae' enabled - so one has to install the ones with 'pae' suffix... and something similar for 32 bit windows. When I tried, I installed the pae kernel too, and yet it was not recognizing all of 4GB.. (on fedora), I must have missed some setting/module. And even on windows (32 bit XP), after following handful of tutorials - I gave up ( and I do not give up soon). Now, you can imagine how much of a headache it would be for a non-techie home user...hence I kept it simple by saying - it won't support.
urbestfriend Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 ^ May be you're right! But I thought PAE is to use memory beyond 4GB ( all though user space virtual memory is still 4GB). All recent intel processors are PAE enabled.
Sir john Posted November 8, 2011 Author Posted November 8, 2011 Am a gamer.purchasing a laptop i cant afford.suggest me guys.
akshayxyz Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 ^ May be you're right! But I thought PAE is to use memory beyond 4GB ( all though user space virtual memory is still 4GB). All recent intel processors are PAE enabled. ^even I thought that and is theoretically correct (2^32)..., that is why I happily bought 4GB RAM w/o reading about it, and the OS (even BIOS) was showing about 3.2GB...so unless it was somehow using 800MB behind the scenes - without showing it, it was practically unused.
akshayxyz Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 Am a gamer.purchasing a laptop i cant afford.suggest me guys. Kaunsa game khelta hai?.. some game which is already working on ur laptop, will work better with RAM upgrade.. but if you are looking for some latest stuff.. then mostly NO or work very slowly or at low frame rates.. [Most of the popular games have option to bring down the framerate, and few other settings to suit a bit older machines]
akshayxyz Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 @SJ - since your options are already limited by your budget - it is easy choice.
Sir john Posted November 9, 2011 Author Posted November 9, 2011 Game like operation flashpoint-dragon rising and operation flashpoint red river..i have xp sp2.bought red river but dont haue xp sp3,which i dont have.
Sir john Posted November 9, 2011 Author Posted November 9, 2011 @aaku kya xp sp3 ka juagaad ho sakta hai. :nervous:
Yoda-esque Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 ^Aaku ko kyon pooch rahe ho?Voh kya Dilli ki Don hai?
Sir john Posted November 9, 2011 Author Posted November 9, 2011 ^:WTF: aaku is very helpful always for me.
Aaku Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 @aaku kya xp sp3 ka juagaad ho sakta hai. :nervous: Nehru place hi pata karo!! wahaan sab mileyga :D ager nahi mila tou i ll ask koi aur jagah ho tou :nice:
Yoda-esque Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 Nehru place hi pata karo!! wahaan sab mileyga :D ager nahi mila tou i ll ask koi aur jagah ho tou :nice: Dilli ki Don