beetle Posted April 22, 2012 Posted April 22, 2012 I don't care about IPL or the teams.It is a tamasha and the teams are owned by money bags who I couldn't give a damn about.I just want to see my favorite players like Dravid and Ganguly play.This is the only time we will get to see them.Enjoy their batting ,captaincy,fielding fumbles and hilarious runouts. It is a tamasha....enjoy it like one.:--D :band::band:
CSK Fan Posted April 22, 2012 Posted April 22, 2012 lol Bangaloreans dont involve in taking cheapshots at a legend to show support to another... I can even write some thing else but we will leave it here only So its just a huge co-incidence that 90% of Dada and SRT detractors are both huge Dravid fans and from Karnataka/Bangalore? :cantstop:
straighttalk Posted April 22, 2012 Posted April 22, 2012 I don't care about IPL or the teams.It is a tamasha and the teams are owned by money bags who I couldn't give a damn about.I just want to see my favorite players like Dravid and Ganguly play.This is the only time we will get to see them.Enjoy their batting ,captaincy,fielding fumbles and hilarious runouts. It is a tamasha....enjoy it like one.:--D :band::band: lol ur copying the same post everywhere...but i am watching ipl for these two gentlemen..would love them to play in the finals..ud be awesome fun...
beetle Posted April 22, 2012 Posted April 22, 2012 lol ur copying the same post everywhere...but i am watching ipl for these two gentlemen..would love them to play in the finals..ud be awesome fun... true...mazaa aa jaega....:dance:
straighttalk Posted April 22, 2012 Posted April 22, 2012 Thanks. The appreciation is mutual. For all the names I get called here on ICF, it's pleasing to read kind words from good postesr. I don't look at it that way. Lets look at their wins one by one. 1. Mumbai Indians, Wankhede - Due to bowling, but lets bear in mind that the pitch was abrasive. They exploited the conditions and fair enough. It was also a blunder to promote Wayne Parnell at No. 3 on the captain's part. 2. Kings XI Punjab, Pune - 166 is more than a decent total especially against the a weak KXP batting line up. They almost batted KXP out of the game here. 3. Kings XI Punjab, Mohali - Definite batting fail but bear in mind they should've made a better first of it had the team combination been correct. 8 batsmen on a bowling friendly wicket with Alfonso Thomas in the reserves was really a tactical error. 4. Chennai Super Kings, Pune - The bowling did pretty good but the chase derailed in between but was handled by a smart promotion of Steven Smith up the order. Again, the bowlers did well but so did the batsmen. The team combination seemed really good. 5. Royal Challengers Bangalore, Bangalore - You can't blame the batting here definitely. The bowling derailed in the last 2 overs but this is T20. 2 overs is 10% of one innings. This was the only time their bowling was put under real pressure and Ashish Nehra lost it. 6. Chennai Super Kings, Chennai - Mind you they still did score 150 runs but it was a batting fail as you suggest. Again, the issue was the batting but it wasn't the ideal team combination considering you have Steven Smith performing well. 7. Delhi Daredevils, Delhi - Since Dinda doesn't play Ganguly is forced to make a team combination change. I think this is the best team. Infact there's a clear clase for Angelo Matthews to be dropped and Dinda to be picked ahead of Matthews, if fit. In that case, you can also go for Callum Fergusson or Luke Wright for Mithun Manhas based on the pitch. Trust me, this should've been the combination ever since the second game. Even agains RCB! This is where I feel Ganguly makes some tactical errors which neutralizes his great management skills In a nutshell, I don't think it's the batting or bowling which is affecting PWI. It's the team combination. It's difficult to get this combination but I believe it could have been reached earlier than the 7th game. So yes, I stand corrected on my earlier statement about the bowling. Here's my stand on some points you have raised. Is he in for the money? IDK. If you push me for an answer, I would justify with his decision to increase his base price. This is not to say he doesn't love the game. He's a professional cricketer and he earns from it and that's that. Lets not say he isn't for the money. If he's receiving 400,000 USD he is in for the money along with his love for the game. So both exists - not just money but not only passion either. The thing about Ganguly is that he always gives an impression that he digs a hole for himself and then carves a niche to come out. Yes, it looks like glory but personally to me it's just cricket and that's that. Again, personal opinion. I can understand fans being fond of this comeback attitude. Finally, I rate his captaincy a touch above average. It sometimes tends to get hyped by the fans where the obvious negatives are lost. Even if the team's winning, one must be objective because this game has a funny way to bite back. Just an example, I am only using it for reference purposes. Scenario 1 - Vettori in RCB vs CSK Virat Kohli goes for 30 runs an over and Vettori is blamed for it. Scenario 2- Ganguly in PWI vs RCB Nehra goes for 21 runs in the last over and Nehra is blamed for it. Somewhere amongst these two scenarios I see people miss objectivity. Ganguly is not be blamed for Ashish Nehra but so wasn't Vettori. The best would be to reverse the scenarios and think if one would've still blamed Ganguly. In some cases, it goes up to the point where everything what Ganguly does is correct. Surely, that can't be the case. No one's perfect, neither me , you, Ganguly or Tendulkar for that matter of fact. The issue with me is when people make the game take a backseat and let players hog the limelight. Players definitely deserve their share of glory but it has to be objective and be earned. As far as I'm concerned, Ganguly was always not a good cricketing tactician but a good manager. He continues to prove me correct during his charge at PWI as well as for two seasons at KKR. He has certain innate leadership qualities but personally I would want much more as a captain. :cheers: Have a good evening! i think the analysis of the matches..we are looking at the same thing in two different ways. Both are correct and we can't really debate on it. But including Thomas weakens the batting as asides from Uthappa, the other indian players like gnaguly, pandey and mithun manhas are not really performing. agreed dinda, nehra, alfonso, kartik/rahul sharma isa good bowling attack but u cant really play 5 bowlers in a t20 match...thats risky. about his comeback and all, people who support dada supports him for sentimental reasons. And you being a neutral, dissect him for cricketing reasons and I will agree his fitness and age leaves lot to be desired. His SR is low and he looks unathletic. Why was Vettori pilloried and not Ganguly? That is because you do not give a part timer to bowl the 19th over? You give your best bowler that option. Ganguly gave his 19th over to Dinda and 20th to the most experienced bowler in his lineup- He failed mostly due to ABDVs heroics. Hence the blame is on Nehra -bcos it was his job to bowl the last overs and he failed. Kohli's job is to play as a batsman not bowl the 19th over..his captain made him do that.
Crookbond Posted April 22, 2012 Posted April 22, 2012 i think the analysis of the matches..we are looking at the same thing in two different ways. Both are correct and we can't really debate on it. But including Thomas weakens the batting as asides from Uthappa, the other indian players like gnaguly, pandey and mithun manhas are not really performing. agreed dinda, nehra, alfonso, kartik/rahul sharma isa good bowling attack but u cant really play 5 bowlers in a t20 match...thats risky. On the contrary with Ganguly not performing well, Angelo Matthews should be replaced by Luke Wright. So now you have 7 batsmen and 5 bowlers. about his comeback and all, people who support dada supports him for sentimental reasons. And you being a neutral, dissect him for cricketing reasons and I will agree his fitness and age leaves lot to be desired. His SR is low and he looks unathletic. I really appreciate that you understand my point of view. Thanks for putting up with me. :two_thumbs_up: Why was Vettori pilloried and not Ganguly? That is because you do not give a part timer to bowl the 19th over? You give your best bowler that option. Ganguly gave his 19th over to Dinda and 20th to the most experienced bowler in his lineup- He failed mostly due to ABDVs heroics. Hence the blame is on Nehra -bcos it was his job to bowl the last overs and he failed. Kohli's job is to play as a batsman not bowl the 19th over..his captain made him do that. The only option Vettori had was B Kumar and he went for 35 runs in his two overs. Kohli bowled the previous over for just 10 runs. So, Vettori didn't have options and hence, it was a bit strict to blame him IMHO. You feel otherwise and I respect that POV. :cheers:
Vijay.Sharma Posted April 23, 2012 Posted April 23, 2012 One thing I don't understand is that why hardcore Dravid fans (mostly from South) have so much hate against this guy ??!??!??!??!? Who said southies dont like Dada?
Vijay.Sharma Posted April 23, 2012 Posted April 23, 2012 Absolutely agree. My appreciation and respect for Dada is more than any other indian player. and yeah.. i'm from TN Its mostly Bangalorean who in order to show their support for RD try to put down DadaAnother uninformed opinion. Dada has great fans in Bangalore. Even Rahul doesn't have the following of Dada in Paradise City. Here, like in almost all places of India, the first icon is Sachin, then comes Jumbo then comes Dada and only then Rahul
Needforspeed Posted April 23, 2012 Posted April 23, 2012 I cant understand the logic here...that if u are a Dravid fan, you cant be a dada fan and vice-versa. Both the guys are national heroes in their own way. Dravid's contribution has been immense, but the greatest thing about dada was that he brought in a kind of self-respect and swagger to the Indian team. When he took over as captain, Indian cricket was in a mess, post Azhar and match fixing etc. He truly turned the Indian team into Team India. Kumble, Dravid, Ganguly, Sachin....all these guys have been great for Indian cricket and as Indian Cricket fans we should salute them all. Whats the need to choose between them?
Vijay.Sharma Posted April 23, 2012 Posted April 23, 2012 So its just a huge co-incidence that 90% of Dada and SRT detractors are both huge Dravid fans and from Karnataka/Bangalore? :cantstop:I dunno how u came up with that 90% figure. If there are 20 ppl on ICF itself from Bangalore, you are already wrong - three names that are originally from Paradise City and big time Sachin fans (and perhaps Rahul and Dada fans too (at least I am)) are BossBhai, Flamy, and yours truly
Needforspeed Posted April 23, 2012 Posted April 23, 2012 I dunno how u came up with that 90% figure. If there are 20 ppl on ICF itself from Bangalore' date=' you are already wrong - three names that are originally from Paradise City and big time Sachin fans (and perhaps Rahul and Dada fans too (at least I am)) are BossBhai, Flamy, and yours truly[/quote'] I think the 90% figure came from the dada hating posts of Dum Dum as he does 90% posting on any dada related thread..:winky:
bulbul Posted April 23, 2012 Author Posted April 23, 2012 I cant understand the logic here...that if u are a Dravid fan, you cant be a dada fan and vice-versa. Both the guys are national heroes in their own way. Dravid's contribution has been immense, but the greatest thing about dada was that he brought in a kind of self-respect and swagger to the Indian team. When he took over as captain, Indian cricket was in a mess, post Azhar and match fixing etc. He truly turned the Indian team into Team India. Kumble, Dravid, Ganguly, Sachin....all these guys have been great for Indian cricket and as Indian Cricket fans we should salute them all. Whats the need to choose between them? who is chosing? first of all people shouldnt have brought this argument here in IPl..what the so called "Haterz" like me saying purely about IPl and perticulerly this season..suddenly one match Dada performed and some people started to call all the "haters" are from perticuler place and they comment because they are all Dravid fans.. if people cant differentiate between IPL and International matches cant help
bulbul Posted April 23, 2012 Author Posted April 23, 2012 I think the 90% figure came from the dada hating posts of Dum Dum as he does 90% posting on any dada related thread..:winky:
Vijay.Sharma Posted April 23, 2012 Posted April 23, 2012 yaake saar? Anyway u are the ultimate spammer here so feel happy that u are being recognized
bulbul Posted April 23, 2012 Author Posted April 23, 2012 yaake saar? Anyway u are the ultimate spammer here so feel happy that u are being recognized illa saaar...it will take more tahn 10 years to beat SJ but you tell me..how does dada performed in this IPL before last match :winky:
Vijay.Sharma Posted April 23, 2012 Posted April 23, 2012 illa saaar...it will take more tahn 10 years to beat SJ but you tell me..how does dada performed in this IPL before last match :winky:Like my colleague said when I questioned him after PWI lost to us the other night - Me: "kya yaar aap ke Dada ki toh band bajaadi hum ne?" Colleague: "Hey...Dada is the leader...he will only lead...there are 10 others to play!" And that my friend is the true story of Dada. Dada is a leader...he is not as tactically good as Rahul or Dhoni and he is not as statesmanlike as Kumble. But Dada is an inspirational leader. He can make average players perform above themselves. Pune have signed up Dada not for his playing skills but his leadership qualities. Dada works on instinct and he can inspire others around him to do it. He fights with his limited skill. He fights! Pune's turnaround is coz of Dada's leadership. Just imagine where Pune woulda been had Yuvi been leading them.
bulbul Posted April 23, 2012 Author Posted April 23, 2012 Like my colleague said when I questioned him after PWI lost to us the other night - Me: "kya yaar aap ke Dada ki toh band bajaadi hum ne?" Colleague: "Hey...Dada is the leader...he will only lead...there are 10 others to play!" And that my friend is the true story of Dada. Dada is a leader...he is not as tactically good as Rahul or Dhoni and he is not as statesmanlike as Kumble. But Dada is an inspirational leader. He can make average players perform above themselves. Pune have signed up Dada not for his playing skills but his leadership qualities. Dada works on instinct and he can inspire others around him to do it. He fights with his limited skill. He fights! Pune's turnaround is coz of Dada's leadership. Just imagine where Pune woulda been had Yuvi been leading them. except for the First and last match i dont know how Dadajee inspired his team :dontknow:
mysterio86 Posted April 23, 2012 Posted April 23, 2012 except for the First and last match i dont know how Dadajee inspired his team :dontknow: I have never heard a more retar+ed statement than above just to justify some stupid personal notions. How he inspired them - by forcing them to eat his **** while he their eat and Hence Team Bonding. :finger:
Vijay.Sharma Posted April 23, 2012 Posted April 23, 2012 except for the First and last match i dont know how Dadajee inspired his team :dontknow:Not all of it appears conspicuous and/or prominent. You see the difference in the results. Man to man Pune is probably just as good as Punjab or Dakkans and shouldn't have won as many games as they have. But still they managed to win... when the Pune players themselves say that Dada is the reason for the way the individuals perform then you must give weight to their confessions/revelations.