Former BJP chief Bangaru Laxman convicted for taking bribe, taken into custody

Former BJP chief Bangaru Laxman convicted for taking bribe, taken into custody NEW DELHI: Former BJP president Bangaru Laxman has been convicted, 11 years after he was caught on camera allegedly taking bribe in a sting operation. A special CBI court here held Bangaru guilty of accepting Rs 1 lakh bribe in 2001 and convicted him under the Prevention of Corruption Act. The court of special CBI judge Kanwaljeet Arora sent Bangaru into judicial custody soon after convicting him. The former BJP chief was taken into custody immediately after the court order. He will be produced before the court on Saturday when the quantum of sentence in the case will be pronounced. According to TV reports, the CBI will press for maximum punishment of five years against him. Earlier, the court had on April 2 reserved its order in the case. The corruption charges were framed against Bangaru Laxman in May 2011. The case dates back to 2001, when Tehelka.com carried out "Operation Westend", a sting that exposed the scandal. It has alleged that Laxman was caught on camera receiving money from an undercover journalist, posing as an arms dealer. He later resigned as the BJP chief. Tehelka released the sting CDs allegedly showing Laxman accepting money for awarding a contract to a fictitious Britian-based company M/s West End International, for the supply of hand-held thermal imagers to the Indian Army. The Central Bureau of Investigation in its charge sheet alleged that Laxman accepted Rs 1 lakh from the representatives of the purported firm in 2001 at his office for pursuing their proposal to supply certain products to the army. "Tehelka portal scribes, impersonating as representatives of West End International, had held eight meetings with Laxman between Dec 23, 2000 and Jan 7, 2001, projecting themselves as suppliers of defence-related products," said the charge sheet. Immediately after the judgement, the Congress targeted the BJP. Congress leader Manish tiwari said the BJP should introspect after the verdict. (With inputs from IANS) http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Former-BJP-chief-Bangaru-Laxman-convicted-for-taking-bribe-taken-into-custody/articleshow/12894886.cms

Oh My god. Really?? BJP never does corrpution, all its leaders are Raja Harischandra follower. This must be a pink conspiracy to malign the party that is held in most esteem........ .......by Indians outside India.

Bangaru Laxman was expelled from party 11 years ago and still not a member of BJPhow can this be an attempt to malign a party to which he is not even a member. :hmmm:

Operation West End: The Bangaru Laxman Tape

lsuUIRiVlsU

A story of how the suitcase people are compromising Indian defence: "We at Tehelka.com managed to sell the Lepage 90, the ALION and the Krueger 3000 to the Indian defence establishment - ostensibly fourth generation hand-held thermal cameras and, needless to add, non-existent." Read the full story: http://www.tehelka.com/channels/Investigation/investigation1.htm "The cast of characters nailed by Operation West End is stellar. At the very apex, the BJP President Bangaru Laxman, who took a one lakh token bribe to facilitate West End's prospects. In a revealing meeting, he waited expectantly for another $30,000, which never came, because we never had them.." --Tarun Tejpal in "Sleaze, senseless greed and dirty heroes" http://www.tehelka.com/channels/Investigation/tarun.htm Video Transcript Excerpt: TEHELKA: Sir, this is a small gift...small gift. BANGARU LAXMAN: Oh, no, no... TEHELKA: It's a small gift for the New Year party. Right? [Frame again shifts towardsBangaru Laxman] [bangaru Laxman opens the drawer, takes money from Tehelka reporter and puts it away] TEHELKA: New Year party fund, hain? One lakh rupee, hain? [Pause] TEHELKA: So what time can I call my boss here? BANGARU LAXMAN: Tomorrow...hmm... [Tehelka reporter's mobile phone rings] BANGARU LAXMAN: ...Five o'clock. TEHELKA: Yeah, in five o'clock. In here? TEHELKA: And then...rupee. BANGARU LAXMAN: When do you...? TEHELKA: Tomorrow. Rupee or dollar? BANGARU LAXMAN: Dollars. You can give dollars. TEHELKA: Okay. We can give you dollars. Sir, we need your blessing. BANGARU LAXMAN: Okay. TEHELKA: Okay. I will not take Mr. R.K. Gupta to.... I can come directly to you. Anytime I need I will make appointment with Mr Satyamurthy. Okay? [bangaru Laxman rises. They shake hands.]

Operation West End and the Conviction of Bangaru Laxman - April 27, 2012

qCDs0O4SOvw&feature=plcp

"We don't see this as a victory because the investigation and the story was not really done against an enemy. We do see it as a vindication however because at that time, apart from the findings of the story, the real scandal was the reaction of the political establishment to the story. They reacted with rage, anger, with a storm of false propaganda against Tehelka, a witch-hunt that shut Tehelka down." "We stated then and we state again now that we had absolutely no personal agenda against any individual or even any political dispensation. At that time and even now, we continue to say, that our exposure was about systemic corruption in defense procurement. Our desire was to create systemic checks and balances and that repeatedly we asserted that the cast of characters who happen to be caught on camera were in a sense incidental because if the time changed, the political dispensation changed, in many ways there would be another cast of characters possibly caught in the same circumstances because the corruption was endemic and systemic." Read more about Operation West End and the conviction of Bangaru Laxman on: http://www.tehelka.com/story_main52.asp?filename=Ws270412lexman_Landing.asp

"For the BJP, chickens have come to roost and unfortunately, they have come rather early. Those who raised the bogey of Bofors, a matter which been conclusively determined judiciously, should today introspect about their six years in government, and start living by the age old adage that those who live in glass houses do not throw stones at others,"
"BJP has been making and will continue to make such history and also continue to hide,"
"I would have then accepted that BJP's character and conduct is right. But when you rake up a 25-year-old issue in which there is no truth and and hide something which is real, this clearly shows BJP's double standards in politics,"
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Bangarus-conviction-exposes-BJPs-double-standards-Congress/articleshow/12898576.cms
So remind me again, where do you live?? As you stated quite clearly in another thread that when you visit India...... etc etc. You do not live in India! This is clear! So where do you reside now. Stop this slandering of indians who do not live in India!!! AS YOU ARE NRI! Stop pretending you live in India you fraudester and then hammering those who dont.
Bangaru Laxman was expelled from party 11 years ago and still not a member of BJPhow can this be an attempt to malign a party to which he is not even a member.
Arre Khalpat bhai how does one become the chief of a party that proclaims itself to be the cleanest of them all, and then gets caught ghoos lete huye? Do you truly think it was his first offence, or that this man (atleast at the time) was not being paraded around the country how BJP had widespread popularity and not only limited to its typical Gujarat-Rajasthan-MP troika??

Convicted for taking Rs 1 lakh as bribe from ... pathetic. Should have learnt from Kangresis how to digest 17400000 Lakhs without even taking hajmola ..

"We don't see this as a victory because the investigation and the story was not really done against an enemy. We do see it as a vindication however because at that time, apart from the findings of the story, the real scandal was the reaction of the political establishment to the story. They reacted with rage, anger, with a storm of false propaganda against Tehelka, a witch-hunt that shut Tehelka down." "We stated then and we state again now that we had absolutely no personal agenda against any individual or even any political dispensation. At that time and even now, we continue to say, that our exposure was about systemic corruption in defense procurement. Our desire was to create systemic checks and balances and that repeatedly we asserted that the cast of characters who happen to be caught on camera were in a sense incidental because if the time changed, the political dispensation changed, in many ways there would be another cast of characters possibly caught in the same circumstances because the corruption was endemic and systemic." Read more about Operation West End and the conviction of Bangaru Laxman on: http://www.tehelka.com/story_main52.asp?filename=Ws270412lexman_Landing.asp
This Kangresi was only other day supporting Manu Singhvi who was caught on camera with his pants down. Earlier this hypocritical ***** was against sting operations carried out by S.Kulkarni of BJP on cash for votes.

He got four years imprisonment. There is some justice after all. :hatsoff: I wonder why it took so long (10 years) for CBI to develop a case against him!

what about other greedy leaders who are exploiting India cbi is sell out of congress
The classic retarted internet response. instead of being glad that a corrupt person is punished, one has to look at his party and make such remarks Each and every corrupt person should be caught and hanged. I will rejoice equally if a congress corrupt person is caught

1 Lakh shouldn't even qualify as corruption, especially since most of these guys exchange 1000 crores. It's insulting to Politicians across the country.