randomGuy Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 Narendra Modi's 'Wife' Accepts Being Ignored Modi kept the wedding secret because it meant he would not be able to climb the ladder of the puritan Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh (RSS), that frowns on key workers marrying, according to a recent Modi biography by author Nilanjan Mukhopadhyay. http://www.indiatimes.com/news/more-from-india/narendra-modis-wife-accepts-being-ignored-126184.html Besides pleasing RSS, he may have kept it secret so he freely put price tags on other people's girlfriends.
seedhi Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 Narendra Modi was married as a child to the lady. Under Indian law, a child marriage is void anyway. Their separation was amicable.
randomGuy Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 How Narendra Modi pocketed former Advani aide Venkaiah Naidu: How to Win Cronies in Politics - Modi style : Truth Of Gujarat The area of 600 million square meter of land was rented away by the Government of Gujarat at the rate of just 15 paise per annum! : : It has now been realized that the Archian Company belonged to the family of Venkaiah Naidu and that was the reason for giving away 600 million square meter of virtually free Government land. http://www.truthofgujarat.com/narendra-modi-pocketed-former-advani-aide-venkaiah-naidu-win-cronies-politics-modi-style/
scorpio90 Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 Child marriage is voidable if either bride or groom desires so. The same media who never wanted to question Tharoor or his past life, the same media who has never questioned either IG or recently SG about their past life, have been going to interview NaMoji's wife, even though she has not shown any inclination to come forward and tell her story. Media has never questioned Karunanidhi, Shri Sharadchandraraoji Pawar about multiple marriages (although it is illegal according to the constitution). It is indeed sad to see the old lady who has already went through a tough life, being subjected to such questioning at this age. In the Indian milieu it is even more discomforting when your married life is being discussed in front of your grand-children. On the other hand Modi will emerge stronger after this interview with his wife. His character as an upright individual is reinforced. He didnt want to be in that marriage and social customs dictated that he couldnt divorce her. At the same time, he didnt consummate the marriage nor had a gala time as long as it lasted.
seedhi Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 This is what the lady Jashodaben says: We married when I was 17… I had quit studies once I went to his place and remember him saying he wanted me to pursue my education. He would mostly talk to me about completing my education. ............ When I came to Vadnagar to live with his family, he told me “why did you come to your in-laws’ house when you are still so young, you must instead focus on pursuing your studies”. ......... I just wish that he progresses in whatever he does. I know he will become PM one day! http://indianexpress.com/article/cities/ahmedabad/i-like-to-read-about-him-modi-i-know-he-will-become-pm/ Firstly, she is really graceful and dignified. Secondly, it is also amazing to note that someone like Narendra Modi who was born into disadvantaged circumstances and had to sell tea to make ends meet for his family, placed such importance on her education, that too in the 1960s.
Crookbond Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 http://www.truthofgujarat.com/narendra-modi-pocketed-former-advani-aide-venkaiah-naidu-win-cronies-politics-modi-style/ Is the recent SC judgment about oil refineries posted in this thread? The SC has made some interesting comments about the Gujarat govt.
seedhi Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 SC rejects Essar Oil’s plea to extend time to pay tax dues to Gujarat The Supreme Court today dismissed the plea of Essar Oil seeking extension of time for paying outstanding sales tax dues to Gujarat as the state government was not agreeable to the submission. A bench of justices A K Patnaik and J S Khehar said, "We could have done something but the state government is not agreeing." The bench also rejected the submission of senior advocate Mukul Rohatgi, appearing for Essar Oil Ltd, that the hearing be adjourned for four weeks. Rohatgi cited a newspaper report to drive home the point that the oil firm has not been given any concession or benefit as accorded to other companies by Rajasthan government. "It would be a catastrophe. There are nearly 10,000 employees working in the refinery. This is the only refinery in the country which has not received any incentive or concession," Rohatgi said, adding that he was not seeking any rescheduling of repayment of outstanding sales tax dues. Senior advocate Parag Tripathi, appearing for Gujarat Government, said that he was not agreeable to any extension of time to the oil firm. .............. The apex court's order was passed after the company sought at least three years time to pay the dues. The Gujarat government had sought the payment of dues within six months. http://www.firstpost.com/business/sc-rejects-essar-oils-plea-to-extend-time-to-pay-tax-dues-to-gujarat-1222685.html
Yoda-esque Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 This is what the lady Jashodaben says: Firstly, she is really graceful and dignified. Secondly, it is also amazing to note that someone like Narendra Modi who was born into disadvantaged circumstances and had to sell tea to make ends meet for his family, placed such importance on her education, that too in the 1960s. :hatsoff:
Crookbond Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 Land deal cleared by Narendra Modi's minister arbitrary, says Supreme Court http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/tp-national/tp-newdelhi/gujarat-ministers-action-draws-supreme-court-flak/article5616276.ece It involves of a 36 acre land deal signed off by the CM office where it allows X pvt refinery to sell government land to Y. Anandi Ben Patel, widely seen as the next CM in Gujarat went ahead this arbitrary land deal despite recommendations by the Deputy Secretary and Principal Secretary of Land Revenue to the contrary. She wanted to make a "special case" for the deal. A PIL was filed and the SC has come down heavily on the Gujarat government, some relevant bits from the judgment. it is very clear that the respondent No. 4 had expressed their inability to develop the industry way back on 6.12.2008. The Collector was, therefore, expected to hold an enquiry and pass appropriate order. This was a power coupled with a duty. Public Interest requires that the disposal of the natural resources must be by a fair, transparent and equitable process such as an auction. The same having not been done, the State exchequer has suffered. the transfer of the land has been permitted because respondent No. 5 directly approached the Chief Minister and thereafter the Revenue Minister. It was submitted that such an act of making of a special case smacks of arbitrariness. In any case, he submitted that the Collector did not act in accordance with law at any point of time. Similarly, the order passed by the Government is not a reasoned order and is undoubtedly arbitrary It is strange that such a party had nothing to state before the Court. This is probably because it had already received its price after selling the land. The respondent No. 4 appeared to be very much disinterested in as much as even the sale documents were signed on their behalf by Mr. Nitin Patel, the Managing Director of Alumina. it was mandatory for the Collector at that stage itself to act under sub-Section 5of Section 89A to issue notice, conduct the necessary enquiry, determine the compensation and pass the order vesting the land in the State Government. It is very clear that Collector has done nothing of the kind. In any case he should have taken the necessary steps in accordance with law at least after receiving the letter dated 16.6.2009. Again he did not take any such steps. Thus in spite of the Secretaries repeating their advice, the Minister of Revenue Smt. Anandiben Patel has insisted on treating this case as a special case for which she has recorded no justifiable reasons whatsoever, and orders were issued accordingly. Besides, the present case is clearly a case of dictation by the State Government to the Collector. but certainly a positive case of a loss of a few crores by the public exchequer by not going for public auction of the concerned property. The minister's direction as seen from the record clearly indicates an arbitrary exercise of power. The minimum that was required was an enquiry at the level of the Collector who is the statutory authority. Dictating him to act in a particular manner on the assumption by the Minister that it is in the interest of the industrial development would lead to a breach of the mandate of the statute framed by the legislature. The Ministers are not expected to act in this manner and therefore, this particular route through the corridors of the Ministry, contrary to the statute, cannot be approved. The present case is clearly one of dereliction of his duties by the Collector and dictation by the Minister, showing nothing but arrogance of power. It was expected of the Government and the Revenue Minister to take cognizance of these apprehensions of the farmers as well as the statutory provisions brought to her notice by the secretaries. She has simply brushed aside the objections of the secretaries merely because the Chief Minister's secretary had written a letter, and because she was the minister concerned. While over-ruling the opinion of secretaries to the concerned department, the Minister was expected to give some reasons in support of the view she was taking. No such reason has come on record in her file notings. She has ignored that howsoever high you may be, the law is above you. Development should not be measured merely in terms of growth of gross domestic product, but it should be in terms of utility to the community and the society in general. There is a certain inbuilt wisdom in the statute which is the mandate of the legislature which represents the people. The Minister has clearly failed to pay respect to the same. http://www.advocatekhoj.com/library/judgments/announcement.php?WID=4396
Yoda-esque Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 http://indianexpress.com/article/opinion/columns/modi-goes-to-pakistan/
Crookbond Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 When I met her at the school, Jashodaben was as excited as a child and could not stop smiling. She expressed a desire to talk and tell her tale. But the principal of the school, Pravinkumar P Vyas, admonished her for talking to a journalist. “You will only talk to them after school hours. Now go back to your class,” Vyas told her. She pleaded, “Can I talk to her during the break? It will only take a few minutes.” But the principal was unrelenting. She left the room meekly, only to come back soon. She said,“I will not say anything against my husband. He is very powerful. This job is all I have to survive. I am afraid of the consequences.” She then went back to her classroom. Meanwhile, the principal had made a call from his mobile phone to inform somebody that Jashodaben had visitors. He then went to meet her in her classroom. After that, she became a dif*ferent person. She smiled no more, her excite*ment was gone and she looked nervous. She kept wringing her hands. When I approached her again, she screamed, asking to be left alone. But as she walked away, she gestured to suggest that she would talk later. http://www.openthemagazine.com/article/nation/i-am-narendra-modi-s-wife
seedhi Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 Due to the Gujarat govt pursuing it diligently, the Centre has been forced to provide CNG to Ahmedabad at the same rate it does to Delhi and Mumbai. Thus saving tons of money for Gujarat consumers. Gujarat High Court grants Centre week's time on supplying cheaper gas AHMEDABAD: The Gujarat High Court today gave the Centre a week's time to take corrective measures in a contempt of court petition over non-compliance of its earlier order on providing Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) at lower price to the state. The division bench of Justices M R Shah and Justice R P Dholaria today gave the Assistant Solicitor General time till February 4 to seek instructions from the Centre in a contempt of court petition moved by Dhrangadhra Prakutri Mandal (DPM). "The Assistant Solicitor General of India appearing on behalf (of the Union of India) prays for a week's time to get further instructions from the Union of India and to take further corrective measures," HC noted, and said it was giving "last chance" to the government. "However, it is made clear...if by that time any further corrective steps/measures are not taken, appropriate further orders shall be passed to see that the order passed by the Division Bench...confirmed by the Supreme Court, is implemented fully," HC said. DPM had moved a contempt of court application after Gas Authority of India Limited (GAIL) started supplying 9 per cent less domestic natural gas to City Gas Distributors (CGDs) than what was initially agreed under Administered Price Mechanism (APM), despite High Court's order. In a judgement delivered in July 2012, Gujarat High Court had asked the Centre to supply CNG to Gujarat at the same rate as Delhi and Mumbai. Supreme Court had upheld the ruling. DPM had filed a PIL in Gujarat High Court in 2011, alleging discrimination against Gujarat on CNG rates. http://articles.economictimes.indiatimes.com/2014-01-27/news/46684885_1_gujarat-high-court-city-gas-distributors-administered-price-mechanism Note that this parity was achieved by going through the judicial process rather than sitting on a dharna.
Yoda-esque Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 There is no Narendra Modi wave. I can’t see a wave: Nitish Kumar You don't agree that there is a Modi wave? There is no such wave. What wave? I can't see a wave, but yes, I see Modi's hoardings. But people are not putting up the hoardings, BJP is doing it. You are either paying for the hoardings or they are being put up free of cost. I can see media coverage.
Yoda-esque Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 A younger Modi on the banks of the Ganga Thats a wonderful picture..
Crookbond Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 The PIL for discrimination of CNG prices was filed by Dhrangadhra Prakutri Mandal in Gujarat HC (2011) and not the altruistic, relentless and diligent Gujarat government. CNG price hike: AAP moves to Supreme Court Read more at: http://www.moneycontrol.com/news/cnbc-tv18-comments/cng-price-hike-aap-moves-to-supreme-court_1033117.html
seedhi Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 The PIL for discrimination of CNG prices was filed by Dhrangadhra Prakutri Mandal in Gujarat HC (2011) and not the altruistic, relentless and diligent Gujarat government. CNG price hike: AAP moves to Supreme Court Read more at: http://www.moneycontrol.com/news/cnbc-tv18-comments/cng-price-hike-aap-moves-to-supreme-court_1033117.htmlGujarat govt and the GSPC has made several representations for cheaper gas which were rejected by the Centre. They were in full support of the PIL. In any case, the point was that it was not an unlawful dharna that made it possible.
Crookbond Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 Gujarat govt and the GSPC has made several representations for cheaper gas which were rejected by the Centre. They were in full support of the PIL. In any case, the point was that it was not an unlawful dharna that made it possible. You initially spun it off as Gujarat govt relentless pursuit of a case via the judiciary and SC ruling in its favor. As it turned out, that wasn't the case - why so defensive? You were wrong, may you didn't read it, may you misinterpreted it or whatever. But if you feel you are right on each & every thing you post let me know NOW, I wouldn't care to respond. I am not, won't be right everytime and a discussion is the only way to point that out. In my case, the point was you are indulging in "hasty generalization" - picking up the dharna example. You could easily pick other examples like - CAG audits for discoms, DJB policies, SC move against CNG prices etc. which are well within the legal & constitutional framework but you specifically pick the dharna and generalize. Now, you didn't like the dharna fine, state it and move on. Oh and btw, a dharna is not "unlawful" - everyone reserves a right to protest including you and me under Article 19. Before calling it "unlawful", you may want understand the legal repercussions behind it since following the judicial system is of utmost importance, it seems.
scorpio90 Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 If not right thread, please relocate: Original ITALIAN article http://www.ilfattoquotidiano.it/2014/02/01/elicotteri-augusta-le-mazzette-italiane-ai-politici-indiani-e-sullo-sfondo-il-destino-dei-maro/865054/ Translation http://translate.google.com/translate?act=url&hl=en&ie=UTF8&prev=_t&sl=it&tl=en&u=http://www.ilfattoquotidiano.it/2014/02/01/elicotteri-augusta-le-mazzette-italiane-ai-politici-indiani-e-sullo-sfondo-il-destino-dei-maro/865054/&sandbox=0&usg=ALkJrhioMDrdhN95b4IN-RNWeg4Ni5t0OQ Helicopters Augusta, Italian bribes to Indian politicians. In the background the marines case Finmeccanica in the process taking place in Busto Arsizio, the prosecutor Eugenio Fusco shows a list of the personalities in New Delhi on which the Italian industrial group wanted to pressures ranging from Sonia Gandhi's right-hand man to Prime Minister Singh Here is the card that could make the glowing match between the Indian government and 'Italy. On the one hand the destiny of our marines, Massimiliano La Torre and Salvatore Girone. On the other hand, according to a document in the file of the Prosecutor of Busto Arsizio, there are politicians in India who took millions in bribes from Finmeccanica's Agusta helicopter for the job in 2010. The letter that could complicate relations between the two countries publish the next and was found in the villa on Lake Lugano in the Italian consultant resident in Switzerland, Guido Ralph Haschke, accused of corruption along with the former president of Finmeccanica Giusppe Bears and other consultants and managers, on charges of having paid € 30 million in bribes to public officials to promote Indian Agusta Westland in the race for the job of AW101 helicopters. When in April 2012 entered into his house, investigators Italian and Swiss Haschke feigned an illness and collapsed on his bed. Underneath was a suitcase full of documents that the consultant Piedmontese origin had left there, convinced that his Swiss citizenship was a shield against the intrusiveness of the police NOE led by Sergio De Caprio, aka Last, and Neapolitan Vincenzo pm Piscitelli and Henry John Woodcock. Maro finmeccanica Among the papers of the case there was a letter that, after the transition to competence survey from Naples in Busto Arsizio, the prosecutor Eugenio Fusco has studied and learned to make better coordinate it with a handwritten note from the same Haschke, he said dictation of his coindagato Christian Mitchell, with a list of the abbreviations of the names or roles of the recipients of bribes in India. Thursday, January 9th was going to Haschke-examination by the defense and the term pm Fusco has dropped three cards: the letter, handwritten note and a photo of Sonia Gandhi with his main collaborator Ahmed Patel. If the trio of Fusco, reproduced in the montage, it was aces or two of spades will tell only the Court at the end of the trial. The first paper fell from pm January 9, is in English and reads: "March 15, 2008. For the attention of Mr. Peter Hulett (sales manager of AgustaWestland in India Ed.) Dear Peter, because Mrs. Gandhi is the driving force behind the VIP (ie the elicoitteri prepared to transport the Indian authorities that they had to be purchased by the government paying to Agusta 556 million Ed), she will no longer fly with the MI-8 (the old Russian helicopter fleet governmental Sonia Gandhi used and still use a few Indian personalities, Ed.) Mrs. Gandhi and his close associates are the people to whom the 'High Commissioner (Ambassador of Great Britain: Agusta Westland is also British, En) should aim. " After this reference to Sonia Gandhi as the "driving force" followed by the list of public figures to put in the viewfinder diplomat, at the request of Agusta. The letter would not be embarrassing if it were not for the petitioner Mitchell has been involved, according to the prosecutor, the payment of bribes and is now quiet in Dubai. The list is impressive: 1) Manmonah Singh (Prime Minister of India, En), 2) Ahmed Patel (political secretary of Sonia Gandhi Ed), 3) Pranab Mukherjee (President of India in 2012, in 2008 foreign minister Ed) 4) M. Veerappa Moily (Minister of Energy, En) 5) Oscar Fernandes (Minister of Transport, En), 6) MK Narayanan (Governor of Bengal, Ed); 7) Vinay Singh (Chief of the Indian Railways, Ed.) The list of personalities to suggest ambassador ends with an abrupt "Christian greetings." The Fusco pm, after having shown the letter with the name of Sonia Gandhi and Ahmed Patel, his collaborator narrow, January 9, he dropped the second card: the list of bribes, already identified in a previous hearing last December but not connected to the second document in that forum (AP was thought to be Popular Alliance, the name of the party). The list, written in ink by Haschke, dictation Mitchell according to the story of the Swiss mediator, is divided into four parts, each with a code corresponding to a category of corrupt officials. AF stands for Air Force, 6 million; BUR, ie bureaucrats who should be 8.4 million, then the POL, ie politicians, to which must be 6 million of which € 3 million to a mysterious AP. Fusco puts under the noses of the two documents Haschke, "Dr. Haschke, but according to her, the AP of three million referenced in the memo Mitchell manuscript is Ahmed Patel's letter?". Haschke replies: "I too would come to his own conclusions, but to me Mitchell did not say and I do not know." The prosecutor shows one of several photos of Patel next to Sonia Gandhi. And who is required to Haschke Patel. The Swiss-Italian insists: "I only know Sonia Gandhi." The legal representatives of the Indian government present at the hearing have jumped on the chair. On January 10, there are two Indian newspapers news. The first, published for example by 'Indian Express that follows best Italian media the process of Bust, was the record of the interrogation of Fusco on stacks of 3 million, of AP, the collaborator of Sonia Gandhi and the letter he quoted. On the same day appears on the Indian newspapers reported that the families of our riflemen cold imprisoned in India for two years: "The decision whether or not to apply the death penalty will be assessed by the Indian government within two or three days," was filter that day the Minister of India, Sushil Shinde Kamar. Italian newspapers such as Free, spoke of "sudden change of scenery: only yesterday, Thursday, January 9, the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Salman Khurshid, had ruled out once again the application of capital punishment to the two Italian soldiers accused of murder of two fishermen. " The feeling is clear that the two criminal cases, one against the marines in India and one from which could emerge representatives (currently unknown) of Indian politics who would take bribes, events are crossed. The strangeness of the two stories, if it concerns together, they seem to make more sense. The Indian government has frozen the order that would be won according to the prosecutor Fusco thanks to bribes by Agusta but it does filter out the idea of arbitration, known to be the prelude to a soft close. Also in the trial of the marines will remain in a legal limbo. The prosecution has not yet formulated a count of indictment and a matter now closed, such as the death penalty was re-opened in surprise January 10, after the interrogation of Fusco Haschke to Ahmed Patel, and yesterday was again throw it in a drawer by the Indian government. In spring there are elections in India, Sonia Gandhi's party could be in trouble because of the story of helicopters. And this is not good news for the marines.