Do we really a coach?

Prudent

Strategies and tactics should be handled by the captain and other senior players. Just maybe a batting specialist to help with some technical issues (particularly against short pitched bowling on bouncy wickets, which we still have problems with). I say, appoint Mohinder Amarnarth as team Manager, and bring back Gary Palmerwho helped some of our batsman in 2002. For those who want to keep it desi style, maybe bring in Gavaskar as batting coach. 3 technical specialists, and a team Manager is all we need. This is not rugby, we dont need a coach standing there with a white-board devising tactics like that. This is cricket, those responsibilities are up to the captain.

I think this combo is good...adding another coach will dilute the authority of these two.....and I am sure there will be power struggle.Yeh dono aaram se kaam kar rahe hain....
good point. although i wish the bcci just extend the term of chandu borde for a full season. if india wins the odis series against england, they have no choice but to do it.
Yes' date=' yes and yes. Coaching is a full time job and Dravid cannot look into things like organising practice drills, sorting out technical and mental problems etc etc. Let him sort out his own batting problems first![/quote'] I concur. I don't think Dravid has to organise the practice drills as Robin Singh is doing that. But Dravid needs a share of burden, a man who can look after the players and their problem--playing or non-playing, so that he can concentrate upon his own batting. We'll need him to come to party in Australia, if we want to have any chance of success!!
I think this combo is good...adding another coach will dilute the authority of these two.....and I am sure there will be power struggle.Yeh dono aaram se kaam kar rahe hain....
There is no power struggle between the coaches. Do you hear about any struggle between Donal, Flower and Moores or between Flether and Cooley or between the Aussie coach and Cooley? All of these have identified areas to work on, and they do it admirably.

But chandan, now they are doing a good job and used to doing their own thing, their own way.A head coach would definitely mean they have to work with him (if not under) .I think BCCI should appinit a coach as a batting coach and not head coach ...(if they do ) Waisay Ithink Chandu uncle ji id doing a good job for now.:D

Even if we have 10 coaches in rank, I'd like the head coach to be a low profile one...very much like Wright. I also like the idea of letting each of the players address the press on the match days. That takes a burden off the captain's shoulder and players also feel their importance. But a head coach is a must. We need direction and vision for future. And I would not like our captain to be burdened with that too.