Sex education in India- whats your stance ?

CC1981

Okay seriously. In my school we did have a sex-education camp. I was about 13-14 year old. We were kept in the school for 4 days(day and night). In the day we had slides, interaction with opposite sex and so on. EVening mein it was all about sitting around campfires. It was a co-education school so we were kinda open anyway. Can't really recall the details except that by and large guys got all giggly when slides came up. Girls were lot more attentive and pound for pound I thought they knew more about sex than guys did.. Overall a good thing to have but 11/12?? Atleast have it after puberty, which generally is around 13-14. xxx

Against it.. and definitely not at the age of 11-12.. thats like 5th or 6th grade of school.. kids are already their losing innocence very fast already..
So wait a minute... 11/12 is the age where most kids are starting puberty and the hormones go from 'zero' to 'full' in matter of a year or two. It doesnt matter if its 5th grade/6th grade or 7th grade- 11/12 is when kids are standing right at the doorstep of puberty. What a great idea it is, to keep them in the dark when possibly the single biggest emotional & physical change of their life is about to happen !!!! ( yes, it is true...pre & post puberty emotional & physical change is the most pronounced of all changes in the course of a life). No really, such a great idea !!!!!! Keeping you in the dark about the biggest change in your life !!! Why didn't i think of this one before, geez ? You think it is a 'wise' idea to keep your kid in the dark when such fundamental changes are happening to his/her body and mindset ? The pros of sex-education far outweighs the cons. You may think your son or daughter is a 'laadla beta/beti' but it is nothing more than utter parental naivety. You wonder why prostitution is such a huge industry in India ? the closemindedness about sexuality is the #1 answer. The more you try to supress/delay the most basic of human emotions/urges (and a rather strong one at that), the more messed up you are going to be.In today's world, you cannot control information like you could in our grandparent's days. Kids don't need you to tell them about sex really. They can find out all they want from going online (and if you think your kid isnt curious enough to go to an internet cafe and type in s-e-x, i can only laugh). But talking about it in school/homes is helpful in showing that you are there for them in this issue and you arnt just gonna freak out on this topic. Give them guidence, not ignorance. Ever wonder why AIDS is so much lower in the west than India, once you factor in the west's far more 'chilled out' and open sexuality practices ? its because of this openness. Believe it or not, being open minded about sex doesnt mean your kid is gonna turn into a slut- most don't anyways, even here ( serial monogamists are more like it). In an age where you cannot control the information your kid is subjected to, it makes far more sense to talk about sex when they are going to hit puberty than ignoring the topic (which is much more 'flirting with disaster in my opinion'.

Girls were lot more attentive and pound for pound I thought they knew more about sex than guys did
Ofcourse they do at an early age. Its human instinct- they are the ones who get 'stuck' with the pregnancy, stigma, problems etc. Guy can just 'disappear' after the fateful day and pretend it didnt happen. That is why, if you notice, in a free sexual society (like the west), its women who have control over courtship, not men (ie, usually its men chasing women, not women chasing men by and large). It is because of their pickyness and not that we men can grudge them of that.

Ofcourse they do at an early age. Its human instinct- they are the ones who get 'stuck' with the pregnancy, stigma, problems etc. Guy can just 'disappear' after the fateful day and pretend it didnt happen. That is why, if you notice, in a free sexual society (like the west), its women who have control over courtship, not men (ie, usually its men chasing women, not women chasing men by and large).
I would think it was more to do with one simple thing - their body. I remember distinctly having a bunch of "girl" friends since I was say 5-6. Things were great till when I was about 10. But somewhere around that time things started to change. I started to get more aggressive, they started to get more inside their shells. And while before I could easily pat their back or they could mine, now suddenly it was returned with a look that said "Dont do it again". Of course this in turn made me even more aggressive, pata nahin apne ko kya samajhti hai. You have to realize that around this age Moms will tell girls not to play with guys they have been playing all along. Not so much due to harmonal changes(though obviously thats a reason) but because of the way their body starts to evolve. Man I am soooo happy I was born a guy. Can you imagine having those chest pains when you develop breasts..not to mention the looks that come with it?? But yeah once they are in then you can rule the world :haha: xxx

Can you imagine having those chest pains when you develop breasts
Believe it or not, i've never even thought about this before you mentioned it...sorry gals. i had a weird growth-rate- i was a shrimp of a kid, went from 4and half foot to my current height 5'7 between 11 and 13. Then the growth-o-meter died. Short kid--> tallest kid by 13--->shorty by 19.That is also when puberty happened- i was too busy bearing the excruciating pain in my knees and femur to notice i'd gone from 'hairless to hairy'. But on the topic of sex, i had a head-start, i knew everything there is to know about basic sex ( and even a little info on possible kinkyness of humans) by the age of 8. That is when parents & grandparents went to khajuraho, i started asking questions and my parents pretty much went 'ah hell, we should've known better than to bring him here- now we gotto tell him or his tendency to blurt out embarassing soundbytes will get us into deep doodoo'. Ofcourse, i got a pretty good idea - i was into photography at that age (copying my dad phase) and when 'explanation day' came, i came fully prepared with my pictures of khajuraho. Now that i think of it, it is truely hillarious to see parents trying to explain group sex when their 8 year old drops a picture of 'group sex murti' from khajuraho on the table and goes 'now, why are they doing this?'. And believe it or not, my parents handled it pretty well and i am thankful that they did instead of just turning beet red and changing topic. :haha:

^^ :haha: I tell you puberty shall make up for some funny stories man. Who amongst us, when he/she was 12-14, did not feel like a complete idiot at times? There were some "seniors" who would share the words of wisdom and we would listen to them with rapt attention. Now I know it was all stupid knowledge. That alone should be the reason for my support for Sexual Education. By the way it would be fantastic to hear about the puberty and early adolescent years, tell you there would be some very funny stories..:D

Darn...Those were the days..when I would look at a pink magazine(my seniors would smuggle them in the school) and I would wonder what was so special about the girl eating a popsicle.... Okay so now I realize that was no popsicle :sad_smile: What a dumb ulllooo I was..:sad_smile:

100% for sex education and for parents to be bit open with their kids. Edit- I told my friend that he was born because his dad screwed his mum but the idiot would not believe me. Finally he said that it could be true but his parents definitely used the tablet method :hysterical:

Being the resident ICF TJ ( Tube jockey) I think this thread is asking for George Michael video- tZtKIL48jm8 There's things that you guess And things that you know There's boys you can trust And girls that you don't There's little things you hide And little things that you show Sometimes you think you're gonna get it But you don't and that's just the way it goes I swear i won't tease you Won't tell you no lies I don't need no bible Just look in my eyes I've waited so long baby Now that we're friends Every man's got his patience And here's where mine ends I want your sex I want you I want your sex It's playing on my mind It's dancing on my soul It's taken so much time So why don't you just let me go I'd really like to try Oh i'd really love to know When you tell me you're gonna regret it Then i tell you that i love you but you still say no! I swear i won't tease you Won't tell you no lies I don't need no bible Just look in my eyes I've waited so long baby Out in the cold I want your sex I want your love I want your.. Sex It's natural It's chemical (let's do it) It's logical Habitual (can we do it?) It's sensual But most of all... Sex is something we should do Sex is something for me and you Sex is natural - sex is good Not everybody does it But everybody should Sex is natural - sex is fun Sex is best when it's... One on one One on one I'm not your father I'm not your brother Talk to your sister I am a lover C-c-c-c-come on What's your definition of dirty baby What do you consider pornography Don't you know i love you till it hurts me baby Don't you think it's time you had sex with me What's your definition of dirty baby What do you call pornography Don't you know i love you till it hurts me baby Don't you think it's time you had sex with me Sex with me Sex with me Have sex with me C-c-c-c-come on.

^^ Dont remind me of that song. I used to be a fan of Wham! and hence of George Michael. When this album came out I bought it in a jiffy(for a remote town I am surprised how I could get all the English albums in Gaya), put it on the stereo?(cassette player back then). My elder brother came out, picked the lyrics straight up(I was unable to pick lyrics back then...sometimes even today) and shut it down immediately. When I asked why did he do so he cooked up some BS story about how this song was manhoos and that his friend played it and had an accident. A few years later I realized he wanted to censor me from this raunchy song. :sad_smile:

Sex education for our coming generations-- leave it on parents to decide....we don't need Wetsren Channels like BBC to lecture us around. RSS runs many educational institutions over those poor areas where government's basic education cannot reach forget sex education. Pehley...sebko basic facility toh provide ker lo, only then elitemens-armchair critics lecturing looks meaningful. We Indians have very strong Family system of society....Unlike monotheistic charming religions, Vivah is not a contract, rather it's a integral part of GrihsthAshram. Let Child's father and mother decide what is good or bad for his kid.

5-6th grade, put all the parents together in a sex ed camp and teach them the class first. After they stop giggling and looking figedty tell them to provide suggestions and then teach to the kids in school with backup lessons and tailored explanations at home :)