jairamesh Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 Pakistani Hindus have been trickling in since early August seeking refugee status in India. Where do you stand on this? India still has not got a concrete national refugee policy. The Afghan crisis that brought Sikh and Hindu refugees are still awaiting Indian citizenships, the Bangladeshi migrants from the 70s in Assam are still classed as "unofficial" refugees. There is the Tamil exodus from Sri Lanka from the last two decades who have settled in Tamil Nadu. Has India got a moral responsibility to raise awareness with Pakistan government regarding treatment of Hindus in Pakistan? Should India grant them citizenships, grant voting rights etc.? Can we send Raj Thackeray in the opposite direction? A batch of 171 Hindus today arrived here from Pakistan after a three-month long arduous journey with leader of the group saying they were seeking a refugee status in India for the sake of "self respect", religious freedom and children's future. They have been accommodated temporarily in a temple campus until proper arrangements are made. "We have intimated the chief minister about this, who was in Jodhpur today and expect him to direct the administration to make some arrangements for them," said Singh Sodha, president of Seemant Lok Sangthan, an organisation fighting for the rehabilitation of Hindu migrants. "The exodus of Hindus from Pakistan on account of religious, financial and social persecution, is not a new phenomenon but this largest ever migration after the fencing on the Indo-Pak border, is a testimony that the conditions for the Hindu families in Pakistan continue to be intolerable and humiliating," said Sodha. The group is led by Chetan Ram, who has been a sarpanch of his village. All of them have come incognito, not disclosing about their departure even to their relatives. "If the news that we were planning or preparing to leave for India had spread, the masters, whom we serve, would have made it difficult or almost impossible for us to leave Pakistan driven by a fear that they will lose the labourers," said Chetan. "So as a strategy, all these families left their houses about 3 months back and kept changing their locations so as to do away with any suspicion to our masters or landlords. And on Friday, we left for India leaving all our belongings back in Pakistan," Chetan said. Full articale at http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/article3877910.ece?homepage=true
punjabi_khota Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 Lets have RSS/Shiv Sena/Thekedaars of hinduism provide them food,clothing,shelter etc. Then pay for big shot lawyers to fight their case for asylum etc. Maybe once in a while, these senas can do something productive. Why waste tax money when hindu-in-chief thackrey is sitting on crores.
superstar Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 Give them something like PR. No voting rights. Allow only kids of kids born in India to be citizens. The Afghan crisis that brought Sikh and Hindu refugees are still awaiting Indian citizenships, the Bangladeshi migrants from the 70s in Assam are still classed as "unofficial" refugees Give Afghan refugees (Sikhs, Hindus, Muslims) the same. 99.99% of Bangla migrants are here for finanicial reasons. Send them back. There is the Tamil exodus from Sri Lanka from the last two decades who have settled in Tamil Nadu. Being a Tamil I am against granting them Citizenship or even PR. They are here in India and still call for an Elam. They have not come here to be citizens of India. They should be allowed to stay here and allowed to get citizenship only if they follow the law of the land and accept the fact that we might have to support the SL govt for geopolitical reasons. Has India got a moral responsibility to raise awareness with Pakistan government regarding treatment of Hindus in Pakistan? As humans we have moral responsibility to take in people in trouble. Financially we should be able to take care of these people They should however not become a security threat for the country (Elam lovers in TN, Islamic Terrorists or Hindu radicalisations or Kalistan Lovers). They should leave all their enemity between other communities in their land of origin. When Muslims from UP went to Pak during partition they kicked out Hindus out of their house and forcibly sent them here (same would have happened to Muslims in India). We do not want those kind of things to happen here. We already saw a bad episode of Sinhalese attacked in TN a couple of days back.
superstar Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 Can we send Raj Thackeray in the opposite direction? Send him to Bihar. Aloo will take care of this tiger :giggle::giggle:
arun81 Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 Atleast Hindus are trying to enter the country legally unlike certain groups which enter India illegaly and involve in all sort of Anti National Acts... And the Hindus are usually enter in the 100's unlike the Bangladeshis who enter in Lakhs and are now in Crore's in India... They are entering because of being persecuted...Unlike Bangladeshis
arun81 Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 . When Muslims from UP went to Pak during partition they kicked out Hindus out of their house and forcibly sent them here (same would have happened to Muslims in India). Seriously ? Could you double check on How many actually left from UP ? Please see what Gandhi/Nehru did in UP to protect them. The proof is the % of this demographics in UP... On a side note , certain pockets of UP has high investment from ME ...In 2 or 3 generations max this Region will be outside the fold of "India"
King Khan Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 Atleast Hindus are trying to enter the country legally unlike certain groups which enter India illegaly and involve in all sort of Anti National Acts... And the Hindus are usually enter in the 100's unlike the Bangladeshis who enter in Lakhs and are now in Crore's in India... They are entering because of being persecuted...Unlike Bangladeshis Agreed. Cant do much about Bangladeshi hindu regugees anymore due poor handeling over illegal border crossing for long, now as most of them got either very mixed or having dual passports. But since its now birbwired most part of it, situation got much better. You are absolutely right there, you cant handle these foreign beggers, criminals & terrorists when they enter illegaly. But I would appreciate govt to show there generosity & sympathy over ligit regugee & political assylum seekers like sensible modern civilized country.
arun81 Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 The only way Congress will continue to loot/ruin India is by creating these vote banks... This is one of their biggest vote banks... They will not prosper under Congress... They will be kept illiterate , radicalized and have 6-7 kids thereby destabilizing the Country... Bangaldeshi pockets are now in most cities of India..In some places in Kerala (Malapuram, Kannur etc) One can easily find Bangladeshis working in factories in the garb of Assamese all with the blessings of the local imams The longer India is polarized the better its for the Ghandy's and their handlers.....
King Khan Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 ^ I guess I can understand your pain over immigrants. Been living here in Adelaide for 7-8 years now, I know local's hate over Indians grown from nowhere for outgrowing population and taking part accessing over almost every sectors. But when I first came to study here, this place used to be one of the greater cockatian populaced city. Not anymore.
Andrew Peter Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 Instead of granting asylum to the likes of tibetians , with whom India has no cultural ties , India should rather provide support the Hindus / Sikhs from Pakistan/Bangladesh that are facing persecution in their countries since the time of partition .
rageaddict Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 This is what happens to those who live as minority among these desert bandits . And irony is that these very same people shout the loudest from top of their roofs and demand equal rights while living as minority.
Jersey #10 Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 I've heard the Christians in Pakistan are worse off.
superstar Posted September 10, 2012 Posted September 10, 2012 I've heard the Christians in Pakistan are worse off. From my own research all minorites in Pak are worse in all places except Sindh. But slowly problems are arising in Sindh as well. Ahmadiya are hated everywhere. Hindus are hated because of their association with India. Most of the hatred against hindus on their national television is despicable. Christians apparently are targetted less as they often chose Muslim names. Shias are also killed. Sikhs are probably the only safest group in Sindh. But there are reports of Sikhs coming to India for asylum.