Ultimate_Game Posted December 9, 2012 Posted December 9, 2012 After 0-8 away we have fallen at home as well so I guess there's no point in continuing with the status quo. It's time to build a new time starting 4th Test. The rebuilding process will be long and painful one but it needs to start ASAP. We already lost nearly 2 years due to selectors' inability to make the hard calls and continuing with over the hill players. Let's have the following team for the 4th Test... Sehwag - Still the most coveted Indian wkt at home Jiwanjot Singh - No harm picking a player in form Pujara Kohli Rahane Rohit Dhoni/Karthik Ashwin - deserves to be in the team for batting alone Harmeet/any other young spinner Zaheer - to be replaced by Umesh when Umesh recovers and comes back Sandeep Sharma - can't be any worse than the current lot If there's an in form spinner at the moment I would have him in place of Ashwin. It's time to move away from the has beens and look to the future, and I would rather lose with this team than the one with over the hill dead weights.
CG Posted December 9, 2012 Posted December 9, 2012 I would add Suyal and groom him as replacement of Zak and also add Shami Ahmed,Rahul Sharma.
virufan Posted December 9, 2012 Posted December 9, 2012 After 0-8 away we have fallen at home as well so I guess there's no point in continuing with the status quo. It's time to build a new time starting 4th Test. The rebuilding process will be long and painful one but it needs to start ASAP. We already lost nearly 2 years due to selectors' inability to make the hard calls and continuing with over the hill players. Let's have the following team for the 4th Test... Sehwag - Still the most coveted Indian wkt at home Jiwanjot Singh - No harm picking a player in form Pujara Kohli Rahane Rohit Dhoni/Karthik Ashwin - deserves to be in the team for batting alone Harmeet/any other young spinner Zaheer Sandeep Sharma - can't be any worse than the current lot If there's an in form spinner at the moment I would have him in place of Ashwin. It's time to move away from the has beens and look to the future, and I would rather lose with this team than the one with over the hill dead weights. No Dhoni pls. We need a better bat at Test level.
Ultimate_Game Posted December 9, 2012 Author Posted December 9, 2012 I would add Suyal and groom him as replacement of Zak and also add Shami Ahmed' date='Rahul Sharma.[/quote'] Yup I wouldn't mind seeing any of these players in the team. Hopefully Umesh gets better and he can replace Zak. I am keen on Sandeep Sharma as he has plenty of control and at the very least will always trouble batsmen by keeping the ball in corridor of uncertainty.
Ultimate_Game Posted December 9, 2012 Author Posted December 9, 2012 No Dhoni pls. We need a better bat at Test level. Then Karthik as the wk with Kohli as the captain.
Sundar88 Posted December 9, 2012 Posted December 9, 2012 Get rid of Sehwag, his attitude and approach are deplorable. Players like him and Afridi shouldn't be playing international cricket in the first place.
CG Posted December 9, 2012 Posted December 9, 2012 Yup I wouldn't mind seeing any of these players in the team. Hopefully Umesh gets better and he can replace Zak. I am keen on Sandeep Sharma as he has plenty of control and at the very least will always trouble batsmen by keeping the ball in corridor of uncertainty. By replacement I meant a leftarmer ,Yadav is most probable candidate for leader of attack after zak.Sandeep sharma will need some time he also has to add a bit of pace.
Sundar88 Posted December 9, 2012 Posted December 9, 2012 What happened to Varun Aaron? Is he still injured? Around this time last year I was looking forward to seeing him and Yadav bowling in tandem, sad to see it probably won't ever happen.
Ultimate_Game Posted December 9, 2012 Author Posted December 9, 2012 By replacement I meant a leftarmer ' date='Yadav is most probable candidate for leader of attack after zak.Sandeep sharma will need some time he also has to add a bit of pace.[/quote'] I would still give Sandeep a shot. The guy can at least bowl 6 balls in the same spot which seems to be the bane of Indian bowlers.
Ultimate_Game Posted December 9, 2012 Author Posted December 9, 2012 What happened to Varun Aaron? Is he still injured? Around this time last year I was looking forward to seeing him and Yadav bowling in tandem' date=' sad to see it probably won't ever happen.[/quote'] He's injured and it's time we realized that Varun Aaron is unlikely to be of much use in the longer format. At best he can remain fit enough to play shorter format for us. I would play Umesh in Tests alone and keep Aaron for shorter formats.
Number Posted December 9, 2012 Posted December 9, 2012 I will replace Sachin and Yuvi. Give captaincy to someone like Sehwag.
Ultimate_Game Posted December 9, 2012 Author Posted December 9, 2012 I will replace Sachin and Yuvi. Give captaincy to someone like Sehwag. Sehwag is not captaincy material. I would give it to Kohli and see how he does with a young team.
yoda Posted December 9, 2012 Posted December 9, 2012 Drastic move may be necessary including dropping 4 of the bats including Sehwag, Gambhir, SRT and Yuvraj. Also drop Zak and Harby forever. Bring in young blood at least if they fail, we can say they are learning.
Ultimate_Game Posted December 9, 2012 Author Posted December 9, 2012 Drastic move may be necessary including dropping 4 of the bats including Sehwag' date=' Gambhir, SRT and Yuvraj. Also drop Zak and Harby forever. Bring in young blood at least if they fail, we can say they are learning.[/quote'] I would keep Sehwag as he's the biggest wkt for us - at least at home. In both innings we collapsed as soon as Sehwag was dismissed. Without Sehwag we would be on the level of B'desh. Once the younger batsmen have established themselves a bit Sehwag can be phased off as well.
CG Posted December 9, 2012 Posted December 9, 2012 I would still give Sandeep a shot. The guy can at least bowl 6 balls in the same spot which seems to be the bane of Indian bowlers. Its whole lot diff at fc level and international level.He needs few more seasons and bit more pace.Also kohli has to concentrate at his own game first and shewag should be captain till kohli is ready.
Number Posted December 9, 2012 Posted December 9, 2012 Sehwag is not captaincy material. I would give it to Kohli and see how he does with a young team. UG, I would rather lose a few games than lose a player. Kohli is struggling to establish himself in tests despite looking in good touch. It would put him under more pressure.
saneindian Posted December 9, 2012 Posted December 9, 2012 Raina, Chawla and Jadeja coming into the test side soon
asterix Posted December 9, 2012 Posted December 9, 2012 Raina' date=' Chawla and Jadeja coming into the test side soon[/quote'] :((
Number Posted December 9, 2012 Posted December 9, 2012 Raina' date=' Chawla and Jadeja coming into the test side soon[/quote'] Bhai, khabar pakki hai kya ??:((