Cevno Posted January 4, 2013 Posted January 4, 2013 That is the very first discussion that should happen perhaps. Should we look at American' date= or West for our solutions? A lot of the modern day phenomenon - Internet, Mobile technology, Facebook, Social media etc - were invented with the American society in mind, NOT India. Indians have done a fantastic job in adopting them for sure but that does not take away the question if we were prepared for it? For example, Facebook is often used as a tool to get laid in US. No big deal. Without Facebook Americans would have found some other way I suppose lol. However the whole concept was completely alien to Indians. Even though bulk of Indians use facebook for perhaps staying in touch etc there is a sizeable numbers of Indians looking to hook up. Is that Facebooks' fault? No? Not to stereotype but there used to be a time when Indians were infamous of overrunning most of the Internet chatrooms as well. Point is not to ding Indians, specially Indian male, anymore than he already has been in recent past, but to ask is there a big gap between what the modern day technology provides, and what we as a society are ready for? I think thats a very fair question. What a weird post. Some technologies are a success world over because it has convenience value all over. Most of it's a platform, upto u how u use it. Why only mobiles ? Telephones were invented in the west too, paper too. Wtf r u talking about ?
Lurker Posted January 4, 2013 Posted January 4, 2013 India dominates MMS scandals so technology is not designed for Indians! I would need Willie Wonka to trump that creativity. Americans used nuclear weapons to destroy Japan so nuclear weapons were not meant for the American society but for Japanese. Rapes happen in India so d!cks were meant for Americans and not Indians. If that is what you understood then we both missed each other's conversation by a distance lol. Let me reiterate my point. A lot of these new technologies were designed for a different audience. There is NO NEED to get defensive on that one. You really think Mark J'berg designed Facebook so students from BHU, Benaras could make their groups? Or that Steve Jobs iPhone was a creation for the Bihar panchayat?? Heck even Sabir Bhatia's Hotmail audience were not Indian, and he is an Indian. Take it any which way you like but the innovations are done to address a certain market. Then they spread across national boundaries. This is simple truth. No need to get emotional and say technology cuts across race/ethnicity etc. :winky:
Rohit S. Ambani Posted January 4, 2013 Posted January 4, 2013 Mobile phones were not allowed in top private CBSE school where I studied, whats the problem?
Crookbond Posted January 4, 2013 Posted January 4, 2013 If that is what you understood then we both missed each other's conversation by a distance lol. Let me reiterate my point. A lot of these new technologies were designed for a different audience. There is NO NEED to get defensive on that one. You really think Mark J'berg designed Facebook so students from BHU, Benaras could make their groups? Or that Steve Jobs iPhone was a creation for the Bihar panchayat?? Heck even Sabir Bhatia's Hotmail audience were not Indian, and he is an Indian. Take it any which way you like but the innovations are done to address a certain market. Then they spread across national boundaries. This is simple truth. No need to get emotional and say technology cuts across race/ethnicity etc. :winky: Quite true but your extrapolation from that fact was quite entertaining!
punjabi_khota Posted January 4, 2013 Posted January 4, 2013 If that is what you understood then we both missed each other's conversation by a distance lol. Let me reiterate my point. A lot of these new technologies were designed for a different audience. There is NO NEED to get defensive on that one. You really think Mark J'berg designed Facebook so students from BHU, Benaras could make their groups? Or that Steve Jobs iPhone was a creation for the Bihar panchayat?? Heck even Sabir Bhatia's Hotmail audience were not Indian, and he is an Indian. Take it any which way you like but the innovations are done to address a certain market. Then they spread across national boundaries. This is simple truth. No need to get emotional and say technology cuts across race/ethnicity etc. :winky: Arre India mein koi innovason hoti nahi, to aap ke hisaab se to koi bhi product india ke liye nahi bana... to kaa karein..... MMS ka example is useless. The reason MMS search will give indian resutls is because pre-marital sex is a big deal in India...there are plenty more 'amateur' sex videos generated in US , but since no one gives a ****, there is not much hoopla here. I am sure the first MMS scam in US probably was out in early 90s...there are 100s of celebrity leaked sex videos from Hollywood, while you can count bollywood leaked sex videos on your fingers.. The technology is being 'misused' exactly the same way in both countries. You are also giving the innovators too much credit by saying that they designed their product with certain audiences in mind. FB was supposed to connect college students, not former exes who are now married to other people..everyday you hear plenty of stories of cheating spouses and failed marriages in US because it is far too easy to find people from your past on facebook, and carry on flings. That can count as misuse as much as shooting MMS on phone. This logic of yours that technology wasn't created for Indians is really weird.
Lurker Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 Arre India mein koi innovason hoti nahi, to aap ke hisaab se to koi bhi product india ke liye nahi bana... to kaa karein..... You can probably start by sitting down for an hour and try to express yourself better. That would be a good start before innovating me thinks. Humor works in a single sentence miyaan, but does not replace the power of expression. Nahin just saying. MMS ka example is useless. The reason MMS search will give indian resutls is because pre-marital sex is a big deal in India...there are plenty more 'amateur' sex videos generated in US , but since no one gives a ****, there is not much hoopla here. I am sure the first MMS scam in US probably was out in early 90s...there are 100s of celebrity leaked sex videos from Hollywood, while you can count bollywood leaked sex videos on your fingers.. The technology is being 'misused' exactly the same way in both countries. Much more than MMS searches, it is the pre-marital sex that we, as a nation (and not me and you :hehe: ), need to talk about. It is kind of strange to see/read/hear of India, and Indians, as a sex-starved nation and absolutely no discussion on why it is so. Back to MMS now. That was merely a point. And in my opinion a pretty damning point that if you ran a search today the top hits are ALL Indian. Now you quite correct in saying this happens in US all the time. And you know what? Nobody gives a turd in US about it. But in India we do. And thats a distinction right there. Kim Kardashian's sex tape are on demand post pregnancy, dont see that happening anytime soon in India. So you have to keep comparisons in mind. In this case the point was rather simple. Indians are getting exposed to a lot of technological advances, which is fantastic. But it is also true that as a society we are not best placed to handle all the ills that comes with it. You disagree? You are also giving the innovators too much credit by saying that they designed their product with certain audiences in mind. FB was supposed to connect college students, not former exes who are now married to other people..everyday you hear plenty of stories of cheating spouses and failed marriages in US because it is far too easy to find people from your past on facebook, and carry on flings. That can count as misuse as much as shooting MMS on phone. This logic of yours that technology wasn't created for Indians is really weird. Oh absolutely. I could not agree more. Read up my post, FB is used by different people differently. With one distinction. Nobody gives a damn if your boss in US hooks up online. There is a chance even that he may come back and share stories with you. And everybody will shrug their shoulders and move on too. Not so much in India. There is a cause, rather tepid sexual freedom if you will, and outlets like facebook. The same product (FB) can mess up things in India that it never will in US. And yes we need to innovate lot more as a nation. Pray do tell why arent you worried about that instead of wondering if no innovation happens should we just clam up :hehe:
Cevno Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 Mate google gives search results sorted by relevance as per your IP. Go through a American Proxy, and then type the same. ................................................... Is it hard to understand or something ?
urbestfriend Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 ................................................... Is it hard to understand or something ? I guess he is US resident..
CSK Fan Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 Mobile phones were not allowed in top private CBSE school where I studied' date=' whats the problem?[/quote'] So was it banned because of the order of some obsucre panchayat oldies or your school authorities? Did Panchayats decide what you wear, what books you studied, etc or your school authorities?
King Khan Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 In this case the point was rather simple. Indians are getting exposed to a lot of technological advances, which is fantastic. But it is also true that as a society we are not best placed to handle all the ills that comes with it. You disagree? I'm absolutely agree this more/less summerized words made there. thanks for some enjoyable reading from posts you made here Lurker. Its very understadable why schools/panchayet/guardians goin in following such rules to restrict exposer of few of these technologies to these sex-craved young gens in India. We are not just fit yet (another way to say backward) grasp handling all in these ills with coming with few goods. ftb I'm enough liberal to allow my kids to have a mobile set that has vibration option in it, but not to activate 3G in it which I cant monitor.
Nova Posted January 6, 2013 Posted January 6, 2013 Add Pondicherry to the list. Pondy solution to rape: Hide girls under overcoats and ban cell phones. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/chennai/Pondy-solution-to-rape-Hide-girls-under-overcoats/articleshow/17908055.cms :facepalm:
Desi Cartman Posted January 6, 2013 Posted January 6, 2013 A cousin of mine created a Facebook account for her 8 year old yesterday :facepalm:
AGHORI Posted January 6, 2013 Author Posted January 6, 2013 A cousin of mine created a Facebook account for her 8 year old yesterday :facepalm: I don't see anything wrong in this if your cousin is capable of monitoring her activities on FB
Raghav_12 Posted January 6, 2013 Posted January 6, 2013 A cousin of mine created a Facebook account for her 8 year old yesterday :facepalm: what is relevance of that with respect to this thread? Just asking.
Desi Cartman Posted January 6, 2013 Posted January 6, 2013 what is relevance of that with respect to this thread? Just asking. Read 2 posts a above mine where posters are discussing new technology which is being introduced in India and how Indians are not ready for it. I'm not saying people in the US are not doing the same but % of people who are not aware of the risks is way too high in India. The other day I read about a school girl who was drugged and raped as she met someone online (Facebook) and went out to meet him.
Raghav_12 Posted January 6, 2013 Posted January 6, 2013 Read 2 posts a above mine where posters are discussing new technology which is being introduced in India and how Indians are not ready for it. I'm not saying people in the US are not doing the same but % of people who are not aware of the risks is way too high in India. The other day I read about a school girl who was drugged and raped as she met someone online (Facebook) and went out to meet him. Oh okay.. I get the context. thanks.
Crookbond Posted January 6, 2013 Posted January 6, 2013 A cousin of mine created a Facebook account for her 8 year old yesterday :facepalm: I don't see anything wrong in this if your cousin is capable of monitoring her activities on FB FYI - legally you can't have a Facebook account unless you are 13 years of age. http://www.facebook.com/help/441374602560317/
AGHORI Posted January 6, 2013 Author Posted January 6, 2013 FYI - legally you can't have a Facebook account unless you are 13 years of age. http://www.facebook.com/help/441374602560317/ Then,Being a responsible indian citizen,caring relative D C should immediately report that account to concerned authorities:beee:
Desi Cartman Posted January 6, 2013 Posted January 6, 2013 I don't see anything wrong in this if your cousin is capable of monitoring her activities on FB She herself isnt on facebook :P nor does she doesnt use computer everyday. Also its just not an isolated case, almost all kids between older 8-9 year have facebook accounts in urban educated/rich India