Contracts for player: Finally BCCI comes up with it!

Chandan

Number of contracted players up from 17 to 33, Manohar is president-elect G Krishnan Mumbai The direct effect of India's Twenty20 World Cup triumph, the greater emphasis on India A tours and, probably the emergence of the Indian Cricket League and the movement of players to that was seen on Thursday, when the Indian Cricket Board's list of contracted players was announced. Last year, only 17 players made the grade. This year: that figure had more or less doubled, to 33, even as a fourth grade (D) was created to accommodate India A and Twenty20 stars. Also, on the eve of the 79th AGM of the BCCI, Shashank Manohar unanimously emerged as the presidentelect, to take over from Sharad Pawar in September 2008. This has rendered Friday's AGM a mere formality. The pool of 33 cricketers given contracts for the period October 1, 2007 to September 30, 2008, has been split into four grades and the retainerships have also been increased. While Grade A players will be given Rs 60 lakh (up from Rs 50 lakh); B will receive Rs 40 lakh (up from Rs 35 lakh); C, Rs 25 lakh (up from Rs 20 lakh) and the new D grade, Rs 15 lakh. Pawar said that the idea behind a Grade D was to encourage players. "We are seeing a lot of new talent and want to encourage them. It is also a sort of incentive for a player to work his way up the grade and will bring stability in the life of players." It is believed that the four senior players in the Indian team, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Anil Kumble and Souray Ganguly held discussions with the BCCI office bearers and gradation committee members in Delhi around the time of the launch of the BCCI's Indian Premier League early this month. BCCI secretary Niranjan Shah said that a player not figuring in the contract list going on to play for India would be included in Grade D. "Also, a player from Grade D who plays five Tests or 15 ODIs in a year will be placed in Grade C from that date and would be paid the retainership on a pro rata basis." On the Manohar issue, Pawar said: "We have practically copied the BCCI constitution from the International Cricket Council, which names a president-elect an year in advance. I will vacate my office sometime in June next year, as I will take over as the vice-president of the ICC. Chirayu Amin, the BCCI vice-president from West Zone, will be acting president for a couple of months before Manohar takes over" Manohar said he would view this coming year as a "learning process". "I'll have to look into all the departments of the game from now on," he said. He said while several plans were in the offing, he was pretty happy with the functioning of the Board. "One of the objectives will be to make India the number one team in the world. The domestic structure is not bad. I don't agree when people say we don't have competent players. The bench strength is very good at the moment." If the widened pool is any indication, yes, it is. Rajput retained cricket manager Lalchand Rajput, who was the cricket manager in India's successful World T20 championship in South Africa recently, retains his post for the upcoming seven-match one-day series against Australia. This is an interim arrangement, said Shah. guru.krishnan@gmail.com ________________________________________ So the president of next year has already been 'elected' and he is looking to make India the number one side!!! Yet he thinks that the domestic structure is extremely good!! What a fool this guy is. No wonder India would NEVER climb up in whichever format till these stupids are at the helm of the board!!! TOP

wow pathan grade c??? and karthick grade b?? Terrible
Short memeory hai kya.. Karthik has been top scorer in a role of opening batsman that too overseas, which has been bane of many indian batsmen over the years . He fully deserves it.
So the president of next year has already been 'elected' and he is looking to make India the number one side!!! Yet he thinks that the domestic structure is extremely good!! What a fool this guy is. No wonder India would NEVER climb up in whichever format till these stupids are at the helm of the board!!!
where does he say that? all i see is "The domestic structure is not bad" quote. and since the icl has come into play, the bcci will eventually be making sure the domestic scene is up to snuff. i think ipl will do a whole lot of good for india (domestic scene, all types of pitches, stadium upgrades, etc).
So India won't be having a coach in near future??? This news has left me fuming, and all the happiness of players' contracts finally being finalised has evaporated!!
i dont think our record, the last couple of months without a coach, isnt too shabby y'know. A proper minnow bashing bangla win, future cup victory against saffies in foreign conditions of ireland, test victory against england where everybody contributed (kartik in particular) and the rise of a great bowling tandem, coming back in the odis 3-0 against england with probably the best non t20 cricket match victory in the 6th odi and of course a storybook victory in the twenty20 world cup. i much rather the board wait a bit more and get dhoni's opinion of the type of coach he wants to work with his plan. we dont want to have another chappel/ganguly episode blow up again with both guys disagreeing with each other over the direction of the team. .

Record isn't too shabby but the captain resigned due to extreme pressure and after a complete loss of form in test cricket. Can you imagine what effect this can have on the young captain?? I hope you know what the head coach does at international arena---he takes the pressure off the captain , off field, organises and looks after every player off field, helps the captain in forming strategies against the opposition hence taking some pressure off him in that area too, so that he can concentrate on his own game. Who'll do all these things for young Dhoni?

i agree with you that we do need a coach eventually. i much rather have prasad and robin singh take over along with a batting specialist. also have a different cricket manager every other series.
No. Different cricket manager can never get to understand the demands of player and would not be able to help anyone. By the time he would get a grip, the tour would be over. I'd suggest you read John Wright's "My Indian Summers" to know about these things and demands intricately.

Just read this from Prem Panicker's blog: Why not just shut it down? PTI reports that at the BCCI AGM going on in Mumbai just now, the board has decided to appoint Ravi Shastri as chairman of the National Cricket Academy. The question is not whether Shastri can do the job; it is: will he? This is the guy who for the past three months hasn’t had a moment to spare for a meeting of the committee to select a national coach. If his schedule doesn’t permit him a day for such important business, how likely is it he will be a hands on administrator for the NCA? Seriously, why does Indian cricket administration keep recycling these two, three tired names—Sunny, Shastri, Kapil? Surely there are enough former players around who can be trusted to do an honest job, when it needs to be done and not when it happens to be convenient? ------------------------------------ So a board which can't find a coach for its national team in 6 months time, and won't be able to in another another 6 months or maybe more, a board which can't find a chairman for its National Cricket academy who can devote a bit of time there to see that things improve, who thinks that domestic cricket is good enough to keep producing champion cricketer is dreaming to make India the number one side in cricket!!!!!! I just do not know how to react to this news!

So here you go: No deadline for coach appointment: BCCI Mumbai, Sept. 29 (PTI): The Cricket Board postponed yesterday a selection meeting at Bangalore and made it clear that it was not fixing any deadine to appoint a new coach after Greg Chappell's refusal to extend contract following India's ODI World Cup debacle. "We are not going to say when he's (coach) going to be appointed. It will be done in reasonably quick time," said BCCI Treasurer, N Srinvasan, after saying that the coach. "Our president (Sharad Pawar) was not available for the meeting. We have not met yet and gone through any applications for the job that have been received by us," he said. "There has been little time. Players have just come back from England and then from the World Twenty20 Cup. We have back-to-back matches against Australia," he added. Since Chappell's exit, India have managed with stop-gap arrangement with Ravi Shastri, who was Friday appointed by the BCCI as chairman of its National Cricket Academy, Chandu Borde and Lalchand Rajput - all former Test players - acting as the team's cricket managers on different tours. Rajput has been retained as the cricket manager for the seven-match series against Australia commencing at Bangalore today after successfully doing the job with triumphant Indian team in the twenty20 World Cup in South Africa. Pressed further on the issue the BCCI official quipped "The country should be happy with the team doing well and the fans are eagerly looking forward to the series (against Austraia)". ------------------------------------- So it'll be in reasonably quick time, as has been said since last 6 months?? Is our team going to be coachless for the coming Pak series and will it go to Australia without a coach too?? And there has been little time?? For whom?? Players are not going to select the coach, nor is BCCI playing instead of players. So who had little time for this simple job?? Does BCCI think that 6 months is a little period to appoint a coach? How much more time does it need--6 years???

Munaf hurt by speculation over fitness : 'It's a question of my respect' Cricinfo staff September 30, 2007 spacer.gif Munaf Patel, ignored for the Twenty20 team and dropped from the one-day squad, has expressed his hurt by the constant questioning of his fitness and lack of intensity. "I am not upset that I was dropped, because another player has got a chance. That's fine. I am just so angry with people who are saying the wrong things about me," Munaf told the Sunday Express. "Let somebody tell me to my face that my attitude is not right. "After earning a lot of money, you feel a bit numb about it, inside. That's when you realise that what's really important is your izzat, the respect. You don't get that with money, any amount of money. Cricket has given me the money, and the respect. But now, with all this talk of lack of fitness and intensity, it's a question of my izzat. And that's really hurting." Munaf did not play a single full Test on the South Africa tour. He then missed the four-ODI series against West Indies but returned in time for the World Cup before breaking down with a back injury in Bangladesh. He missed the Test series against England because of a back strain but was included in the one-day squad as a replacement for Sreesanth. Venkatesh Prasad, India's bowling coach, said he was "pretty happy" with Munaf's fitness but suggested that he wasn't bowling with the same intensity as earlier. Munaf said that he was reticent by nature and was a misunderstood man "What is this intensity? Talk to me, try to understand me ... The problem with me is that I speak very less. I speak only when I want to, and when I feel the need to. But what I say is straight from the heart. That's how I grew up in my village. That's my nature, what can I do about it? Munaf also sought to squash speculations about his reputation for dubious fitness. "See, the injury [in South Africa] was on the bone, and obviously, not visible. Who will understand that? The physio knows it, ask him. He has the X-rays, the MRI scans. I can't go around showing my X-rays to everybody who asks me. I know what that injury was all about, when I should play, when I shouldn't. Only me, nobody else. I never lie." _______________________________ If he is really hurt, and if this inspires him to prove the people wrong, then it is extremely good for us and Indian cricket!! There is nothing better than a fired up Munaf. Go Munaf and prove yourself!!!

>>>>"There has been little time. Players have just come back from England and then from the World Twenty20 Cup. We have back-to-back matches against Australia," he added. As if they have been on the field playing.... What have they been doing. What is stopping them from choosing a coach? This is what happens when you have power and spotlight hungry part timers for officials.....

75 days on, players to sign up Hindustan Times New Delhi, December 15, 2007 Kadambari Murali, First Published: 02:22 IST(15/12/2007) Last Updated: 10:04 IST(15/12/2007) DropShadow_BotLeft.gifDropShadow_BotRight.gif The Indian team leaves for Australia in two days. Interestingly, not one of the 16 players in the squad (15 of who are on the BCCI's announced list of contracted players) has signed any contract with the BCCI as of now. It's like this: More than 75 days ago, 33 players were awarded graded contracts by the BCCI for the 2007-08 season. In an interesting gesture, the BCCI had almost doubled the number of players it had on retainerships and even included a new "D" category, of players who the Board thought would probably play for India in the near future. Unfortunately, the Board simply didn't find the time to get around to sending the players copies of their contracts or getting them signed. "They'll probably do it at some stage," said a top player, "but when, we're not sure." Well, here's some happy news for them, possibly. BCCI secretary Niranjan Shah says the contracts "will be signed in the next couple of days". "There is no problem here, as the clauses were the same, the contracts are a formality." Asked why it took two and a half months to send off unchanged contracts, Shah said "delays happen" and that "members had to be consulted". But consulted about what when there were no changes is rather unclear. Shah, incidentally, also said the players would soon be receiving their (delayed) 13 per cent share of last year's revenue. "We take it from September to September (the cricketing year), so when they've signed the contracts, we'll send them the money," he added. Perhaps the signing of contracts is a formality, but if there were no changes to be drafted, then the delays just reflect an utter lack of a system (or perhaps, interest) on the Indian Board's part. As the players have been in India for the last couple of months, there was no reason to not send them the contracts to look through properly, instead of hurriedly insisting they are signed - which is what will probably happen - just before they fly off to Melbourne. The players are also not happy with the fact that the Board is yet to appoint a long-term media manager. "Given the overwhelming presence of the media, the kind of interview requests we get and the controversies generated over small things, it would really help if someone handled everything and accompanied the team on a long-term basis," said a player. Unfortunately, that's not happening as yet. On the three-month long tour of Australia too, ad-hocism will prevail: Assistant manager MV Sridhar will double up as media manager. ----------------------------------------------------------------Goddddddddddddddddddddd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can this BCCI do any job properly?????:angry_smile::banghead::mad::devil_smile: