SLICKR392 Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 I never said he wasn't a good player in ODIs. What I do not agree with is calling him India's greatest ODI player ever or one of the world's greatest players ever. not one of the best batsmen and certainly not one of the best players in ODIs. Obviously he is one of the very best in ODIs. What more has he got to do? I rate SRT over him considering the sort of bowlers he faced and the team mates that he had were no Kohlis or Rainas. For the sake of being an SRT fan, you guys are going way too hard on Dhoni.
Sidhoni Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 For the sake of being an SRT fan, you guys are going way too hard on Dhoni. This. And it isn't even needed. You can easily be a fan of both.
Sachin=GOD Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 Obviously he is one of the very best in ODIs. What more has he got to do? I rate SRT over him considering the sort of bowlers he faced and the team mates that he had were no Kohlis or Rainas. For the sake of being an SRT fan, you guys are going way too hard on Dhoni. when I said not one of the best batsmen and certainly not one of the best players in ODIs I meant certainly not the best ever/best of all time as some people are saying. I also rate Dhoni highly - he is without a shadow of a doubt India's best WK-batsman in ODIs ever and he's a damn good finisher in ODIs. But time and again we have seen that if the top order fails, Dhoni also fails. Its mainly when the top order has provided a good start that he has played his best innings - that to me is not the sign of a batsman who is called by some as "the best ever" or as being "the greatest Indian ODI player ever".
SLICKR392 Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 This. And it isn't even needed. You can easily be a fan of both. That goes the other way as well. Dhoni fans going after SRT for surreal reasons. Its a package in the SRT vs Dhoni thread.
Sachin=GOD Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 This. And it isn't even needed. You can easily be a fan of both. Bhai I never said I'm not a fan of Dhoni - my problem is that in reality he has not been as successful a batsman as he is made out to be.
SLICKR392 Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 when I said not one of the best batsmen and certainly not one of the best players in ODIs I meant certainly not the best ever/best of all time as some people are saying. I also rate Dhoni highly - he is without a shadow of a doubt India's best WK-batsman in ODIs ever and he's a damn good finisher in ODIs. But time and again we have seen that if the top order fails, Dhoni also fails. Its mainly when the top order has provided a good start that he has played his best innings - that to me is not the sign of a batsman who is called by some as "the best ever" or as being "the greatest Indian ODI player ever". That is so not true. He plays it equally well either ways, good start or not. Usually the run rate would be below par and he gets us to a match winning one. Recently against England, Pakistan and Australia in the warm up.
Sidhoni Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 That goes the other way as well. Dhoni fans going after SRT for surreal reasons. Its a package in the SRT vs Dhoni thread. But Dhoni fans give all due credit to Sachin, same is not the case other way around. Bhai I never said I'm not a fan of Dhoni - my problem is that in reality he has not been as successful a batsman as he is made out to be. He has been. Mind-boggling stats. Average of 100 while chasing, average of 51 with SR of 90 : For about 200 innings. he is definitely a contender for one of the best ever ODi batsman
SLICKR392 Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 But Dhoni fans give all due credit to Sachin, same is not the case other way around. Which Sachin fan did not give Dhoni credit? Lalloo? MTC? They all cheered for him yesterday.
Sachin=GOD Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 That is so not true. He plays it equally well either ways, good start or not. Usually the run rate would be below par and he gets us to a match winning one. Recently against England, Pakistan and Australia in the warm up. do you mean the Champions Trophy Final where he scored 0 ? do you mean the Champs Trophy match where he didn't bat? there he did play well.
bulbul Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/28081.html?class=2;filter=advanced;home_or_away=2;orderby=default;team=6;template=results;type=allround http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/28081.html?class=2;filter=advanced;home_or_away=3;orderby=default;team=6;template=results;type=allround http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/28081.html?class=2;filter=advanced;home_or_away=1;orderby=default;team=6;template=results;type=allround
Sachin=GOD Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 But Dhoni fans give all due credit to Sachin, same is not the case other way around. seeing statements like "opening is easy in ODIs that is why he chose to bat there" or "he bats where he likes, not where the team needs him to" etc don't seem to me like giving credit :giggle:
Sidhoni Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 Which Sachin fan did not give Dhoni credit? Lalloo? MTC? They all cheered for him yesterday. Talking about whole career. Here S=G thinks that he is not a good batsman and definitely not one of the best in ODIs
SLICKR392 Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 do you mean the Champions Trophy Final where he scored 0 ? do you mean the Champs Trophy match where he didn't bat? there he did play well. The England and the Pakistan ODI series. And there you go rushing in numbers. If this is not being biased, than what is this? I really don't want to get into this delusive and stupid argument of Sachin and Dhoni that you guys are having. Sorry. I respect them both equally and I feel stupid of myself to be involved in this.
Haarkarjeetgaye Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 yeh duniya ugte suraj ko salaam karti hai. sachin ka bye bye ho chuka odi mein. jitni series sachin 10 saal mein nahi jeeta utni to dhoni mein 10 months mein jeet lee.
Sachin=GOD Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 Talking about whole career. Here S=G thinks that he is not a good batsman and definitely not one of the best in ODIs I said "he is not as successful as he is made out to be" - how does that mean that he is not good? once again, I said "he is not one of the best ever in ODIs" - there is HUGE difference between the 2 statements. I already said today (maybe in this thread or in some other thread) that he is among the best currently.
Sidhoni Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 I said "he is not as successful as he is made out to be" - how does that mean that he is not good? once again, I said "he is not one of the best ever in ODIs" - there is HUGE difference between the 2 statements. I already said today (maybe in this thread or in some other thread) that he is among the best currently. one of the best finishers' date=' not one of the best batsmen and certainly not one of the best players in ODIs.[/quote']
bulbul Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 S=G, just mention how many people you consider greats of all time in ODI cricket so that these people can keep quite.
Sachin=GOD Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 . among the top ones currently' date=' not of all time.[/quote'] :dontknow:
Sidhoni Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 :dontknow: I missed that post where you said he is among the best currently. :nice: But I think its also time to accept he will walk into an all time ODI XI with ease
Sachin=GOD Posted July 12, 2013 Posted July 12, 2013 I missed that post where you said he is among the best currently. :nice: But I think its also time to accept he will walk into an all time ODI XI with ease for me the best WK-Batsman is Gilly 7 he will be the one in my all time XI. But thats just my opinion :two_thumbs_up: