‘I don’t have to bother about anything except getting runs’

DesiChap

‘I don’t have to bother about anything except getting runs’ - A TELEGRAPH SPECIAL - Yuvraj Singh, MoS in the ODIs versus Pak, opens up

New Delhi: Team India’s ODI (and Twenty20) vice-captain, Yuvraj Singh, has struck a purple patch. He may, of course, still not make the XI when the Test series begins here on Thursday. MoS in the ODIs against Pakistan, Yuvraj spoke to The Telegraph at the Le Meredien on Tuesday evening. The following are excerpts On having bagged his fourth MoS award, on Sunday, this time 19 months after his last (at home, versus England) I’ve been batting well for the last six months or so (starting with the ODIs in Ireland)… However, I’d only got one big score against Australia in the series before Pakistan and, so, was determined to score big in every alternate match at least… I’m happy I could get fifties four times out of five. On whether the award has enhanced his claims for a berth in the Test XI Well… My job is to get runs… If the team management feels I fit into the XI, then I’m going to be there… It’s not for me to tell people that I should be in the team… I don’t have to bother about anything except getting runs. On his most satisfying innings of the series The 77 in Kanpur, where the wicket was low and slow. In the past, I’d been criticised for not doing well on such surfaces… On being disciplined for the first time by a Match Referee (Roshan Mahanama in Jaipur) Till that evening, I’d never shown dissent in seven-plus years of international cricket… It happened in the heat of the moment and I apologised to the umpire (Suresh Shastri, who’d actually erred)… I reacted that way (indicating the ball had gone off his shoulder) because we were then in a critical phase of our chase… We lost, but I could have… On what drives form Quite a few factors… Hard work most definitely and there’s the element of luck too… You’ve got to work hard and your game has to be disciplined. On