Finally people are talking about it : IT killing Bangalore

Bangalore like any other place experiencing massive growth in a short span of time has some teething infrastructure issues,that dosent mean the city is dying. Classic case of living in the past. The world was a lot less polluted place before cars and other modern inventions came along. So should we go and live in 'those' times?
It is lot worse than what you are saying Mandrake. Today Bangalore is the 3rd most populous town in India(after Mumbai & Delhi). The bulk of the boom has come in the last decade and no reasons for guessing why that has happened. In 90s the growth was 60 percent plus, in 2000s it is even more. Suffice to say that the planning of city has hardly been able to keep up with it. I beleive you are seriously mistaken about "old times" here. Local Bangalorean residents are having issues with the way their city has come full circle in last decade or so. From a garden city to a city of mall. From a city of musical heritage to absolute no-no now. I beleive in a way this might have been one of the reasons why Kannada theatres stopped showing Hindi movies a while back perhaps? The key question of course is - What can Bangalore IT bigwigs do? Well I can only assume that from a city that has made Murthys and Premjis billionaire many time over it would be nice to do some sort of planning for their expansion. Maybe pick on concept of Satellite towns? Maybe do something for preserving heritage of Bangalore? I would think this might be a sign of a sort of resentment brewing amidst the middle class too. Would be foolish to overlook it or get defensive about it. xxx
Bhaiya ' date=' Kudh kushi ka matlab... apna haath jaganath ....[/quote'] DR, make khud-kushi as khud-khushi..:cantstop: waise surprised to see KR giving all these double meaning lines :two_thumbs_up:

More then the IT guys , I would blame the politicians for hiking the land price. They have vested interest in it. They allot themselves acres and acres of land in developing area and then encourage this artificial hike, Case in point Deve Gowda has acres and acres of land in Devanahalli ( Bangalore Airport area) . Same with YSR who owns acres and acres of land in and around Shamshabad( Hyderabad airport area). But would agree that IT guys have contributed to this malice. Plus the fact that they tend to own more than one vehicles sometimes or own the larger ones like qualis and this does not help in easing the traffic congestion .

Bhaiya ' date=' Kudh kushi ka matlab... apna haath jaganath ....[/quote'] Man my mind is getting blunt how cud have I missed that analogy:haha:
More then the IT guys ' date=' I would blame the politicians for hiking the land price. They have vested interest in it. They allot themselves acres and acres of land in developing area and then encourage this artificial hike, Case in point Deve Gowda has acres and acres of land in Devanahalli ( Bangalore Airport area) . Same with YSR who owns acres and acres of land in and around Shamshabad( Hyderabad airport area). But would agree that IT guys have contributed to this malice. Plus the fact that they tend to own more than one vehicles sometimes or own the larger ones like qualis and this does not help in easing the traffic congestion .[/quote'] Aapne mere muhn ki baat chhin li.. In same article they are suggesting the percentage of people dependent on IT is over-estimated.. There are not as many IT guys as opposed to the rest and as far as number of car is concerned every tom dick and hary has one these days .. Elite pros certainly have one.. Even Bank cashiers own car, so do profs lawyers doctors everyboyd does that, not an IT-only problme. Heard YSR own 3000 acres of land that too after he donated couple of thousand.. Just wondering how do politicians get away with this.. IN bihar we have stopped electing landlords as legislators other states should take a leaf from it. IN delhi each damn cabinet minister owns a bungalow on two-acres of prime property whose cost runs in couple of 100 crores. Do these morons need to live like yester0year kings.. why can't they erect an apartment complex as luxurious as they want and free up all that land.. it will reduce even security cost since instead of deputing couple of dozen policemen at each bungalow all they will have to do is guard one building..
More then the IT guys ' date= I would blame the politicians for hiking the land price. They have vested interest in it. They allot themselves acres and acres of land in developing area and then encourage this artificial hike, Case in point Deve Gowda has acres and acres of land in Devanahalli ( Bangalore Airport area) . Same with YSR who owns acres and acres of land in and around Shamshabad( Hyderabad airport area). But would agree that IT guys have contributed to this malice. Plus the fact that they tend to own more than one vehicles sometimes or own the larger ones like qualis and this does not help in easing the traffic congestion .
I would look at it this way KR. The price of land as such definitely owes a lot of the usual politician-land mafia-goons triology that is prevalent in every Indian city really. What is the other side of the equation is the concept of apartment home, multi rises and all that stuff. From the article I quote Jackbastian Nazareth, executive director of Sobha Developers, one of the biggest builders in the city, says that about 60 per cent of the houses they build are picked up by IT people. Another big builder, Mantri Developers, too lets on that more than 40 per cent of their houses are bought by the young techie crowd. You can see obviously the demand-supply thingy going on here and how one set of people might have affected an entire city. In a sense this is true for most of our large cities and I daresay it is something of that cognizant of. Its a classic case of putting all the eggs in one basket and if tomorrow there is an IT recession then ...

Agree with your post Lurker on the demand-supply thing. I am surprised at the alarming rate with which high rise buildings are cropping up in Bangalore. It's almost as if they borrowed this concept from mumbai.

I would look at it this way KR. The price of land as such definitely owes a lot of the usual politician-land mafia-goons triology that is prevalent in every Indian city really. What is the other side of the equation is the concept of apartment home, multi rises and all that stuff. From the article I quote Jackbastian Nazareth, executive director of Sobha Developers, one of the biggest builders in the city, says that about 60 per cent of the houses they build are picked up by IT people. Another big builder, Mantri Developers, too lets on that more than 40 per cent of their houses are bought by the young techie crowd. You can see obviously the demand-supply thingy going on here and how one set of people might have affected an entire city. In a sense this is true for most of our large cities and I daresay it is something of that cognizant of. Its a classic case of putting all the eggs in one basket and if tomorrow there is an IT recession then ...
People are obviously gonna flock to the profession(IT in this case) which promises them a better life. What did the Govt provide before IT came along in India...years of jobless growth throughout eighties and nineties. The real estate nexus is to be blamed on politicians not techies. Btw having lived in Bangalore between 1999-2005, I never felt the city is dying and all that crap.True,traffic worsened and there were other issues that come with prosperity.When any change happens there are some who get left behind.No rocket science that.
People are obviously gonna flock to the profession(IT in this case) which promises them a better life. What did the Govt provide before IT came along in India...years of jobless growth throughout eighties and nineties.
That statement lacks little sense when dealing with the subject here - Bangalore. Bangalore, even in 70s and 80s, was one of the prosperous town of the country. Some of the premium organizations operated from there, many still do. The educational institutions were excellent and the infrastructure was excellent again. For all the heavy talk about IT lets be clear on one thing; IT did NOT spring up in backwaters of India a la Jehanabad or Hubli. It built on the cities that had excellent infrastructure(by Indian standards) - Bangalore, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Poona etc etc. So yes I have little sympathy for any argument that says - What did the Govt provide before IT? Govt provided those exact same infrastructure that IT built on. Question to you - Name me one Indian city/township that IT bigwigs have built from scratch. Just one shall suffice. You are free to look at Jamshedpur, Bokaro, Bhillai, Bhopal and many such townships that were established by "old economy". xxxx

Those cities built were necessity of manufacturing unit Lurker.. for envioronmental legislation and the sheer massive requirement of space for manufacturing industry they had hobson's choice which was to move to open field outside city noboyd likes soot-vomiting manufacturing unit in the middle of city. I don't see any altruistic motive in that.. IT industry has most certainly kept alive many EPZs away from city whihc has given rise to mushrooming habitation in the area , like NEPZ in noida.. yes there are few manufacuturing units there too but mostly it's flooded with IT coimpanies. These EPZs serve the purpose of that industry.... Rest assured if need arises even towns will get established all those little townships with high rise apartment is after-all sustained by IT industry.

Those cities built were necessity of manufacturing unit Lurker.. for envioronmental legislation and the sheer massive requirement of space for manufacturing industry they had hobson's choice which was to move to open field outside city noboyd likes soot-vomiting manufacturing unit in the middle of city. I don't see any altruistic motive in that..
Yes and No DR. By and large I can understand where you are coming from. But you have the examples of a good thought out strategy. Take the example of MECON, Ranchi(Mandrake should be able to shed more light on it). MECON was built with an idea of consulting in Iron and Steel Industries. Quite similar to IT though obviously different. I would say the number of people working at MECON, Ranchi would be about 5,000(if that) but it has a very decent township at Shyamli. Now of course MECON and Shyamali are more famous for Dhoni. Now lets take the example of Bangalore. Is it unfair to say that atleast 15,000 IT people work at Infosys Bangalore? If you include all the branches within Bangalore, add the usual workers(everyone from Accounting to janitors) the number should be around 20,000 if not more. Combine this with Wipro, TCS, Satyam., HP, Cognizant and the workforce number should go up to 50,000 within Bangalore. Add in small companies and the number of people working in IT one way or other should be about 60-75,000..maybe even more. How is that not a drastic situation? The former, MECON, is an example of a planned strategy. The latter, IT in Bangalore, is a boom..and exactly that. xxx
As for my gutter words etc. u havent seen anything yet dumbo. xxxx
Mr. douche bag, you mean you can go lower and show your filthy class, Thats awesome... ooohh...i shake in my boots :nervous: :finger:
Mr. douche bag, you mean you can go lower and show your filthy class, Thats awesome... ooohh...i shake in my boots
As you should dumb broad. Come back for more when you want public humiliation :hysterical: And yeah by the way 17 post and no point on the subject yet. No surprises there clueless one :hysterical::hysterical:

Again lurker that MECON example has to do with manufcaturing.. I am sure those consultants have to have hardcore technocrats and they need manufcaturing labs to aid their consultancy.. Another point about IT company is it never started like manufcaturing units needing this much manufacturing capacity hence will be needing thes many personnle whihc invariably is huge and they need to be accomodated.. It starts with 10 people working in basement then 20 working in some room keeps increasing incrementally. Still I see fair number of EPZ exclusively manned by IT companies and they are like townships... Another reason of IT company not investing that much in infrastructure of their employeees is lack of stability of work force and also inherent instability in their market. See if a manufacturing unit stops functioning still the manufcaturing infrastructure is there and it's huge that capital doesn;t go anywhere and can be leveraged any time .. Now take IT companies all they have is intellectual capital of employees who levae if company goes in red and that paper capital on stock exchange. ..Too much fluid not enough solid..That's why it;s not just in India but world over manufacturing companies establsih townships IT companis don't.. nothing sinsiter there it just doesn't make business sense like it does with manufcaturing companies.. We will have to get over that manufacturing business model must be followed everywhere dictum

As you should dumb broad. Come back for more when you want public humiliation :hysterical:
Peabrain, you are not realizing you are the one showing your low class and getting publicly humiliated here. Ignorance is bliss for you, eh? If you want a debate you should show respect. Not demand by trying to show some pathetic arrogance!
Peabrain' date=' you are not realizing you are the one showing your low class and getting publicly humiliated here. Ignorance is bliss for you, eh? If you want a debate you should show respect. Not demand by trying to show some pathetic arrogance![/quote'] 18 and counting dumbo. This is why you should start understanding the very language - English - that you use on Messageboard. Atleast then maybe you will know what is the thread about and possibly contribute? Alternatively you can cling on to your lack of self-esteem, not to mention knowledge, and come back more for public humiliation. Keep it up dumb broad, I aint going nowhere. And get cracking on brushing up some knowledge clueless broad :hysterical:
Again lurker that MECON example has to do with manufcaturing.. I am sure those consultants have to have hardcore technocrats and they need manufcaturing labs to aid their consultancy..
That was an example DR. I mentioned MECON specifically since it is largely a Consulting unit;albeit in a specific area. Not much different from ITs. But you are free to change the model to Railways, Banks and whatever else you can think of. Take Banks for example. Do they provide their workers with flats and apartments? Not always but a lot of times yes. In Patna you have the Bank colony right under that Bahadur bridge. In Bombay I can remember a few apartments like that in Thakur Complex, for private banks like HDFC and so on. My point being that you can find such examples. And yes it would be a good idea to think outside the box a little bit on this one. When TELCO can provide housing for its workforce why not TCS(TATA Consultancy Services)? xxxx