Old guy Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 Never said a great player :facepalm:,just talked about his mythical talents ,which should have helped him convert those mythical talents into some runs.People get ecxited seeing him bat because of some shots he can execute which are eye catching but saying average of 61 shows he is a top test prospect and failed ODI bat is pure rubbish. But quite convienent of you to suggest he would make a good test player citing examples of above mentioned average ODI players :hatsoff: And talking about bowled,seen him getting lbw playing across lots of time too.So much for the perfect technique :haha: but but u saw those lbw in odis not in tests so feck off! :finger:
CG Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 Bharat These guys are like bcci selectors who think one has to be great in odis to get a chance in tests like raina,yuvi.You do not need to argue. Matter of fact rohit List A average is 34.
Old guy Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 Bharat These guys are like bcci selectors who think one has to be great in odis to get a chance in tests like raina' date='yuvi.You do not need to argue.[/quote'] nah i dont want raina and yuvraj in team even if they are gr8 in odis hope u get there is no formula here odis are different i agree with this but its the way he has been failing in odis its worrying has he been some onel ike pujara who is solid in technique and was getting out in odis slogging i would have agreed with u guys but this guy is just missing ball getting bowled,getting lbw there is problem in his defensive technique ,there is problem in the way he plays swinging ball ...
Old guy Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 do list a include odis? just asking cos first class include tests..
CG Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 nah i dont want raina and yuvraj in team even if they are gr8 in odis hope u get there is no formula here odis are different i agree with this but its the way he has been failing in odis its worrying has he been some onel ike pujara who is solid in technique and was getting out in odis slogging i would have agreed with u guys but this guy is just missing ball getting bowled,getting lbw there is problem in his defensive technique ,there is problem in the way he plays swinging ball ... Yes he missed some straight ones in srilanka.But today he looked good and comfortable before that ball jumped up.He front foot defence was good today against junaid. He started at no 7 .He moved to top order where he failed and then he had success against wi in middle order.But sachin comes back so he is back to lower order.Odis really are no judje of players You have players like shewag,dhoni as too diff examples.
CG Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 do list a include odis? just asking cos first class include tests.. Yes.
Old guy Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 Yes he missed some straight ones in srilanka.But today he looked good and comfortable before that ball jumped up.He front foot defence was good. He started at no 7 .He moved to top order where he failed and then he had success against wi in middle order.But sachin comes back so he is back to lower order.Odis really are no judje of players You have players like shewag,dhoni as too diff examples. arre yar its not even dismissals im talking about have u seen him bat in south africa? he was batting in top order and was clueless against there lame left arm quick while on other end kohli was middling everything more then his dismissals its his inability to cope with pressure which worries me this average of 2 he is def better then that but think about it .. in test cricket singles are some times even harder fielders are close bowler can continously work u over of anything when u fail like he has here chances are he will be even bigger failure in tests now scenario 2.... he is failing in odis cos he is trying to slog...and is looking solid but runs are not coming this case i can agree he will be better bet in tests but with rohit its not like that he has the shots he is just not surviving international quality bowling.. hope u can see the difference nay way i wont discuss on this topic any more tired of this bs
bharat297 Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 Bharat These guys are like bcci selectors who think one has to be great in odis to get a chance in tests like raina,yuvi.You do not need to argue. Matter of fact rohit List A average is 34. I know I should stop ... The fact is I sometimes wonder why the BCCI administrators are such idiots and now it dawned on me ... These people don't magically fall from the sky and into positions of cricketing power. They are just Indian fans and like many Indian fans completely confused. Here we have a cricketer who a host of high-profile former players have said is a standout talent ... Sunil Gavaskar, Ian Chappell, Sanjay Manjrekar, Aakash Chopra, Sourav Ganguly, Wasim Akram, Adam Gilchrist, Andrew Symonds, David Lloyd, etc. When he started in ODI cricket and played a couple of really classy knocks against high-quality opposition in Australia, many people around the world wondered why this kid (he was a kid then) wasn't in the Test squad. Indian fans were like "nooo ... Nohit must prove himself !!!" Ok fair enough he didnt have a spectacular ODI record and a poor Ranji average. Then he brought his average up to 61 in FC cricket, and has been one of the most consistent run makers in the tournament for several years. But nope ... Indian fans are like "noo ... he fails in ODIs ... why would he magically do well in Tests. Look he got bowled! We cant have him in Tests". NEWSFLASH PEOPLE: Our Test side is an international laughing stock!!! We've gone from 1st to 5th in the Test rankings faster than we could say "We've won the World Cup" ... and here we've got a batsman who the rest of the world is looking at and scratching their heads going "Why the f*** isnt he in the Test side?" ... and yet some fans are so arrogant that they think they know better than all the former players and commentators who all happen to point out just how talented this batsman is and constantly question why he isn't in the Test side! Fine then ... I wont argue for this anymore ... It's borderline ridiculous. I'm probably arguing with the next generation of Indian cricket administrators anyway
CG Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 arre yar its not even dismissals im talking about have u seen him bat in south africa? he was batting in top order and was clueless against there lame left arm quick while on other end kohli was middling everything more then his dismissals its his inability to cope with pressure which worries me this average of 2 he is def better then that but think about it .. in test cricket singles are some times even harder fielders are close bowler can continously work u over of anything when u fail like he has here chances are he will be even bigger failure in tests now scenario 2.... he is failing in odis cos he is trying to slog...and is looking solid but runs are not coming this case i can agree he will be better bet in tests but with rohit its not like that he has the shots he is just not surviving international quality bowling.. hope u can see the difference nay way i wont discuss on this topic any more tired of this bs That lameduck bowler is currenlt ranked 4 in icc charts.In Southafrica Everybody from tendulkar to dravid have struggled.Kohli was brilliant on that tour .Test cricket there are attacking fielders and There are gaps to exploit which will help him. If guys like jadeja,raina can get a chance for india in test rohit sharma deserves it just on basis of his fc record.Let him fail in tests we can talk then.Nobody could have predicted shewag who started out as a odi player would be average in odis and great in tests.
Sid Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 Waiting for the super tailunted Rohit to make his test debut and take the world by storm soon.Still remember the great quote by Cricket Tragic here,Rohit's reputation as a test batsman increases with every test match he misses
NareshK Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 I know I should stop ... The fact is I sometimes wonder why the BCCI administrators are such idiots and now it dawned on me ... These people don't magically fall from the sky and into positions of cricketing power. They are just Indian fans and like many Indian fans completely confused. Here we have a cricketer who a host of high-profile former players have said is a standout talent ... Sunil Gavaskar, Ian Chappell, Sanjay Manjrekar, Aakash Chopra, Sourav Ganguly, Wasim Akram, Adam Gilchrist, Andrew Symonds, David Lloyd, etc. When he started in ODI cricket and played a couple of really classy knocks against high-quality opposition in Australia, many people around the world wondered why this kid (he was a kid then) wasn't in the Test squad. Indian fans were like "nooo ... Nohit must prove himself !!!" Ok fair enough he didnt have a spectacular ODI record and a poor Ranji average. Then he brought his average up to 61 in FC cricket, and has been one of the most consistent run makers in the tournament for several years. But nope ... Indian fans are like "noo ... he fails in ODIs ... why would he magically do well in Tests. Look he got bowled! We cant have him in Tests". NEWSFLASH PEOPLE: Our Test side is an international laughing stock!!! We've gone from 1st to 5th in the Test rankings faster than we could say "We've won the World Cup" ... and here we've got a batsman who the rest of the world is looking at and scratching their heads going "Why the f*** isnt he in the Test side?" ... and yet some fans are so arrogant that they think they know better than all the former players and commentators who all happen to point out just how talented this batsman is and constantly question why he isn't in the Test side! Fine then ... I wont argue for this anymore ... It's borderline ridiculous. I'm probably arguing with the next generation of Indian cricket administrators anyway Hopefully first, we will never see him in ODIs again. He will probably get a chance in tests soon because there are a couple of spots opening up and they have to give a chance to someone who is doing well in FC. But I think he will fail miserably there too. You cant convince me that someone who cant do well in ODIs can do well in Tests. You could argue there are some batsmen who cant adjust to ODI and do well in tests like Laxman but their problem typically is hitting the aerial shots, rotating the strike and keeping up with run rate which Rohit Sharma doesnt have a problem with as he does this regularly in IPL. His problem is temperament and playing too many loose shots and not having the patience to see off good bowling spells.
Old guy Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 Waiting for the super tailunted Rohit to make his test debut and take the world by storm soon.Still remember the great quote by Cricket Tragic here' date='[i']Rohit's reputation as a test batsman increases with every test match he misses actually now a days its increasing with every failure in odis logic....here we go be prepared...! since yuvraj and raina are good odi players and failed in tests thatm ust mean rohit who is failing in odis is good test player! :woot: :yay::hitler::hitler:
Sid Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 actually now a days its increasing with every failure in odis logic....here we go be prepared...! since yuvraj and raina are good odi players and failed in tests thatm ust mean rohit who is failing in odis is good test player! :woot: :yay::hitler::hitler: :giggle::hysterical:
Tendulkar_Bhai Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 How this incredibly over-rated, equally under-achieving player keeps making the playing XI ahead of more deserving candidates like Manoj Tiwary, Saurabh Tiwary, Ambati Rayudu is beyond reason. At what point do fans stop calling Rohit Sharma as a really talented player who is at the cusp of greatness and start calling him as a perennial under-achiever who, despite an abundance of talent, simply does not have the mental fortitude to succeed, at least at this stage of his career. Consider this - Virat Kohli made his ODI debut a full 15 months after Rohit Sharma did. Since that time, he has gone on to establish himself as THE best batsmen in ODI cricket, while Rohit Sharma still casually struts with the tag of a relative newcomer. Saurabh Tiwary is a total flop he had one good IPL years ago and isnt even on the radar! I dont think Tiwary is any better than Rohit but Rayudu probably deserves a chance. The difference between kohli and Rohit is that Kohli excelled in ODI's from the start and this led to cementing his place in tests (where he has been less impressive), Rohit's strength would be tests but he has still yet to make his debut and isnt given a consistent run in ODI's.
bharat297 Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 Hopefully first, we will never see him in ODIs again. He will probably get a chance in tests soon because there are a couple of spots opening up and they have to give a chance to someone who is doing well in FC. But I think he will fail miserably there too. You cant convince me that someone who cant do well in ODIs can do well in Tests. You could argue there are some batsmen who cant adjust to ODI and do well in tests like Laxman but their problem typically is hitting the aerial shots, rotating the strike and keeping up with run rate which Rohit Sharma doesnt have a problem with as he does this regularly in IPL. His problem is temperament and playing too many loose shots and not having the patience to see off good bowling spells. Ok ... Finally a sensible argument ... My point is he should be given a decent run in tests ... I wasn't saying he will be great ... He may fail miserably ... But if Raina gets 17 tests, if yuvraj gets 40 tests, if ravindra freakin jadeja gets a test ... Wth is the problem if rohit Sharma who has a better technique and first class record than those guys gets a run. it seems people are more concerned with winning an argument than seeing a talented player with a brilliant domestic record get a chance. So guys ... You guys win the argument! I give up! Well done! I hope our test side is full of guys like jadeja, s.tiwary, ... Just as long as there is no nohit. Omg nohit rhymes with rohit ... That must mean I know something about cricket
Sid Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 Nobody here is saying give chances to Jadeja,Raina,Tiwary etc.Here's hoping Rohit has a great test career but people here are just laughing at a lunatic fact that a guy who has been a complete disaster run scoring wise ,temparment wise as well as technique wise ,is meant for test cricket.
CG Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 Nobody here is saying give chances to Jadeja' date='Raina,Tiwary etc.Here's hoping Rohit has a great test career but people here are just laughing at a lunatic fact that a guy who has been a complete disaster run scoring wise ,temparment wise as well as technique wise ,is meant for test cricket.[/quote'] He averages 30.Shewag ,yuvi all used to average in the low 30s and then increased their average. He has two man of series awards in odis,If this is disaster our standards are pretty high.:giggle:
Sid Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 He averages 30.Shewag ,yuvi all used to average in the low 30s and then increased their average. He has two man of series awards in odis,If this is disaster our standards are pretty high.:giggle: Rohit Sharma is ODI disaster anyway you look at it.He was also given the no.3 spot which he failed to cement.Pls dont mention Sehwag,Yuvi with this joker in the same breath :facepalm:
CG Posted December 30, 2012 Posted December 30, 2012 Rohit Sharma is ODI disaster anyway you look at it.He was also given the no.3 spot which he failed to cement.Pls dont mention Sehwag' date='Yuvi with this joker in the same breath :facepalm:[/quote'] Yeah rohit got grand total of 8 matches at no3.Yuvraj singh till 2005 averaged 32.Rohit sharma has won odis for india singlehandedly.As i said if he is a disaster our standards are pretty high.