poori_meri Posted January 22, 2008 Posted January 22, 2008 KARACHI: Pakistan skipper Shoaib Malik has revealed that his marriage plans with an Indian girl ended because both families could not reach an understanding on certain issues. Speaking about his relationship with the Hyderabadi girl, Aisha, Malik also clarified that no 'Nikah' took place between them as reported in some sections of the media. "Yes I had a long relationship with her and we planned to get married. But no Nikah ever took place and in the end our families could not reach an understanding on various things," he said. He dismissed reports that he had dumped the girl because of family pressure after the death of his father in 2006. "No there was no pressure on me. But in marriage it is important for both families to have an understanding," he said. Malik stated that he had no regrets about having wanted to marry Aisha and revealed that they were still friends. Malik, however, made it clear that he had no immediate plans to get married as he was concentrating on his cricket career. "But yes my family is looking out and I will take care of their wishes. I have become captain and have now achieved a lot in my cricket career. So if a good Rishta comes along I have no problems," he said. Malik's relationship with Aisha became a fodder for newspapers and the Pakistani players were feted to a grand reception by Malik's then future in-laws when the team toured India in 2005 :yay:
Rajiv Posted January 22, 2008 Posted January 22, 2008 Malik stated that he had no regrets about having wanted to marry Aisha and revealed that they were still friends. After getting that close to marriage, I find this hard to believe..
fineleg Posted January 22, 2008 Posted January 22, 2008 :yay: poori meri, why this icon for this specific post?
theguyinallblue Posted January 22, 2008 Posted January 22, 2008 "But yes my family is looking out and I will take care of their wishes. I have become captain and have now achieved a lot in my cricket career. :giggle:
Guest dada_rocks Posted January 22, 2008 Posted January 22, 2008 GIB achievement is a relative thing .. someone's epitome of achievement is someone else's routine job.. For instance when CC gets a 12th stdanard math probelme right he treats himself with opium joint whereas for you that might be walk in the park.. see how it works.. Same with malik being named captain is achievenet enough for him while others might like to create record as skipper of their respective teams
The Outsider Posted January 22, 2008 Posted January 22, 2008 Malik stated that he had no regrets about having wanted to marry Aisha and revealed that they were still friends. After getting that close to marriage, I find this hard to believe.. I have a few friends who have kept in touch/been friends with their ex's. I've always gone for clean breaks. In fact, if I bumped into the other person at some stage, I always found it quite embarrassing.
Aditi Posted January 22, 2008 Posted January 22, 2008 I have a few friends who have kept in touch/been friends with their ex's. I've always gone for clean breaks. In fact' date=' if I bumped into the other person at some stage, I always found it quite embarrassing.[/quote'] Agreed 100%. Clean breaks are most definitely the way to go. Attempted to be friends with one guy I dated, but now I couldn't care less about keeping in touch, or even wanting to.
Guest dada_rocks Posted January 22, 2008 Posted January 22, 2008 I have a few friends who have kept in touch/been friends with their ex's. I've always gone for clean breaks. In fact' date=' if I bumped into the other person at some stage, I always found it quite embarrassing.[/quote'] That's the way to go I keep it clean even when there is nothing to be broken off , given I am member of FOSLA( frustrated one sided lovers association) it did happen many times..:D
Guest dada_rocks Posted January 22, 2008 Posted January 22, 2008 Agreed 100%. Clean breaks are most definitely the way to go. Attempted to be friends with one guy I dated' date=' but now I couldn't care less about keeping in touch, or even wanting to.[/quote'] Aap mahan hain Only if I was little younger, little less ugly, little less pauper, and not married ..............:D
The Outsider Posted January 22, 2008 Posted January 22, 2008 Agreed 100%. Clean breaks are most definitely the way to go. Attempted to be friends with one guy I dated' date=' but now I couldn't care less about keeping in touch, or even wanting to.[/quote'] Kaun, Varun?:P
Rajiv Posted January 22, 2008 Posted January 22, 2008 ..I have experienced that closures are more like a situational compromise, you can achieve clean breaks depending on the seriousness of the relationships, the deeper it is; the harder it gets. If it's reached the marriage point, I find it hard to see the friends factor
CC1981 Posted January 22, 2008 Posted January 22, 2008 Malik stated that he had no regrets about having wanted to marry Aisha and revealed that they were still friends. After getting that close to marriage, I find this hard to believe.. Why is that hard to believe, Rajeev ? If the proposal fell through because the families are kabaab-mein-haddi, then its not hard to remain friends...its not like the fault is in the relationship or the two love-birds. Btw, apart from one girl i dated, i've been in touch with and still friends with all the girls i dated- even the ones who broke my heart and the ones who's heart i broke. Ofcourse, some time off (ie, clean break) is necessary to sort one's head/heart out but i find it fairly easy to come to terms with the friendship after the dust has settled- so long as one or the other didn't genuinely screw over the other person ( ie, for eg cheated on them or took money and ran away etc).
The Outsider Posted January 22, 2008 Posted January 22, 2008 If the proposal fell through because the families are kabaab-mein-haddi, then its not hard to remain friends...its not like the fault is in the relationship or the two love-birds. If the proposal broke solely because families were Kabab mein haddi, then you were the loser.
CC1981 Posted January 22, 2008 Posted January 22, 2008 If the proposal broke solely because families were Kabab mein haddi' date=' then you were the loser.[/quote'] No, both were losers in this. But again, both are not at fault, atleast not directly. So i don't see why this should create tension/animosity between them- it wouldn't in case of me, since my level of interaction with a lover is solely dependent on my and her interactions and their outcomes, not external factors. If two people love each other/like each other but marriage falls apart because of family and that these two care so much about family pressure & control, then it is not really reason enough to completely break off all contact. But then again, it is not noted in desi culture to have failed relationships ultimately exist as friendships. But my take is, frankly, desis are by and large, too inexperienced and too conservative to know how to balance these factors- they give in to family control too easily, are too caught up in 'samaaj kya samjhega' mentality and mostly don't have much experience in relationships till they get married.
The Outsider Posted January 22, 2008 Posted January 22, 2008 Arre bhai, I understand all those philosophies!!
CC1981 Posted January 22, 2008 Posted January 22, 2008 Arre bhai' date=' I understand all those philosophies!![/quote'] Cool. Somehow i got the impression that you were saying its a good reason to break total contact. Sorry! :hmmmm2: