Family differences ended relationship with Indian girl: Shoaib Malik

Sorry if I offend those mumbo-jumbos here preaching free society and how India is very backward yada yada, we are happy whatever we are.....we don't need "cultural" lessons from western educated Macaulaylized Indians. My parents, for my cousins marriage rejected a girl after meeting her simply because they were not comfortable with the girl wearing a denim trouser while people came to see her for the first time -- and I am thankful to that. Thing is our modest "Culture" which has evolved over the preiod of time is our one of the very few distinct identities which still seperates us from "materialistic" west. If we will loose *this* identity, there won't be much difference left to ponder between we Indians-- inheritors of great ancient civilization and western cave dwellers. Once we loose this identity which we are slowly but surely loosing, we will become like-- "Dhobi ka Kutta - na ghar ka na ghaat ka" ak.a. CC 1981 :hysterical:

we are happy whatever we are
Umm..can you please tell me why you make such comments presuming to speak about ALL of India as if you are some sort of repesentetive for all ?!?
we don't need "cultural" lessons from western educated Macaulaylized Indians.
Ofcourse you do, dumba$$. This kind of idiotic arrogance is the reason you see such continuous rise-n-fall of civilizations. Fact is, Indian culture can learn a LOT from the western culture. Fact also is, western culture can learn a LOT from the Indian culture. And this applies to all levels of cultural, religious and philosophical viewpoints.
My parents, for my cousins marriage rejected a girl after meeting her simply because they were not comfortable with the girl wearing a denim trouser while people came to see her for the first time -- and I am thankful to that.
You may be thankful, i am ashamed- because i don't doubt your story and infact i KNOW that many indians are similar in their views. Sad that marriage is so objectified in not only Indian but most Asian societies- its a deal instead of letting a relationship evolve and let the two people come to THEIR OWN conclusion about marriage at THEIR OWN SUITED TIME or break if off it doesn't seem to work etc. True, there are drawbacks to this too, as there are insane amount of divorces and faltoo relationships out here in the west. Which is why i said quit your 'my superior mahaaan Indian culture' bakwaas. Indian culture is one of the greatest culture in the history of mankind- but by no stretch of imagination the sole claimant to the 'greatest' title. Egypt, Mesopotamia, China, etc. ALL have a say or two in that-including on philosophical levels. The cultures can grow by mutual interactions and maybe that is why, the richest place culturally today-hands down- is Europe. Ever since they gave up fighting wars amongst themselves, there has been an explosion of trans-European cultural fusion as well as development of the indegenous cultures. So much so that, it really does pale India in every which way- not just in terms of quality of the culture and art produced, the scale or the sheer diversity of it. This is not a question of cultural inferiority or superiority- its a question of a culture progressing, evolving , sliding backwards or standing still. India needs to be more open to western cultural influence. And in this, i am 100% sure, India will emerge the victor- changed in many ways but definitely intact largely. What i am proposing is relaxation of personal freedom in the society- let people dress what they want, dance, eat, listen to etc. what they want. Make it so that all cultures-Indian,western ,African, Chinese-etc. ALL cultures are welcome. Indian culture, seriously speaking, is strong enough to profoundly influence the rest as well as take it to the next level of cultural growth & explosion if it relaxes its attitudes regarding social norms and interactions a bit.
If we will loose *this* identity, there won't be much difference left to ponder between we Indians-- inheritors of great ancient civilization and western cave dwellers.
Why did you run away from the thread where i PROVED to you that these so-called 'cave-dwellers' of the west and middle east gave India WRITING and/or that ALL INDIAN SCRIPTS TODAY- INCLUDING THE EARLIEST SCRIPTS OF SANSKRIT ARE OF MIDDLE EASTERN ORIGIN ? Answer that, mate, since as my links showed, its fairly easy to track and find out the decendance of writing, just as its fairly easy to find and track the descendance of Urdu writing from arabic, urdu vocabulary largely being fusion of hindi + persian + arabic, bengali descending from Prakrit, which descended from Sanskrit etc etc. You went typically silent on there and again opened your yap in another thread like a bible-thumper. What gives ?!? Btw, i cannot stress enough- if you want to get a good perspective on cultural developments, read the book Guns, Germs and Steel by Jared Diamond. You may disagree with him in the end or (like me) you may agree largely with his conclusions but i am sure you will learn a LOT about not only foreign cultures but also their interactions and developments from a very scientifically consistent perspective. Btw, bear in mind- this book has cult following amongst North American/Western Universities and students but much of the western conservative base ( the same Christian 'evil ones' you decry when you are not busy shouting yourself hoarse decrying Muslims) has decried it or has been scandalized by it. But really, do get past this ' Indian culture = greatest culture ever, something divine, Godly,blahblah' nonsense- that is no different from the extreme conservative racist/cultural-superiorists in practically every other country of old 'historic claim' to being a cultural powerhouse.
what do you think you do day in and day out ..... facking idiot.
If you had a better grasp of English, ( which i've pitifully underscored so many times- to an extent where you went whining that this is not a grammar contest LOL) you'd realize that i am ALWAYS writing pronouns in a first person singular or third person singular form. Thus, i am expressing MY OWN views. While Sandy, you and D_R amongst a few others, have a penchant of writing in first person plural and third person plural, thus speaking IN BEHALF of the community you claim to represent ( in your case, Indians/Hindus/Islamophobes, etc). Samjhey ? PS: I told you before- swearing at me pointlessly won't get you anywhere. You've been in ignore for a while now and only anything meaningful pertaining to the thread will be occasionally entertained from your demented brain.

The problem with the west is an arranged marriage is generally perceived as a forced marriage! West cannot digest the fact how two people can live together for life without having to live together or know each other before marriage.... Indians cannot digest the fact how two people can live together without having to get married.... Thats the cultural difference Sandtest is talking about....

Umm..can you please tell me why you make such comments presuming to speak about ALL of India as if you are some sort of repesentetive for all ?!?
As BossBhai already pointed it out to you, but you were unable to grasp as usual, once again I will try to forge this in your little head, that this comment was exactly in the same way as you, since as usual you insulted Indians by becoming "representative" of so called free-thinking western society and ridiculing Indians as inexperiences and "conservative". what is "conservative" for you is a proud culture for us. A rich tradition of "family values" where father and mother are highly respected.
Fact is, Indian culture can learn a LOT from the western culture. Fact also is, western culture can learn a LOT from the Indian culture. And this applies to all levels of cultural, religious and philosophical viewpoints.
Westren culture has NOTHING innovative which is not known to us Indians, of course some retarded, confused Macaulaylized dhimmi Indians like you will always remain in this illusion Western self-proclaimed "superiority" is Indian cultures "inferiority". It's not the problem of India or Indian culture.
You may be thankful, i am ashamed- because i don't doubt your story and infact i KNOW that many indians are similar in their views.
You are ashamed because as usual you are unable to grasp the main message out of such incidents. So you need some simple lessons for Indian culture. The to be bride in India is considered as good luck equivalent to Godess Laxmi-- the godess of well being, prosperity and happiness. We culturally "inferior" Indians than west even give so immense respect to a women who will arrive at her new home after marriage that we consider her as Godess Laxmi bringing loads of happiness to family....see the difference with West...eh?? The girl who is marrying to guy is not just associated with the guy but with entire family. If a parent goes to visit their future daughter-in-law affectionately referred as "Bahu" , they expect her to dress "modestly" at least infront of them, when they visit her for the first time. For parents she is Not JUST the wife of their son, but the future of entire family. An important LINK to pass our rich culture and tradition to next generation children and foster them. We are liberalized, but not retarded like west that we will not mind nudtity of our own daughter-in-law infront us......and that is why when my parents didn't feel comfortable with future daughetr-in-law wearing tight jeans and reject her -- I feel thankful that they taken the step in right direction, sending a clear signal. Kuch semejh mein aayi baat?? ya wohee dhaak ke teen paat?
Sad that marriage is so objectified in not only Indian but most Asian societies- its a deal instead of letting a relationship evolve and let the two people come toTHEIR OWN conclusion about marriage at THEIR OWN SUITED TIME or break if off it doesn't seem to work etc.
retard, when did I say, people are NOT allowed to come to their OWN conclusion!! Why you are moaning? people are very much allowed to come to their OWN conclusion ONLY difference being apart from Boy and Girl, parents are also nurturing the relationship, involved with their kids for their well being......so it is WIN-WIN -- Involvement of All, happiness of all......That is Indian culture in a nutshell.
Why did you run away from the thread where i PROVED to you that these so-called 'cave-dwellers' of the west and middle east gave India WRITING and/or that ALL INDIAN SCRIPTS TODAY- INCLUDING THE EARLIEST SCRIPTS OF SANSKRIT ARE OF MIDDLE EASTERN ORIGIN ? Answer that, mate, since as my links showed, its fairly easy to track and find out the decendance of writing, just as its fairly easy to find and track the descendance of Urdu writing from arabic, urdu vocabulary largely being fusion of hindi + persian + arabic, bengali descending from Prakrit, which descended from Sanskrit etc etc. You went typically silent on there and again opened your yap in another thread like a bible-thumper. What gives ?!?
Idiot, why I will run-away? I ignored you coz, it was your same age old nonsensical drivel and spinning through putting some sentences, the least I am interested is educating a shameless git like you who has been proved wrong several times reagrding knowledge of Vedanta right here!! Anyway, so you in all your grand illusion of knowledge consider that origin of WRITTEN texts of Sanskrit (Lipi or alphabet) are only proof for superiority of your some middle-eastern languages......which I once agan say is FALSE. It is a flawed understanding of ORIGIN of Vedic era Sanskrit. These people even dont have basic understanding of ancient Indian wisdom called Vedas, Upanishads. Indian ancient scriptures/philosophical/spiritual experiences of great Seers and Rishis are divided into following part -- (1) Shrutis -- which is the orginal wisdom later written in the form of a "book" or scripture or whatever western term one may use. (2) Smritis -- which is the commentary of scholors/learned individuals on original scriptures (3) Yuktis -- the logical analysis based on deduction, induction etc. (4) Anubhava/Anubhuti -- the experience based on the perception of items/objects in this universe. The Vedas belong to the the FIRST category -- that is "Shruti" Just try to understand what it means to be called -- "Shruti". "Shruti" is Not exactly the texts which are RECORDED in alphabets immediately, when a Rishi/Seer reveals/experiences it. They are passed down as ORAL tradition in ancient India as Guru-Shishya Parampara. Although, western self proclaimed scholors claim that some written RigVedic richas are as old as 5000 years (which is obviously older than any known civilization), I still maintain that Vedas are much more older than just 5000 years. Reason being the Vedas are transmitted as "Shrutis"....so it is NOT necessary that one need to know alphbet and writing when things are remembered ORALLY. This is where Sanskrit becomes OLDEST and most ancient civilized language in the Universe....Now question is how a complex RigVedic richa can be transmitted and preserved ORALLY to generation after generation, till alphabets(writing texts) came into existence?? To answer this-- our ancient RigVedic Seers taught their pupils something called VEDANGA -- before revealing Vedas to them. Vedanga simply means limbs of Vedas....after Vedanga is grasped properly it became easy for hundered of disciples of Rishis to remember and recite Vedas as it is. Vedanga includes following -- (1) Kalpa -- Ritual details (2) Shiksha -- Pronounciation details (3) Vyakarna -- Grammer (4) Nirukta -- etymology (5) Chandas -- poetry like (6) Jyotisha -- astrology/astronomy Once a disciple mastered the above 6 Vedangas-- limbs of Vedas, it becomes very easy for him to grasp Vedas ORALLY and Chant. Those who assume that Vedas were written in Sanskrit since the beginning have flawed understanding of it like CC1981.....they were transmitted orally from Seer to disciple in India's great ancient Guru-Shishya tradition or parampara which we are struggling today to preserve. So SANSKRIT is the most ancient Known language to mankind and still remains the SAME -- ORALLY. Btw...not only four Vedas( Rig, Yajur, Sam, Atharva) but also following important contribution to the WORLD by great ancinet Indian civilization were also transmitted in the same way -- (1)Ayur-Veda -- medicine (2)Gandharva-Veda -- Music and Dance (3)Dhanur-Veda -- warfare (4) Shilpa-Veda -- Architecture Veda put in simple terms mean-- Knowledge!! India's contribution to the world in terms of great ancient wisdom is immense-- whole world's civilization put together cannot repay that debt of great ancient land of Bharat.:hatsoff:

Sadepp is cc ko kuchh batana bhains ke aage bin bajana hai..:haha: Forget veda this guy can't translate a simple sentence from hindi to sanskrit or vice-versa .. all his vomit comes from some macalay-putra's commentary..

yaar iss Google G@ndu urf CC ki besharmi dekho...ek toh kaise bhi googling kerke, kahin se ek wikipedia link paa gayaa, ussi ko le kar dindhoraa petnaa suru ker diyaa. main isko aur bezzat nahin kernaa chahtaa tha, lekin kyaa keren, yeh hai ke khud se apni maarne pe tulaa hai..... poori_marlo_meri ka bichadaa bhai lagtaa hai:hysterical:
..I have experienced that closures are more like a situational compromise' date=' you can achieve clean breaks depending on the seriousness of the relationships, [b']the deeper it is; the harder it gets.
True that. Not every relationship(or love) is the same. A typical person will have say 4-5 solid relationships in his/her life and can walk away seamlessly from about half of them. There would always be one or two relationships that you simply can not walk away. This is complicated further if you realize that the situation turned out thus that the other person couldnt have done any better. It is easy to walk away from someone who has dumped you and picked someone else, it is almost impossible to walk away from someone who had to leave you for a variety of reasons. The double whammy of course comes when you understand it so well and still cant do a darn thing about it. Relationships are priceless I tell ya :cantstop: xxx

Wahin to Main kahun abhi tak relationship ka agony-uncle padhare kaise nahin the

Vegas gaya hua tha. Abhi office aaya hoon. Beech mein India bhi match jeet gaya aur tumhara paisa Railway mein bhi doob gaya! Not sure ke which news made me happier :haha::haha:

Vegas mein miss kiya ye match, guru u have missed sthg great.. aur vegas ja rahe ho madam ko bata ke gaye the ya aise hi..:giggle: Oke chalo wapas mila to usmein se 10% tumhara ab to dukhi ho lo mere liye:D

Vegas mein miss kiya ye match' date=' guru u have missed sthg great.. [i']aur vegas ja rahe ho madam ko bata ke gaye the ya aise hi.. Oke chalo wapas mila to usmein se 10% tumhara ab to dukhi ho lo mere liye:D
Arre what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas :D:D Actually match half dekh ke gaya tha on 4th day. But yes I certainly missed the last 3-4 wickets. Was fantastic to see the spell of Ishant Sharma though. Aise this is just the perfect time to go to Vegas so anyone who has some holidays remaining you know where to go.

CC et al We all have different circumstances so it depends how the relationship ended or went into extended warranty mode. My point was that this "friends" word is flaunted very easily when relationships end, for A) it provides a resounding effect that everything went OK B ) it doesn’t demand further questions as to what happened...its like a perfect closure. In Maliks case, when a media person ask this question? What’s he supposed to say? I am so heart broken that it's impossible to go back OR the relationship ended on a bitter note He is simple supposed to say “we are friends" as it sounds right and doesn't allow for more masala

A) it provides a resounding effect that everything went OK B ) it doesn’t demand further questions as to what happened...its like a perfect closure.
C) It absolves anyone from guilt trip. As in even if the girl(guy) moved on in her life he/she doesnt have any guilt feeling of having "let down" her ex-flame and left him/her shattered.

What if one of them didn't move on .... Does the other one have to feel guilty..:D

What if one of them didn't move on .... Does the other one have to feel guilty..
Again it will be dependent on how close the two were and the exact circumstances. If the two people were indeed very close then its hard not to feel guilty on some level. Relationships are the funniest thing. When a break-up happens you want the other person to feel bad for having lost you, and if you get to know that he actually does miss you it makes you feel good. In a way it is selfish but so endearing. In the end time takes care of most wounds but those first few months, into a relationship or just after are pure gold.
C) It absolves anyone from guilt trip. As in even if the girl(guy) moved on in her life he/she doesnt have any guilt feeling of having "let down" her ex-flame and left him/her shattered.
..exactly, the " we are freinds" carries lotta lugguage behind