Feed Posted May 26, 2008 Posted May 26, 2008 Mumbai can see the Warne-ing sign Clash of two greats - Deadly duel: Its Shane vs Sachin Sachin vs Shane has been more than a mere contest, it has been a battle, a battle of mind as much as of body, of craft as much as of graft, of flair as much as of at- trition, of silk as much as of steel Varun Gupta Jaipur WE THOUGHT, and subsequently rued, that we had seen the last of it. That only memory and those nostalgic classic DVDs will help us relive those moments that famously compelled the peerless Sir Donald Bradman to realise that, yes, he just might have a parallel in modern day cricket, while forcing similar confession out of Richie Benaud, former Australian captain and leg-spinner. The sight of Shane Warne slumping disconsolately on his haunches after Sachin Tendulkar had collared him for a "it's gone miles" maximum with effortless ease in the unforgiving dust of Sharjah, or Tendulkar being teased, lulled, deceived and eventually snared by the master leg-spinner in the extravagance of Melbourne Cricket Ground and the cauldron of Chennai has not only enthralled the connoisseurs, but also the commoners. Tendulkar vs Warne has been more than a mere contest, it has been a battle, a battle of mind as much as of body, of craft as much as of graft, of flair as much as of attrition, of silk as much as of steel; a rivalry lacking the obviousness of the Muhammad Ali George Foreman one, but none of its intrigue and skill. What has added to its allure is the fact that there has been no outright winner Surely, Tendulkar has had the edge over his charismatic adversary but Warne's absence from India's 2004 and 2008 Down Under forays due to a drugs ban and retirement has ensured that the jury is not out just yet on this one. And even the sporting Gods are keen on another dance. That is why on Monday they have provided both of them with a chance for a final hurrah, something which was inconceivable even six months back, when IPL was yet to be launched. In Jaipur, the two talented and driven men will square off once again, but this time in a format their bodies might loathe, but the mind certainly relishes. Two individuals well in their professional dotage, past their prime-Warne is "happily retired" now- full of mutual admiration, eager to land one final, decisive blow Warne is certainly roused up for this one, even willing to ignore the call of his "battered" body. After beating Chennai, when asked by this correspondent when he would take a break as he had been playing in every game, Warne said he would sit out the next one. But when told he would be up against Sachin, he promptly changed his stance, saying, "then I'll probably sit out against Mohali!" That comment itself lays bare the desire and his eagerness to get back at a man whom he describes as "his favourite cricketer", and the one who gave him "nightmares". Sachin too was effusive in his praise on Sunday. "He is a great bowler. It'll be a fantastic challenge, which I am looking forward to," the Master said. It's been eight years since they last faced-off. High time they duelled again.
ludhianvi Posted February 16, 2009 Posted February 16, 2009 Mumbai rookie Rahil Shaikh gets an IPL contract Mumbai: After an extended struggle, life gets easier for Mumbai paceman Rahil Shaikh HE may no longer have to continue working as a physical trainer of the Al-Barkat Malik Mohammed School (Kurla) cricket team to support his family. He may not even be required to supervise the cleaning of the Mithi river again. Tough times for Rahil Shaikh could end soon. Mumbai Indians have signed left-arm pacer Rahil, who made his Ranji Trophy debut last week against Orissa in Cuttack, for the Indian Premier League (IPL), according to Mumbai Cricket Association's honorary joint secretary and Mumbai Indians' adviser Hemant Waingankar. "We are yet to sign the papers, but he has been selected to play for Mumbai Indians," Waingankar told MiD DAY yesterday. The 23-year-old Rahil hopes his Rs 20 lakh contract will help ease some tension at home. "We have gone through a lot after my father's death (seven years ago). I had to drop out of school in Class X to support my family. Whatever money I earned helped us survive. There were no savings," said Rahil, the eldest of four brothers. [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XCXREXSpr1g]YouTube - Mumbai Ranji Trophy pacer Rahil Shaikh[/ame] "We had to borrow money from relatives to treat my mother, who was seriously ill a few months ago. We still have to pay the rent of our room for the past one and half year, which is approximately Rs 10,000. "Hopefully everything will be solved soon. The first thing I will do is clear all debts. The landlord has been very supportive by allowing us to stay without paying any rent," added Rahil, a resident of Cheetah Camp, Trombay. Rahil was spotted by none other than Sachin Tendulkar during a practice session last season. "I was asked to bowl in the nets when Mumbai Indians were practising. I used to go regularly to MCA's Bandra-Kurla Complex ground. That is when Sachin Sir spoke to me and asked me to work harder. I am thankful to everyone who have helped me reach here," he said. The six-footer had special words for his coach Naushad Khan. "After Allah, he is everything to me. He showed me the way forward. I gave up cricket after nothing happened in Cricket Star, the talent hunt competition. "It was Naushad Sir who brought me back to cricket and also gave me a job as a trainer in a school where he is coaching. I am really grateful to him," said Rahil. Rahil is looking forward to today's Ranji Trophy tie against Punjab at the Brabourne. "It is an important game for me because whoever performs will be retained for the quarter-finals," he said. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Link probably said this many times, but if anyone saw the Cricket Star reality tv show, he was one of the contestants along with Dinesh Salunke. :nice:
Mr. Wicket Posted February 16, 2009 Posted February 16, 2009 Good for the lad. He did well playing for Bombay this season and filling the voids left by injuries/form.
Desi Cartman Posted February 16, 2009 Posted February 16, 2009 there are so many people who struggle in India to get basic facilities like house and medical care. This guy's luck has changed but it reminds me of the millions who will live their whole life struggling.
amits Posted February 16, 2009 Posted February 16, 2009 :two_thumbs_up: for rahil shaikh. hoping he does well
ludhianvi Posted February 16, 2009 Posted February 16, 2009 Rahil Shaikh calls Sachin Tendulkar as Sachin Sir :giggle:
amits Posted February 16, 2009 Posted February 16, 2009 Rahil Shaikh calls Sachin Tendulkar as Sahin Sir :giggle: nothing surprising. lot of young cricketers call tendulkar as sachin sir
Desi Cartman Posted February 16, 2009 Posted February 16, 2009 nothing surprising. lot of young cricketers call tendulkar as sachin sir so should you
Kohum Posted February 16, 2009 Posted February 16, 2009 Good for you Rahil - Keep up the hard work !!
Feed Posted March 19, 2009 Posted March 19, 2009 8 Mumbai Indians' players to undergo training in Durban Eight players of the Indian Premier League (IPL) franchisee Mumbai Indians are set to undergo intense training in Durban, South Africa, ahead of the second edition of the IPL which is awaiting government clearance. More...
Kshatriyan Posted March 25, 2009 Posted March 25, 2009 Mumbai Indians at a training camp in SA KZN are already hosting a number of the Mumbai Indians at a training camp, conducted by local greats Shaun Pollock and Rhodes, and Docrat believes this year's IPL represents an opportunity for South African and Indian teams to forge a lasting relationship. link: http://content.cricinfo.com/ipl2009/content/current/story/396660.html wow i did not know that there were training camps being conducted for IPL .. I really like the amount of exposure the domestic players are being exposed to ... :) :--D:dance:
Feed Posted March 26, 2009 Posted March 26, 2009 Franchises Begin Preparations For IPL Season in South Africa IPL organizers decided to move the lucrative Twenty20 event abroad when the Indian government refused to sanction the match schedule because it clashed with general elections. There were concerns that India’s security forces would be overstretched covering both. More... Franchises Begin Preparations For IPL Season in South Africa New Delhi. Bangalore Royal Challengers owner Vijay Mallya has already spotted an opportunity in the Indian Premier League’s unexpected move to South Africa this season. Bangalore has six players of South African descent on its squad, including South Africa-born former England skipper Kevin Pietersen, who signed for $1.5 million this season. Pietersen will lead the Royal Challengers for a few matches before he returns to play in the English County championship. Even then, Royal Challengers have options for a top South African player to lead the team as its lineup includes Jacques Kallis and Mark Boucher. “I have several South Africans in my team,” Mallya told Indian media. “I hope the people there too come out and support.” The other South African players in the Royal Challengers squad are Dale Steyn, Roelof van der Merwe and Dillon du Preez. Each team is allowed to play up to four foreigners in the starting 11. The other players must be Indian. IPL organizers decided to move the lucrative Twenty20 event abroad when the Indian government refused to sanction the match schedule because it clashed with general elections. There were concerns that India’s security forces would be overstretched covering both. More suitable weather conditions played a major part in the IPL’s decision to move to South Africa instead of England. Mallya, a leading Indian industrialist who named his IPL team after his whisky brand, believes it wasn’t the weather alone that mattered in the choice of venue. “Apart from the weather, South Africa aggressively pursued the case, which sealed the issue in their favor,” Mallya was quoted as saying by the Press Trust of India. “Cricket South Africa was very aggressive, and I understand the government also stepped in.” Like Bangalore, the Mumbai Indians have a South African connection. Former Proteas skipper Shaun Pollock played for the Mumbai lineup last year and led the team when Sachin Tendulkar was injured. Pollock has now taken up an assignment as a mentor and adviser for the Mumbai Indians and has put several players through a training camp. “I doubt South Africa will be able to get big crowds as we saw” in the IPL last year, Pollock said. “But people here love Twenty20 and appreciate world-class players. I’m sure they will come out in numbers.” Ness Wadia, co-owner of Kings XI Punjab team, was pleased that the stalemate over the venue was finally over, and seemed happy that the tournament’s start was deferred by eight days to April 18. “It would give more time for Yuvraj Singh, Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene to be free from national duty and join the squad,” Wadia said. Kolkata Knight Riders coach John Buchanan on Wednesday disclosed his plan to shuffle the captaincy between four or five players this season. Former Indian skipper Sourav Ganguly was the captain last year of a team that includes West Indies skipper Chris Gayle and New Zealand’s vice captain, Brendon McCullum.