Kartikey Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 Lets see what happens when he becomes Test Captain. He will probably promote YS to 3 and never ever drop him even if he continues his pathetic form.
Kartikey Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 And I wonder how he gets permission from the BCCI to do so many interviews. If the seniors did this, they would have been reprimanded by now. As Sidhu once said, when Yuvraj hit those 6 6's he got a car, when Anil Kumble took 600 wickets, what did the BCCI do? nothing It is clear the BCCI have given Dhoni more powers than any other captain. As u can see, he seems to have the backing of selectors which the other captains did not have.
fineleg Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 And I wonder how he gets permission from the BCCI to do so many interviews. If the seniors did this, they would have been reprimanded by now. As Sidhu once said, when Yuvraj hit those 6 6's he got a car, when Anil Kumble took 600 wickets, what did the BCCI do? nothing . MSD has ads-worthy "glamor"...AK is a loyal workhorse, and does not get special giftz like Yuseless or crores that MSD can get with glamor
Kartikey Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 If people like SRT or RD had done this, everyone would have turned on their back and demanded they apologised. But no, because Dhoni is the so called "new gen Indian cricketer" who is not afraid to give it back to the opposition, people wont say anything against him.
Kartikey Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 MSD has ads-worthy "glamor"...AK is a loyal workhorse' date=' and does not get special giftz like Yuseless or crores that MSD can get with glamor[/quote'] Exactly, but it is pathetic to see the greatest bowler we have ever had being treated like a nobody and remember he is also captain.
Shehezaada Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 I think a lot of misunderstood what many of us are trying to say. First off let's reaffirm the point that we love and respect Dhoni. He's proven to be a brilliant captain, and excellent wicketkeeper, as well as a reliable and intellgent batsmen. What we have a problem with is his tendency to speak his mind a little TOO much...and that makes a negative impact on the team. Remember the game where he was run out because of a mix up with Rohit Sharma? He publically shamed him....the man is on his first away tour and that too a tour of Australia. Tremendous pressure on him, and Dhoni chooses to roast him in public. You never, EVER leave a team mate out to dry in public, no matter what happens. EVER. Having captained sides in the past I can't stress ENOUGH how important this point is. Secondly in this interview, he's entitled to his "I told you so's" and "I showed ya's". What was the need to say "But sometimes it is very important to send the message across, because sometimes people neglect the answer:" What? Who neglects the answer? Why can't dada make a comeback to the team and who is Dhoni to put an obstacle in his path? Last time I checked, team India is still faltering at the top of the order. Ganguly is still very much in the picture in my books. What bothers me is his attitude sometimes. He could have easily said...."well, a lot of people were doubting us..and now we won the CB series. I hope that proves the point...this team can do well, is talented..etc etc. Why bring up the seniors when you know it's a touchy subject? These very seniors, Dhoni, are the ones that fast tracked you into the indian team. Remember when Ganguly said...yeh ladka...mujhse isko chahiye...remember that? The bottom line is there is no harm in speaking from the heart and speaking your mind. The key is to remember your roots and pay homage to them, and not to crumple them as you set out to conquer another obstacle.
graphic23 Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 When the rest of the team failed, he made 76 in Lords and saved the game for us, where the ball was swinging quite a bit. He fought hard to stay in both the innings of Sydney, and in Perth. I do agree that Yuvraj wasn't even willing to fight, which is why he got dropped from the Test team. Look above to the responses as to why Dhoni is backing Yuvraj. Yeah, he wasn't as successful as the other middle order batsmen, but thats why they are legends, and why we can't afford to drop them. He has never made a comment regarding the Test team. He's the captain of the ODI team, and he's speaking like a successful captain. We are not used to captains who are so authoritative and confident about the team, so let us give him some time, and if the team (god forbid) should fail, he will learn to handle failures as well. Regarding the backing from the BCCI, for the first time, they are backing the captain's instincts, and isn't it paying off so far? I am not quite sure how Kumble's 600 wickets fits into this issue. (BTW, they are felicitating him in Chennai the day before the 1st test match - but I agree, he deserves more). What makes you think the BCCI would've reprimanded the seniors. The thing is that the seniors wouldn't have spoken to the media because they didn't want to take the steps that Dhoni's taken. Plus, they are quiet and dignified men (barring Ganguly, who's dignified but not quiet) - they don't seek media attention, because media's been hounding them for the past 10-12 years. He's young, he wants the people to acknowledge that you have to take difficult decisions if you want to continue succeeding. He mentioned several times that when the team succeeds, people are behind us, but when it fails, they will attack you, and make harsh comments. He urged the people to take everything equally. Its a sport, and not a religion. He recognizes this fact that success cannot keep coming, and one day you have to fail. So it is unfair on our part to make comments that he's drenched in success, etc. Again, it is well known that he succeeded because of the backing from the seniors, he has mentioned that several times. He received tips from Sachin on how to handle the bounce in Australia, so did Yuvraj. Ganguly helped them out, and Dravid, arguably the most technically correct batsman in the world, would've no doubt helped him in England, and in Australia. He received backing from Dravid when his wicketkeeping in England was ordinary, to say the least. He's in the test team because he can fight for his runs and his wicketkeeping has improved by miles in the recent months. Diplomacy is different from arrogance. Arrogance would've been, "Dravid aur Ganguly nahi chayiye is team ko." He has never said that. Dravid, Ganguly, Sachin, and Laxman have brought a lot of respect for the Indian Cricket Team, and he's just standing on the shoulders of these giants. I don't think he fails to recognize this. He's not being very diplomatic because he is inexperienced. He doesn't realize the consequences of his words just yet, and as long as he's winning, he won't.
fineleg Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 I think a lot of misunderstood what many of us are trying to say. First off let's reaffirm the point that we love and respect Dhoni. He's proven to be a brilliant captain, and excellent wicketkeeper, as well as a reliable and intellgent batsmen. What we have a problem with is his tendency to speak his mind a little TOO much...and that makes a negative impact on the team. Remember the game where he was run out because of a mix up with Rohit Sharma? He publically shamed him....the man is on his first away tour and that too a tour of Australia. Tremendous pressure on him, and Dhoni chooses to roast him in public. You never, EVER leave a team mate out to dry in public, no matter what happens. EVER. Having captained sides in the past I can't stress ENOUGH how important this point is. Secondly in this interview, he's entitled to his "I told you so's" and "I showed ya's". What was the need to say "But sometimes it is very important to send the message across, because sometimes people neglect the answer:" What? Who neglects the answer? Why can't dada make a comeback to the team and who is Dhoni to put an obstacle in his path? Last time I checked, team India is still faltering at the top of the order. Ganguly is still very much in the picture in my books. What bothers me is his attitude sometimes. He could have easily said...."well, a lot of people were doubting us..and now we won the CB series. I hope that proves the point...this team can do well, is talented..etc etc. Why bring up the seniors when you know it's a touchy subject? These very seniors, Dhoni, are the ones that fast tracked you into the indian team. Remember when Ganguly said...yeh ladka...mujhse isko chahiye...remember that? The bottom line is there is no harm in speaking from the heart and speaking your mind. The key is to remember your roots and pay homage to them, and not to crumple them as you set out to conquer another obstacle. Nice post...Lets see if MM et al get the point being conveyed. Red comment above vs Blue one He could have also said "No comments on selection matters" if an answer did not pop out.
Kartikey Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 When the rest of the team failed, he made 76 in Lords and saved the game for us, where the ball was swinging quite a bit. He fought hard to stay in both the innings of Sydney, and in Perth. I do agree that Yuvraj wasn't even willing to fight, which is why he got dropped from the Test team. Look above to the responses as to why Dhoni is backing Yuvraj. Yeah, he wasn't as successful as the other middle order batsmen, but thats why they are legends, and why we can't afford to drop them. He has never made a comment regarding the Test team. He's the captain of the ODI team, and he's speaking like a successful captain. We are not used to captains who are so authoritative and confident about the team, so let us give him some time, and if the team (god forbid) should fail, he will learn to handle failures as well. Regarding the backing from the BCCI, for the first time, they are backing the captain's instincts, and isn't it paying off so far? I am not quite sure how Kumble's 600 wickets fits into this issue. (BTW, they are felicitating him in Chennai the day before the 1st test match - but I agree, he deserves more). What makes you think the BCCI would've reprimanded the seniors. The thing is that the seniors wouldn't have spoken to the media because they didn't want to take the steps that Dhoni's taken. Plus, they are quiet men (barring Ganguly) - they don't seek media attention, because media's been hounding them for the past 10-12 years. He's young, he wants the people to acknowledge that you have to take difficult decisions if you want to continue succeeding. He mentioned several times that when the team succeeds, people are behind us, but when it fails, they will attack you, and make harsh comments. He urged the people to take everything equally. Its a sport, and not a religion. He recognizes this fact that success cannot keep coming, and one day you have to fail. So it is unfair on our part to make comments that he's drenched in success, etc. Fine, but why does he need to attack the people who got him upto the level. He can be humble and praise his men but why does he need to atatck the seniors???
graphic23 Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 Legends???? :hysterical::hysterical: Please dont put them in the same bracket as Sunny, Rahul, Sachin, Kapil Paaji, Kumble, Vishwanath, Azhar, Gangu, Laxman etc etc Second point - Fine, but why does he need to attack the people who got him upto the level. He can be humble and praise his men but why does he need to atatck the seniors??? Sorry, you've must've misunderstood me. I was stating that Rahul, Sachin, Ganguly, and Laxman were successful because they're legends. I was making the comparison with Dhoni being not as successful as these guys.
Kartikey Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 Sorry' date=' you've must've misunderstood me. I was stating that Rahul, Sachin, Ganguly, and Laxman were successful because they're legends. I was making the comparison with Dhoni being not as successful as these guys.[/quote'] Sorry, my bad. Didnt read the sentence properly. But uve got to agree that he shouldnt criticise people like this.
graphic23 Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 Nice post...Lets see if MM et al get the point being conveyed. Red comment above vs Blue one He could have also said "No comments on selection matters" if an answer did not pop out. As far as the red quote is concerned, I am not sure if the people in question were the seniors as much as the critics who questioned and criticized leaving out Laxman, Dravid, and Ganguly. As far as Ganguly making a comeback into the team in light of the top order failures, I don't think that unless there are repeated failures and gifting of wickets at the top of the order, he can make a comeback. Not to say that he doesn't deserve to comeback but I think the team is being built in vision of the World Cup because he knows how important doing well at the WC is to the Indian population, and he was a victim of the attacks that happened in March and April 2007.
fineleg Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 Bottomline, I think MSD knows how to deflect media questionz. But he also knows how to "play the media", I think this is an intentional comment (not a slip of the tongue) from MSD, and that shows he is bragging in an ostentatious and gaudy manner. I wonder if he can be confident, but quietly confident, and less boastful.
Ram Posted March 19, 2008 Posted March 19, 2008 Dhoni has rubbished no one, he has just spoken in a transparent manner. If people cant distinguish between transparency and arrogance, then there's no use trying to convince anyone.
zubinpepsi Posted March 20, 2008 Posted March 20, 2008 The guy's lack of education does show. That said, all I care is wins. Ofcourse' date=' win is a win. [b']But you are right. It shows. as a person who flaunts and gloats and rubs it in. some people....:hysterical:
zubinpepsi Posted March 20, 2008 Posted March 20, 2008 Its utterly frustrating for me to see the genuine efforts of a true leader, being misconstrued as being brash and arrogant. Dhoni is arrogant ? Do you guys even know what you mean by arrogance ? An arrogant captain wont volunteer to be a full time keeper, captain the side and ALSO be one of its best performing batsman, coming up with some really important performances with the bat, every time the team needs it. An arrogant captain would not have given up his free-flowing batting-style which made him so popular in the country initially, to play more sedately and responsibly, so that he could guide his team to close wins. An arrogant captain wont lose 10 lbs from the time he made his debut, so that he could improve his keeping and become, arguably, the best keeper in the world right now. An arrogant captain wont walk up to his bowler, about to bowl the last over of a big final and say " You arent that bad so as to give 12 runs in this over". And finally, an arrogant captain wont shout aloud "sabse chota kaun hain", when the winning trophy was handed out and relegate himself to the corner position of the winning moments photo. I can go on and on, but I think the message has been conveyed And really, I cant recollect ONE comment that I think Dhoni had made, in an appropriate manner against Dravid or Ganguly. All he has said is that he wants young players in the team and whats wrong with that ? I dont he has made even a single personal comment against Dravid or Ganguly. And because he has openly taken responsibility for the selection and Dravid and Ganguly have been at the receiving end of it, it looks as though he being blatantly anti-senior brigade. If that be the case, then why in the world would have campaigned for Sachin's inclusion ? There is no question of playing favorites in Dhoni's captaincy, you are in the team ONLY if you are capable of delivering what the team needs. And, quite evidently, Ganguly and Dravid have been found short in terms of matching the requirements on a ODI player and they were dropped. Its as simple as that. Its a bit funny isnt it. All you guys love controversy. Dhoni made a big mistake. Like all previous captains, he should have silently worked behind the scenes to get the seniors dropped and acted in front of the media as though he has no clue about whats going on.Then, you all could have filled the pages of this board with masala gossips of who was responsible for all these selection matters. Instead, he chose to be transparent, be assertive and took full responsibility for his actions. And what does he get in return ? Bashing by our own fans that he is "arrogant and brash". For more than a decade, I have been witness to meek Indian teams with in-imaginative and un-inspiring captains. We hardly won anything, didnt we ? Finally, I am seeing winds of change, of a confident, assertive and transparent captain and results are there for all to see. I cant recollect a more fruitful calender year for team India, than it has been, from April 2007 to March 2008 and by jove, its not merely a fortuitous phenomenon. If you have a good captain, pick and the right team and back them, you will win and thats exactly whats been happening. Top Post Sriram..:hatsoff:
zubinpepsi Posted March 20, 2008 Posted March 20, 2008 the whinge fest has started.... Dhoni is not disrespecting any seniors.. some sissy fans jus fall into the media masala trap n start crying horse.. even if hes bragging.. so what?? hes talking after walking.. so all ya sisssy fans shud take a chill pill n b glad tht hes taking India to victory.. its his team after all and he has the responsibility to take home the victory.. so nothing wrong in choosin whom he think willl b fit into the team and nothing wrong in bragging abt this... :beer-bottle: to all the dhoni haters..
fineleg Posted March 20, 2008 Posted March 20, 2008 so nothing wrong in choosin whom he think willl b fit into the team Agreed -he is entitled to this as captain. and nothing wrong in bragging abt this... .. Disagree.
Desi Cartman Posted March 20, 2008 Posted March 20, 2008 to me Dhoni was trying to give it back to the media more than the seniors. He has been a good captain so far & hopefully he will learn to a avoid SANSANI statements soon. But while everybody is saying good stuff about RD , SG , SRT , VVS , AK etc ...I will tell u that all these guys lost a bit of respect when none of them reported match fixing that was happening behind the scenes. I think that blunder was far worse than any statement any future captain could ever make.