Another JMM MP buying case is in offing: 25 crore for each MP

Presumably price for each MP has gone up last time Narsimha Rao forked 5 crore for each MP . This time price is 25 crore.. As usual congress is denyoing the way they did last time until they got caught. Welcome to the indian democracy:--D

Sala ho kya raha hai nuclear deal presumably anti muslim akali dal being asked to vote for manmohan singh because he is sikh pm.. What am I hearing from p-secular front :hysterical:

JMM MPs are some of the biggest criminals in the region. Waise most politicians these days are anyways but JMM as a party leads from the front. Now we are paying 25 crore to bl00dy criminals these days. Probably a good time to join politics now :((

Does anyone know how the UPA govt manages to muster the majority? I know the Samadwaji party has pledged support, but still, thats way short of the required number. Who else is expected to vote for 'em?

Every time a Vote of no-confidence happens, crores of rupees change hands. So much for 'democracy'!
Ignorance galore.. when NDA lost in 1998 cofidence motion Vajpayee knew he is one short of assured majority and instead of buying indepedents he didn't even do the bareminimum which parties do that is disallowing congress MP and CM of Orissa from taking part in vote of confidence motion.. Mind u u can have only one constitutional post propriety demanded this congress MP to have resigne at least one of the post ...... He was allowed to respect the constititonal propriety and resing on his own instead of speaker enforcing that.. needless to say that shameless git didn;t resing from Cmship and went on to vote and NDA as expected was short of one vote.. Not everybody is congress buddy
Does anyone know how the UPA govt manages to muster the majority? I know the Samadwaji party has pledged support, but still, thats way short of the required number. Who else is expected to vote for 'em?
Indepedents will wrest all the power whether upa fails or passes in showing majority...
Ignorance galore.. when NDA lost in 1998 cofidence motion Vajpayee knew he is one short of assured majority and instead of buying indepedents he didn't even do the bareminimum which parties do that is disallowing congress MP and CM of Orissa from taking part in vote of confidence motion.. Mind u u can have only one constitutional post propriety demanded this congress MP to have resigne at least one of the post ...... He was allowed to respect the constititonal propriety and resing on his own instead of speaker enforcing that.. needless to say that shameless git didn;t resing from Cmship and went on to vote and NDA as expected was short of one vote.. Not everybody is congress buddy
Yea right! BJP is definitely the shining beacon of democratic values and principles! Get real, will ya? The very same BJP, which actually signed the original nuclear deal with the Bush administration, shamelessly backed out while in opposition. But Congress, chose to persist with the agreement in the larger national interest, despite the prospect of losing power. Enough said! Stop projecting the BJP as a party full of the direct descendants of Harischandra or something. If they can kill 1200 people all for the sake of a state election, they are capable of anything.
Anothet dose of unrelated crap.. nuclear dela stand does not come under constitutional propriet and has no bearing on democratic values.. Parties can take stand u are free to agree or disagree.. Again baseless unrelated crap of killing people for assembly election thrown in debate because u know u are on sticky ground and as long as u stick to the debate of constititonaly propriety in matters of seeking confidenc u can;t defend congress and BJP certainly comes of as saint.. For unrelated crap last tiem I checked 3000> 1200:--D Stick to topic man raising issues which matter not in a debate is sign of weakness....... U used the word all party use these tactics in lariament I showed u how ignorant u are and then u resorted to raking all kind of issues but the issue at hand which is of constituional propriety in confidence motion.. I will repeat again I don't know what are they going to do in future but only chace they got to be potential as sick as congress they came of as saint..:two_thumbs_up:
The very same BJP, which actually signed the original nuclear deal with the Bush administration
Sir, I usually resist replying you. But could you please substantiate this claim, I am eager to know this. TIA.
Well, initial stats was given in some other thread. Here is what it looks -- Congress + SP = 261 They need another 12 for simple majority to survive. The magical figure to reach is 273. So those who are "expected" to support after Congress offerrs them adequate amount --- JMM = 5 J&K regional outfit = 2 Majlis-e-Ittehadul-Musleemin (MIM) = 1 Mizo National front Front (MNF) =1 Independent = 4 Total = 13 Enough for simple majority.

i think 272 is the figure..when full house is present.. what if some members are absent..and some do not vote? i think Majority depends on the members present at the time of voting? i am not about this actually..

Right. Absent MPs are going to be crucial. Our Loksabha has total strength of 543, so considering half of the total as majority it comes 272. I believe, once speaker notifies all MPs for the date of "vote of confidence", absence of any MP may be considered as "neither oppose nor support". So in that case, no. of MPs absent might get subtracted from the total no 543 and a fresh halfway mark will be worked out. This might reduce the present requirement of total no. of MPs (272) for majority. Therefore, it is very much possible that MPs will receive bribes for even remaining absent!!
Anothet dose of unrelated crap.. nuclear dela stand does not come under constitutional propriet and has no bearing on democratic values.. Parties can take stand u are free to agree or disagree.. Again baseless unrelated crap of killing people for assembly election thrown in debate because u know u are on sticky ground and as long as u stick to the debate of constititonaly propriety in matters of seeking confidenc u can;t defend congress and BJP certainly comes of as saint.. For unrelated crap last tiem I checked 3000> 1200:--D Stick to topic man raising issues which matter not in a debate is sign of weakness....... U used the word all party use these tactics in lariament I showed u how ignorant u are and then u resorted to raking all kind of issues but the issue at hand which is of constituional propriety in confidence motion.. I will repeat again I don't know what are they going to do in future but only chace they got to be potential as sick as congress they came of as saint..:two_thumbs_up:
The whole post makes ZERO sense to me... Cant be bothered to type out a reply for something I cant comprehend.
Sir, I usually resist replying you. But could you please substantiate this claim, I am eager to know this. TIA.
?? Who initiated the deal? Who set the ball rolling?

Its funny beyond description of how some people here portray BJP as some sort of a model political party... I can only imagine what would have happened had BJP been in power and proceeded to go ahead with the nuclear agreement, despite losing support of a coalition partner. It would have been hailed as a selfless move, discarding all ambitions of power, with the sole cause of the larger national interest in mind. There's always two sides to a news. The truthful interpretation and then the 'saffron' interpreation. And unfortunately, this MB is filled with the saffron part of the deal. Congress is no 'saint party', but they must be commended for sticking to their guns on the nuclear deal, despite prospects of losing power.

From jail to bailing out Dr Singh! The Honourable Member of Parliament from Phulpur, Ateeq Ahmad (Samajwadi Party), is in jail. He stands charged with the murder of Bahujan Samaj Party MLA Raju Pal. The Honourable Member of Parliament from Ghazipur, Afzal Ansari (Samajwadi Party), is in jail. He is accused of complicity in the murder of BJP leader Krishnanand Rai. The Honourable Member of Parliament from Siwan, Mohammed Shahabuddin (Rashtriya Janata Dal), is in jail. He has been convicted in the murder of CPI-ML worker Chhote Lal Gupta. The Honourable Member of Parliament from Madhepura, Rajesh Ranjan ('Pappu Yadav'), is in jail. He was sentenced in the case of the murder of CPI-M MLA Ajit Sarkar. The Honourable Member of Parliament from Balia, Suraj ('Surajbhan') Singh (Lok Janshakti Party), is in jail. He was found guilty in the case of the murder of a farmer, Rami Singh of Madhurapur-Purvatola village in Begusarai District.
More

MM u lost it again.. political party and model those two word don;t belong together.. Point being made here is if given the chance congress stoops very low Emergency MP buying ( yes u can whine as much as u want that everyon does but last time I checked noone else has this ignominy thrown on them unlike congress. Congress has not only been accused but court has even found them guilty of the same JMM) PS: Your attempt to change the debate and rope in riots ( as if those 66000 riots were not presided over by congress) is as pathetic as it can get in order to save this sick face of congress.. Face it buddy in the same scenario BJP showed exemplary moral standing.. This is not to say they might not do that in future but so far they certainly are saint as far as contitutional propriety in matter of confidence motion is concerned.. See I am not accusing congress for forking out cabinet berth in return of vote this is acceptable practice not of highest moral standing again btu acceptable noetheless since PM has prerogative to choose his minister.. But throwing money on MPs this is abysmally low and only congres sindulges in that.. There is no ifs and buts about it..

Ateek Ahmed too have been found singing paens for nuclear deal in his jail cell.. read this poignant piece.. http://www.hindustantimes.com/StoryPage/StoryPage.aspx?sectionName=ViewsColumnsSectionPage&id=1942a542-13dd-401f-814c-e491345443b7&&Headline=The+nuclear+fallout&strParent=strParentID Party spokesmen also deny the allegations of horse-trading levelled against them. “These rumours of people wanting money or favours are absolute hogwash,” said a UPA source. “All we do,” he explained, “ is to go to the houses of our friends, carrying a large sack filled with papers explaining the Hyde Act, the 123 agreement, tracts on secularism etc. After a few hours, they are often so overcome with patriotic and secularist fervour that we have to physically restrain them from rushing to Afghanistan to fight Al-Qaeda.” He added the only reason Deve Gowda says he will make up his mind on the deal a day before the trust vote is because he would be taking a short nap till then. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Good info there Gambit. Indeed this is my big apprehension about Indian politics. Sooner or later these arch criminals will become king makers and political parties shall fall over each other to woo them. In this case if Congress is so very interested in getting the Nuclear deal done they should call for an early election and get the mandate rather than do all this trickery.