Came into my bedroom this evening and saw a brownish greenish snake inside the bedroom on the window grill.At first I paniced and screamed. Then I opened the window and tried to shoo it out.....but it just went into the folds of the curtain.I ran out and called out to two labourers working across the road. By the time I came back the snake was no where to be seen. We looked everywhere ,but there was nothing. The guys told me that the snake must have gone out of the window. I wanted to be sure ...so I pulled the curtains to one side and looked closely only to see the snake around the curtain rod under the pelmet. The guys tried to move the snake towards thewindow ,but it went inside the bedside table and hid behind the books. We waited for an hour for it to come out,but when it didn't the labourers turned the table over and as it tried to slither away under the bed ...theguys smashed its head with a rod and killed it.I don't know how itcame in because I always keep the net windows closed. I don't know how long it had been in the bedroom on the window near the head board of the bed. :((:(( I don't mind snakes in open spaces...infact there are a few in my garden. Haven't seen them ...but have seen evidence of their presence . But a snake in the house...that too in the bedroom, somewhere close to the bed was something like a nightmare come true. It's been a few hours but I am still shaking.My back is really stiff and I feel really cold:((:((Hubby is away for a week.Don't know if I will be able to sleep today.:nervous: Poor snake.....why did it have to come inside the house? If only it had gone back from the window I had opened....I feel guilty....I am sure it wasn't poisonous.........:(

Beets, have you ever heard of a news when a snake diligently came through a closed window, waited patiently till the inmate of the house went to sleep, carefully crawled up the bed, bit the person and went away without a trace? Snake bites happen only in the open. So, no worries. If you are REALLY terrified, sleep in the living room or something.

Came into my bedroom this evening and saw a brownish greenish snake inside the bedroom on the window grill.At first I paniced and screamed. Then I opened the window and tried to shoo it out.....but it just went into the folds of the curtain.I ran out and called out to two labourers working across the road. By the time I came back the snake was no where to be seen. We looked everywhere ,but there was nothing. The guys told me that the snake must have gone out of the window. I wanted to be sure ...so I pulled the curtains to one side and looked closely only to see the snake around the curtain rod under the pelmet. The guys tried to move the snake towards thewindow ,but it went inside the bedside table and hid behind the books. We waited for an hour for it to come out,but when it didn't the labourers turned the table over and as it tried to slither away under the bed ...theguys smashed its head with a rod and killed it.I don't know how itcame in because I always keep the net windows closed. I don't know how long it had been in the bedroom on the window near the head board of the bed. :((:(( I don't mind snakes in open spaces...infact there are a few in my garden. Haven't seen them ...but have seen evidence of their presence . But a snake in the house...that too in the bedroom, somewhere close to the bed was something like a nightmare come true. It's been a few hours but I am still shaking.My back is really stiff and I feel really cold:((:((Hubby is away for a week.Don't know if I will be able to sleep today.:nervous: Poor snake.....why did it have too come inside the house? If only it had gone back from the window I had opened....I feel guilty....I am sure it wasn't poisonous.........:(
some people are easily able to identify poisnous vs. non poisnous snakes - I was never able to do that but if its non-poisnous snakes there is nothing to worry about On another note the 2 labourers must have been really nice people

I have stopped counting the number of cups I have had dhondy. I am looking for the macherdani(mosquito net ) my dad had given me when I got married...

Beets, have you ever heard of a news when a snake diligently came through a closed window, waited patiently till the inmate of the house went to sleep, carefully crawled up the bed, bit the person and went away without a trace? Snake bites happen only in the open. So, no worries. If you are REALLY terrified, sleep in the living room or something.
I am not scared of being bitten sriram....just the thought of a snake slithering around in the same room creeps me out. Can't think of swithing off the light. **** ! man...I hope the lights don't go off!

Yes suraj...they were nice. They had worked in my place a few days back and they had lots of good adrakh ki chai at my place... I did remember to reward them (they were reluctant to take it) and also went and told their contractor how brave they were.

I 'll sleep in the other bedroom .Got the mosquito net.....Just have to find some place to tie it up. Will move the Tv to that room and watch tv the whole night or till I fall asleep.

Beetle... i know you are more worried for the little one... my advice...would be to close the windows...i mean the net one...seal it... then make sure every thing is fine...close the door as well...place a cloth under the door... get inside the mosquito net... and try to convince yourself that..all the precautions that you can take...you have taken....aage bhagwan ki marzi...

Done all that sandeep...I am sure there is no more snake in the house and have closed all entrances...its just that its in my head now. The little one is always under a net as there are too many mosquitoes around.....

chalo..pitakji ka dahej ka macchardani kaam aaya...:giggle:... don't you use that Usha sewing machine..whihc your mother gave...woh haanth se ghumane wala.. :giggle: do one thing...seriously..shankar bhagwan ka chalisa ho to usko apne pillow ke neeche rakh ke so jao..or unki koi murti ho to woh rakh lo bed side pe.. i am sure ..you will feel more peaceful..

Your garden has snakes? Where do you live? Sundarbans or something? :D
bhai...arnmy officers get huge bunglows with huge gardens...and since cantt area is mostly green...and this is monsoon season..i am not surprised...

My dad has a thing for macherdanis....:--D His best advice to everyone is...macherdani laga ke soya karo...odomos lagao.....:P No sewing machine sandeep......:((

Your garden has snakes? Where do you live? Sundarbans or something? :D
I am a very environmental loving person. No harming snakes ,lizards and frogs.....(only hate flies and cockroaches ...but I have so many lizards in the house thatI rarely have these two pests) That is why I am shocked at my reaction to seeing (or even thinking )a snake indoors. I am very comfortable with them outdoors.Infact I have often come across them when I go for walks. I just wait for them to cross the road and continue.....Once I saw a small one coming towards the house(in Delhi )and I just picked up a stick and changed its direction and it went out of the garden.
If only Beetle was Chinese... She would drining hot snake soup by now... :D
...and lizard and frog soup too...:--D Apo...I think it came in looking for a lizard......