Lurker Posted October 27, 2008 Posted October 27, 2008 ummm. i agree with her in what she said in that interview. You might look at it that way (mumbai for marathi) but what she meant was few people outside the maharshtrans have scant respect for their marathi culture and way of thinking ( that is how i look at it) She did say that mahrashtrans are also responsible for the situation they find themselves in mumbai and didnt blame all and sundry for the marathi woes and u will be surprised thats what most of the educated marathis think as well . Mumbai has always been sold as Indian town, and NOT Marathi town. If one wants to have a taste of Marathi culture he should try Pune or Aurangabad. As far as I can remember any Hindi movie that talks of Mumbai, or Bombay, as it was called always refers to it as a town where people come and make a destiny/ fortune. I can not recall, from Johny Walker's Aie Dil hai Muskhil jeena yehan jara hat ke jara bach ke yeh hai Mumbai mer jaan to Akbar Khan's Yeh Bombay sahar haadson ka sahar hai, painting MUmbai as anything but Indian. When Yash Chopra made movies about Delhi, that was a different flavour. The taste of a food that was different. A movie set in Mumbai backdrop - from Amol Palekar to Amitabh Bacchan - was always quintessential Indian. There is always the controversy that Mumbai should be its own state, or atleast a Union territory. You can safely assume this is going to gain increasing momentum now. This is one of the reason given by some of the shopkeepers but hey they are ok with english because mumbai is after all a cosmopolitan city. You are preaching to the choir here. I have always maintained Indians should learn their own languages and stop depending on English as the medium that bonds. I would have no problems if all the sign boards were made in Marathis, maybe because I can understand it a bit. Yes if you mean preserving Marathi culture, lingo etc I am with you on that. However a question that arises is what is Mumbai culture? Is it the same as Marathi culture? I say not. Even the common street lingo is hardly Marathi(its not Hindi either). Example - Abbe shumri mein aake mil..(is that Marathi or Hindi??). Who says Shumri in UP/Bihar? And I can assure you if you said "Abbe" to a Bihari he will go nuts on your ar$e. Bombay's culture is its own and that is the beauty of it. Calcutta is Bengali, Chennail is Tamil but Bombay is India. And if its not the case non-Mumbaikars will look at Mumbai in same vein as Calcutta. Many people already are. The ghettoisation you are talking abt between exists everywhere in the country and not just mumbai so why target mumbai alone???. Thats not a convincing argument Suma and you know it. This ghettozisation is a new theme in Mumbai. Muslim areas, Hindu areas, Jain areas, Gujju areas..Seriously mate WTF??Is this the city that India showcases as its best? Yes if you compare it with Patna which is ghettozised, sure. But was Mumbai a town to compare with Patna or Hong Kong?? You seriously telling me it doesnt bother you that even the underworld these days are split on religious line? xxx
Lurker Posted October 27, 2008 Posted October 27, 2008 By the way Suma, something I had written about Marathi is the whole culture clash thread sometime back. Fair enough. I suppose there are jokers on all sides. I will keep simple what my issue is with people reluctant to learn Hindi - They never give Hindi a chance. Most of those who go all agressive about how Hindi will kill their "culture" have no idea about their culture in the first place! For example lets take the case of Marathi. It is one of the very best languages I have ever encountered and I was lucky enough to understand it a bit when I was in Bombay. I find it excellent language because: a) It is one of the rare languages where the negativity is right at the end of the sentence. You will never say - Dont hit me, instead what you will say is - Maaru naka. It is almost Yodasque language, a very unique amongst all languages I know. b) As compared to Hindi(I compare it since I have lived in Hindi and Marathi belt) it still retains some of the purest words. For example in Hindi one says Maa Kasam(as in I swear by my mother). Kasam is essentially Urdu and the line between Hindi/Urdu being very thin Kasam has been embraced by Hindi. I personally love the embrace of Hindi and Urdu but I also love how an ordinary Marathi will say Aai Shapath. Marathi also has one of the most vibrant literature and its theatre is easily the best(followed by Gujrati) amongst all languages of India. Although Marathi is probably not the best example since Marathis rarely have anti-Hindi feeling as say Tamil speakers but that example should hold good. If in the end English is selected on the "merits" of literature, contribution to India, roots in Indian culture I am perfectly fine by it. However the reality is English has none of those and yet we have a segment of population who just fails to realize that.
suma25 Posted October 28, 2008 Posted October 28, 2008 Mumbai has always been sold as Indian town' date=' and NOT Marathi town. If one wants to have a taste of Marathi culture he should try Pune or Aurangabad. And thats why there is discontentment among the mahrashtrans mumbai inspite of being capital of maharshtra mumbai doesnt resemble anything of the as compared to others cities in mahrashtra . Non maharashtrans might feel thats great with mumbai being cosmopolitan n all that but marathis dont there is a feeling that they are increasinglybeing pushed out of mumbai's development whether it be the maharstrans taxiwalls rickshawaalas(r there any now in mumbai)or the kolis or marathi hawkers There is always the controversy that Mumbai should be its own state, or atleast a Union territory. You can safely assume this is going to gain increasing momentum now. if it helps in solving the migration situation then iam all for it mumbai doesnt have any place for any more people period. form environmental pt of view people come from neighbouring towns and from north build shanties in a few days knowing well enough that they will be given a free house with in a few yrs. and even if they being rehabilitated they have their own nautankis idhar nahin chalega udhar nahin chalega yeah jagah door hain woh jagah doorhain i mean wtf people first of all ur based illegally encroached on public property n then when ur rehabilitated u ****ing throw tantrums Thats not a convincing argument Suma and you know it. This ghettozisation is a new theme in Mumbai. Muslim areas, Hindu areas, Jain areas, Gujju areas..Seriously mate WTF??Is this the city that India showcases as its best? Yes if you compare it with Patna which is ghettozised, sure. But was Mumbai a town to compare with Patna or Hong Kong?? You seriously telling me it doesnt bother you that even the underworld these days are split on religious line? xxx arent there muslim ghettos in delhi hyderabad and kolkatta as well. and ghettos existed even before in mumbai .does it bother me yes but thats what u get when u have society overobsessed with their own ****ed up religion community then caring abt the city .yes mumbais cosmopolitan nature might have detoriated Yes mumbai does lag behind infrastructure wise compared to delhi and even some other metros but its is slowly catching up . it can only get better from here hopefully with the change of govt coz frankly this govt has been hopeless
Lurker Posted October 28, 2008 Posted October 28, 2008 And thats why there is discontentment among the mahrashtrans mumbai inspite of being capital of maharshtra mumbai doesnt resemble anything of the as compared to others cities in mahrashtra . Non maharashtrans might feel thats great with mumbai being cosmopolitan n all that but marathis dont there is a feeling that they are increasinglybeing pushed out of mumbai's development whether it be the maharstrans taxiwalls rickshawaalas(r there any now in mumbai)or the kolis or marathi hawkers How are they being pushed?? Do you know of a Marathi who wanted to be a Taxiwallah but was refused?? This is simply a case of Marathis not doing menial works and when these professions, a la sabzi wallah, was taken over by North Indians they suddenly started crying afoul. Admit it no Marathi Manoos is willing to drive a thela across Mumbai selling vegetables. Case in point - when Mumbai Mills went kaput, the unemployed did NOT take to drive autos or selling veggies. Instead they took to Underworld!! Half of the Mumbai underworld comes from the bastion of Mill workers, Gawli being a prominent one. At one time it was considered "fashionable" for Marathi Manoos to go unemployed and be a biggie in Underworld. Isnt your avtar, Maya Dolas, cut from the same cloth? How about Manya Surve?? Now suddenly it becomes North Indian migrants fault that these jobs are no longer held by Marathis! if it helps in solving the migration situation then iam all for it mumbai doesnt have any place for any more people period. form environmental pt of view people come from neighbouring towns and from north build shanties in a few days knowing well enough that they will be given a free house with in a few yrs. and even if they being rehabilitated they have their own nautankis idhar nahin chalega udhar nahin chalega yeah jagah door hain woh jagah doorhain i mean wtf people first of all ur based illegally encroached on public property n then when ur rehabilitated u ****ing throw tantrums So please ask your politicians to come out and say that openly. As of now the way it works for a Mumbaikar is rather simple - I will welcome a North Indian IT guy who earns 25,000, pays local taxes, rents at 10,000 but will have issues with basti waale migrants. This is simply a case of greed at play here. While I can certainly see how Mumbai can not go on supporting migrants forever, what I will also say is how Mumbaikars have never complained about how the entire real estate is held to ransome by Gujjus. Why is that? Why doesnt Shiv Sena/MNS go after Gujjus who clearly are in extremely large numbers. Feel free to check how Gujjus have effectively pushed out the real estate out of bounds of Mumbaikars. Who buys those high rises in Prabhadevi?? Or Warli? Pali Hill? A bihari? Or a Gujju?? Whats with targetting Tamilians, Biharis and Upites??? Money makes things different, isnt it? Arent there muslim ghettos in delhi hyderabad and kolkatta as well. and ghettos existed even before in mumbai .does it bother me yes but thats what u get when u have society overobsessed with their own ****ed up religion community then caring abt the city . That is first of your problems. To compare Mumbai with Hyderabad and Calcutta. I am not quite happy to see how Mumbai has come down but hey if that makes you happy. Secondly what ghettozisation are you talking about? In Calcutta, for example, when was the last time you head over a dozen bomb blast in less than a decade?? Or Delhi? Not even in Hyderabad. For a city like Mumbai that thrived on multi-culturalism it is telling that it has the most divisive lines drawn amongst religion in the country. yes mumbais cosmopolitan nature might have detoriated Yes mumbai does lag behind infrastructure wise compared to delhi and even some other metros but its is slowly catching up . it can only get better from here hopefully with the change of govt coz frankly this govt has been hopeless No it wont get better. Mumbai was not built by Mumbaikars. It was built by people from all over the country. Bollywood owes less to Marathi and more to non-Marathis, whether you take that as a compliment or rebuke I shall leave it to you. Tata Group is not a Marathi lot, same with Ambanis. If you want to play it fair call them non-Marathis and kick them out. For now you are simply targetting people who are hard pressed to earn their meagre livelihood. xxxx
Rajiv Posted October 28, 2008 Posted October 28, 2008 I'll give you an example of Marathi/Bihari ( a simple eg., ). My father was ITO in back in the 70s and we started discussing this recently. he mentioned that how the top guys were tiwaris and guptas..it was their influence all the time, their recommendation and you know "chamchagiri" works out there When Raj talks about it, its obviosuly on a very large scale and maratha patriotism, the Income Tax Dept was one aspect; perhaps there are others which have the same issue and I am talking about stuff 30 yrs ago I think its BS what this guy is doing but something to ponder about
DomainK Posted October 29, 2008 Posted October 29, 2008 A guy from UP was beaten to death in a local train today by some ten Marathi guys when they came to know that he is from UP. His three friends were beaten up. This thing is really getting out of hand.
Lurker Posted October 29, 2008 Posted October 29, 2008 I'll give you an example of Marathi/Bihari ( a simple eg., ). My father was ITO in back in the 70s and we started discussing this recently. he mentioned that how the top guys were tiwaris and guptas..it was their influence all the time, their recommendation and you know "chamchagiri" works out there When Raj talks about it, its obviosuly on a very large scale and maratha patriotism, the Income Tax Dept was one aspect; perhaps there are others which have the same issue and I am talking about stuff 30 yrs ago I think its BS what this guy is doing but something to ponder about Fair enough. So go after the corrupt, why go after people who have nothing to do with this? How different is this to kill people in Bhindi Bazaar over a riot that erupted in Godhra?? This whole issue is thoroughly twisted. On one hand Marathis are advocating stopping migration. Fair enough. But they are totally quiet on migration of groups of people who have mullah(not with topis) in their pockets. If the issue is Bombay getting pushed to the brim due to immigration how does that relate to Biharis/Upites turning up for Railway exams in Nasik and getting killed??? If the issue is Jobs and how Marathis are losing out on them, how does that explain a poor labourer killed in a Mumbai local? And if the problem is both migration and jobs then how does that explain people of North Indian origin who have lived in Mumbai and have their own small businesses, attacked and killed??? The way I see things is life had been rather simple for Mumbaikars over the years. Now suddenly they have to fight to survive. Jobs are not as easy as they used to be. And do bear in mind that Biharis getting these jobs get it because they score better than Marathis. They are not getting it because they are from Bihar. Marathi Manoos are getting pushed into a corner because they are coming second best. Simple. If they were better they would be picking the jobs ahead of Biharis. I would also like to see how many Marathis have ever ventured so much as apply for a job in Bihar, Calcutta. Somehow they think it is very easy for a 20 year old to take the train to Mumbai and look for a job. When was the last time a Marathi that age tried his luck by going outside his state?? Maybe if they did they would have a newfound respect for people who leave everything behind for a better life. xxx
DomainK Posted October 29, 2008 Posted October 29, 2008 Lurker, the stance that Raj/MNS/Sena has is that north Indians are by nature trouble makers and that they are the ones who break law more than anyone else. They also believe that those Though in recent past I can say for sure that MNS is responsible for more than half law breaking in the city. If there is anyone in Mumbai that always got away breaking the law, it always was Shiv Sena and now MNS. Even the underworld had to give in after a point, but Sena and now MNS have always got away with impunity as if they are above all law and order. Year after year they would beat up young couples on valentines days. One year a small group of friends gathered to remember a young friend that had died a few days ago. The date coincided with the valentines day and SS workers raided. They beat up the young crowd badly and started snatching chains and ear rings from women. One guy recorded it all on his cell camera. All the news channels showed the brutal beatings and loot. The police arrested a few SS workers, a SS spokesperson on apologized on camera- not because of what they did but because they hit the wrong target. When asked if they would do it on next valentines day, he had the guts to say yes. Then when the story cooled down and other matters took front stage, the media forgot to report what happened to those handful that were arrested. This is how our police and government has encouraged the SS and now the MNS year after year.
Lurker Posted October 29, 2008 Posted October 29, 2008 Lurker, the stance that Raj/MNS/Sena has is that north Indians are by nature trouble makers and that they are the ones who break law more than anyone else. They also believe that those Half of the Mumbai Underworld, atleast, has evolved under the tutelage of Shiv Sena. Bal Thackeray is on record suggesting Arun Gawli was amchi mule(our kid). When Dawood Ibrahim started becoming strong in Mumbai Underworld it was Bal Thackeray and Shiv Sena that inculcated the "Hindu" Dons. The Don from Chembur, Mumbai Central Area Amar Naik(on whom Vaastav was made, also Parinda and Angaar borrows a lot) was given maximum patronage by SS. Even when he was shot dead in an "encounter" Shiv Sena mouthpiece Saamna went on record asking the Government to show as much courage in killing Muslim Dons as well. Babu Reshim(notorious gangster who was killed by Dawood henchmen inside Jacob Circle Police Station), RamaBhai Naik..the list goes on and on. I can dig up the Rediff interview where Bal Thackeray was at "pain" wondering why these people had deserted him(remember Arun Gawli has floated his own party now). Remember the movie Satya? The character Bhau was based on Shiv Sena MP Mohan Rawle. And these are the names I can say from top of my mind. Have never heard Marathi Manoos wonder how Shiv Sena has pushed Mumbai into gutters. First Tamil, then Muslims, now North Indians. Wonder why Marathis still have sympathy to this family of cohorts. xxx
DomainK Posted October 29, 2008 Posted October 29, 2008 Half of the Mumbai Underworld' date=' atleast, has evolved under the tutelage of Shiv Sena. Bal Thackeray is on record suggesting Arun Gawli was [i']amchi mule(our kid). When Dawood Ibrahim started becoming strong in Mumbai Underworld it was Bal Thackeray and Shiv Sena that inculcated the "Hindu" Dons. The Don from Chembur, Mumbai Central Area Amar Naik(on whom Vaastav was made, also Parinda and Angaar borrows a lot) was given maximum patronage by SS. Even when he was shot dead in an "encounter" Shiv Sena mouthpiece Saamna went on record asking the Government to show as much courage in killing Muslim Dons as well. Babu Reshim(notorious gangster who was killed by Dawood henchmen inside Jacob Circle Police Station), RamaBhai Naik..the list goes on and on. I can dig up the Rediff interview where Bal Thackeray was at "pain" wondering why these people had deserted him(remember Arun Gawli has floated his own party now). Remember the movie Satya? The character Bhau was based on Shiv Sena MP Mohan Rawle. And these are the names I can say from top of my mind. Have never heard Marathi Manoos wonder how Shiv Sena has pushed Mumbai into gutters. First Tamil, then Muslims, now North Indians. Wonder why Marathis still have sympathy to this family of cohorts. xxx You know a lot Lurker. I dont know that much. But any sane and educated person should be able to see where the evil is. The Raj Thackrays belong behind the bars and the MSNs and the Shiv Senas should be banned immediately.
Willow_on_fire Posted October 30, 2008 Posted October 30, 2008 Fair enough. So go after the corrupt, why go after people who have nothing to do with this? How different is this to kill people in Bhindi Bazaar over a riot that erupted in Godhra?? This whole issue is thoroughly twisted. On one hand Marathis are advocating stopping migration. Fair enough. But they are totally quiet on migration of groups of people who have mullah(not with topis) in their pockets. If the issue is Bombay getting pushed to the brim due to immigration how does that relate to Biharis/Upites turning up for Railway exams in Nasik and getting killed??? If the issue is Jobs and how Marathis are losing out on them, how does that explain a poor labourer killed in a Mumbai local? And if the problem is both migration and jobs then how does that explain people of North Indian origin who have lived in Mumbai and have their own small businesses, attacked and killed??? The way I see things is life had been rather simple for Mumbaikars over the years. Now suddenly they have to fight to survive. Jobs are not as easy as they used to be. And do bear in mind that Biharis getting these jobs get it because they score better than Marathis. They are not getting it because they are from Bihar. Marathi Manoos are getting pushed into a corner because they are coming second best. Simple. If they were better they would be picking the jobs ahead of Biharis. I would also like to see how many Marathis have ever ventured so much as apply for a job in Bihar, Calcutta. Somehow they think it is very easy for a 20 year old to take the train to Mumbai and look for a job. When was the last time a Marathi that age tried his luck by going outside his state?? Maybe if they did they would have a newfound respect for people who leave everything behind for a better life. xxx good post this...:wtg:
triam Posted October 30, 2008 Posted October 30, 2008 Lurker has pointed out very clearly the flaw of MNS and SS, I dont think they have a goal or objective perse (No North Indians allowed), they just want to create uncertainty and chaos, when there is uncertainty and chaos who benefits?? these thugs, I think that is their only goal.
Desi Cartman Posted October 30, 2008 Posted October 30, 2008 Its sad to see that SS/MNS members/MPs come on TV and openly say "our guys got angry and they took the matters in their hand". They never apologize or feel sorry for the vitim. According to them they are the police , court , parliament all in one. I saw a BJP MP (lok Sabha) on a talk show on NDTV say "India is a hindu country". If MPs say stuff like this on TV then only god can save this country.
Rajiv Posted November 15, 2008 Posted November 15, 2008 A Scene from a Classic Movie, if you notice the dialoque - something very relvant to whats happening today Movie: Ek Ruka Hua Faisla [ame=http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x7ete0_untitled_creation]Dailymotion - Untitled, a video from cvp2. xcv, v, untitled@@AMEPARAM@@value="http://www.dailymotion.com/swf/k1GvisxTddYomUQerC@@AMEPARAM@@http://www.dailymotion.com/swf/k1GvisxTddYomUQerC[/ame]
DomainK Posted November 15, 2008 Posted November 15, 2008 A Scene from a Classic Movie, if you notice the dialoque - something very relvant to whats happening today Movie: Ek Ruka Hua Faisla Dailymotion - Untitled, a video from cvp2. xcv, v, untitled Someone gave me a cd of this movie a few days ago. Saw this movie long time ago and liked it. Will watch it again tomorrow.
Lurker Posted November 15, 2008 Posted November 15, 2008 A Scene from a Classic Movie, if you notice the dialoque - something very relvant to whats happening today Movie: Ek Ruka Hua Faisla Dailymotion - Untitled, a video from cvp2. xcv, v, untitled Basu Chatterjee had took his cue from Hrishikesh Mukherjee about passing subtle messages. Only he pushed the ante the lot more. The movie, and specially above scene, depicts the growth of Shiv Sena kind of politics in the mid 80s and their target Muslims. It was only a matter of time before it exploded as in early 90s. When MK Raina says "ek jaise hote hain", it was basically a communal generalization. Dont miss out on a local Marathi taking Shiv Sainik on. This Marathi was the student of Ramadas Athavale, Ambedkar follower, school of thought of being oppressed under the creamy layer of Hindus. Excelllent picture of course.
Rajiv Posted November 15, 2008 Posted November 15, 2008 P.S The Movie is a copy from the Classic: 12 Angry Men
Willow_on_fire Posted November 16, 2008 Posted November 16, 2008 A Scene from a Classic Movie, if you notice the dialoque - something very relvant to whats happening today Movie: Ek Ruka Hua Faisla Dailymotion - Untitled, a video from cvp2. xcv, v, untitled so true man...it was a nice movie....well made...those dialogues fit so well in today's scenario.
MundaPakistani Posted December 3, 2008 Posted December 3, 2008 I heard this guy Threatened to burn down Mumbai if he got arrested WTF Details please.