India's Trophy Case

Shehezaada

Keeping track of India's Championships (Bilateral and Trination for ODIs included) Tests: Australia -> Won (2008) Pakistan -> Won (2007) West Indies -> Won (2006) Bangladesh -> Won (2007) England -> Won (2007) Zimbabwe -> Won (2004) New Zealand -> Lost (2002-2003) South Africa -> Lost (2006-2007) Sri Lanka -> Lost (2008) ODIs: Australia -> Won (2008) Pakistan -> Won (2007) West Indies -> Lost (2006) Bangladesh -> Won (2007) England -> Lost (2007) Zimbabwe -> Won (2004) New Zealand -> ?? South Africa -? Won (2007) Sri Lanka -> Won (2008) -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Going to take a while to take back the trophies from SA and SRL, but NZ we should beat in the winter time in the test matches. The ODIs we look in pretty good shape as well.

Fairly impressive test record. Even the Aussies have lost against India and England in the past 3 years. India by all chances will win against New Zealand in New Zealand. England could offer a stiff test and their bowling is definitely better than the Aussies. The likes of Freddi, Monty and the rest have come of age. Their batting may not enthuse a lot but they can play good cricket all right. I'm quite sure if India go on to beat the Poms and the Kiwis they will be no.1 in test cricket.

thanks for the data. Can you please also mention if they were away or home wins/loses.
See desi, it works this way: India and Australia play for Border-Gavaskar Trophy and at the moment the trophy is with India. India clinched it at home. Ind-SA trophy is with SA - India lost it in SA and SA retained it in India Ind-SL trophy is with SL -India lost it in SL Ind-Eng trophy is with India - India won it again in England Ind-Pak trophy is with India - India won it in India India-NZ trophy is NZ - India lost it NZ and NZ retained it in India India-WI trophy is with India- India won it again in WI. India- BD trophy is with India--India always won it in BD.
The 2 targets for India within the next few years is to beat SAF at home and beat AUS at home. I think until we do both those things we cant lay claim to being the no.1 team.
Haven't we already beaten Australia at home just yesterday? You mean getting these victories away! If that is so, then as much as I'd like it to happen, I don't think it is necessary to be the number 1 team. Wasn't Australia the number one team in 1998 when they lost to India in India? Wasn't it still the number side after it lost the series to India again in 2001? If Australia can be number 1 despite losing to India again and again, India can be number one too without winning in Australia, if it wins everywhere else that is. I think it is winning everywhere else in almost every match is difficult. Take for example the coming England series. I really fear that the team might have dropped its guard after winning against Australia and might take it easy against the English team. A number one team, potentially or otherwise has to take every match and series as seriously. Let us hope that Dhoni brings this culture of not losing our focus in any match.
Keeping track of India's Championships (Bilateral and Trination for ODIs included) Tests: Australia -> Won (2008) Pakistan -> Won (2007) West Indies -> Won (2006) Bangladesh -> Won (2007) England -> Won (2007) Zimbabwe -> Won (2004) New Zealand -> Lost (2002-2003) South Africa -> Lost (2006-2007) Sri Lanka -> Lost (2008) ODIs: Australia -> Won (2008) Pakistan -> Won (2007) West Indies -> Lost (2006) Bangladesh -> Won (2007) England -> Lost (2007) Zimbabwe -> Won (2004) New Zealand -> ?? South Africa -? Won (2007) Sri Lanka -> Won (2008) -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Going to take a while to take back the trophies from SA and SRL, but NZ we should beat in the winter time in the test matches. The ODIs we look in pretty good shape as well.
Please include the following: Tests: Beat Pakistan in Pakistan -> 2004 Beat Sri Lanka in India -> 2006 Beat South Africa in India -> 2005 ODIs: Beat Pakistan in Pakistan -> 2004 Beat Pakistan in India -> 2005 Beat Sri Lanka in India -> 2006-07 Beat West Indies in India -> 2007
Arre bhai he is talking about the current situation, as in which team has the bilateral trophy.
but we've surrendered the trophy to them right after we lost?