Lurker Posted November 21, 2008 Posted November 21, 2008 Bazeecha-e-atfal hai duniya mere aage Hota hai shaboroz tamasha mere aage So what do you do when someone steals your idea in totality? Does it help that the person is a nice guy and that he has maintained a good professional relationship with you? Does it make you furious to see your idea being sold with someone else's nametag attached? And how are you supposed to feel if that one single act essentially helps the man keep his job? The month of Thanksgiving is a time of celebration in US. Increasingly it has also started to become the time of the year when people start getting pink slips. Part of the problem lies with the fact that most American companies have their Business calendars lined up with Yearly calendar(Jan to Dec), which in turn means that when companies have to cut cost towards the end of the year it translates into people losing their jobs during Thanksgiving and Christmas. Of course with the economy becoming what it is, this has only pushed things further down the toilet. I am currently seeing the same at my client site with people losing jobs, companies cutting fat in the name of Reorg(is there a word that frightens a professional more these days?). So back to the idea thingy. As it so happens I have wrapped up a project(mart for you IT geeks) and am jumping into another one. In between I had a leeway of a week in which I came up with this whole Data Quality thingy for my clients and sent it to a couple of people for their opinions. Long story short the idea was well liked, then without my knowledge was sent across to powers that be, and plethora of responses started to come in from bigwigs. Bad as it may sound it was also good in a way that maybe, just maybe, this allowed the man to keep his job considering how 3 others at his rank got severance slips. On the other hand there is this chubby lady that sits right across my desk. Very jovial and courteous, not very sharp but very hardworking. We have always had a good work comraderie. And so I was disappointed to hear her say she is on the list of people to go. Really what do you say in this scenario? People with real life are losing jobs, medical benefits and stability. I walked past by her desk a couple of times and didnt have the heart to say anything. Did manage to sneak a peek at her working on her resume diligently, opening all the job websites and so on. Her cube used to be frequented by people every 2 minutes, now no-one is coming. In the afternoon I managed to drag my chair across the aisle, you know when you just sit down and kick the floor travelling sat on it? Had some Halloween candies left, and she loves dark chocolate, so that was my ice breaker with her. She seemed relieved, not sure if chocolate lifted her spirits or it was finally someone talking to her but she did seem better. Later on I would catch her just looking at me, not at me, but somewhere in the distance not sure what to think/do. A friend once told me that the only time we look at people as human beings are when they hired...or fired. Turns out he was correct. xxxx
cybervickey Posted November 21, 2008 Posted November 21, 2008 man this thread just breaks my heart !! really .. i own a small business and we had tp let some people go because of the economic conditions
fineleg Posted November 22, 2008 Posted November 22, 2008 Lurker, Very relevant thread to the times we live in. I dont know what you feel abt the 'stolen idea', but re-orgs where they reorg the leaf nodes (trim the 'fat') but the real fat people at the top just get paid more for trimming is 'boolsheet'