Election Results for Madhya Pradesh, Delhi, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh & Mizoram

Yes should be interesting. Glad to see excellent turnouts at most places.
J&K turnout surprised me the most ... in some parts of J&K its over 70-75% ... confirmed reports put it over 65% ...
India hai bhai :hatsoff::hatsoff: I shall duly rub it in the face of my American friends who have a tough time going to polling booths :eyedance:
I voted over the weekend in the council elections in Melbourne ... It was so funny to see the guys handing out pamphlets were actually contestants themselves. PS: its compulsory to vote in Aus
Oh yeah I remember you mentioning that you had to vote or else there was a fine or something like that. Up here, in USA, most people I work with didnt vote since they couldnt spend an hour or two in line, although they were all sitting in meetings and doing nothing :winky:

^^ I am sure there is something like that. But I think a lot of people are still apathetic towards voting in United States. Inspite of all these - postal voting, early voting - etc they voting %age still hovers around 50%. 60% is supposed to be great. In India people will walk miles to vote.

I am not so positve about BJP's gains.. you see media has done its level best to deflect the blame to all politicians as opposed to those parties in power be it delhi or maharashtra.....

State Election News Rajasthan: Already been called for the Cong. Knives are already out for Vasundara. She's been accused of being autocratic and dictatorial and alleged to have accommodated too many BJP dissidents. Ashok Gehlot all set to come back. Madhya Pradesh: BJP set to buckle common anti-incumbency trend and Shivraj Singh Chouhan all set to have another term. Chattisgarh: Close contest here, literally neck-and-neck, with BJP marginally ahead. Possibility of a hung assembly, so expect a massive round of horse-trading with independents. Delhi: The most unexpected result of all. Cong is set to come to power for an amazing third time. Sheila Dixit once again proves to be Cong's mascot, with many people saying that Vijay Kumar Malhotra was too poor a candidate. Watch this space though, its been swinging both ways. Independents may play an important role. Mizoram: Congress slightly ahead of the Mizo National Front. News of the day: Mayawati in Madhya Pradesh and Chattisgarh. She spent an entire week campaigning in Madhya Pradesh and her party has made significant inroads in both MP and Chattisgarh.

Rajasthan: Already been called for the Cong. Knives are already out for Vasundara. She's been accused of being autocratic and dictatorial and alleged to have accommodated too many BJP dissidents. Ashok Gehlot all set to come back. Madhya Pradesh: BJP set to buckle common anti-incumbency trend and Shivraj Singh Chouhan all set to have another term. Chattisgarh: Close contest here, literally neck-and-neck, with BJP marginally ahead. Possibility of a hung assembly, so expect a massive round of horse-trading with independents. Delhi: The most unexpected result of all. Cong is set to come to power for an amazing third time. Sheila Dixit once again proves to be Cong's mascot, with many people saying that Vijay Kumar Malhotra was too poor a candidate. Watch this space though, its been swinging both ways. Independents may play an important role. Mizoram: Congress slightly ahead of the Mizo National Front. News of the day: Mayawati in Madhya Pradesh and Chattisgarh. She spent an entire week campaigning in Madhya Pradesh and her party has made significant inroads in both MP and Chattisgarh.
:((:((