Should an extra marital affair be considered criminal or not?

• Yes, it should be criminal for both
    • It should be criminal only for men
    • It should be criminal only for women
    • It should not be criminal at all.

Indian law makes it criminal for a husband to commit adultery. Not so for the wife though. If an Indian married male sleeps with a woman other than his wife, the state can punish him with a fine of 5000 to up to five years in jail. And when I say the 'state can punish', it means the wife does not have to lodge a complaint. Its like a general crime like murder- the state can act on its own or just about anyone who finds out can lodge a complaint and get the proceedings started. However, if a wife commits adultery, there is no law to punish her. However, if the husband (and only the husband) lodges a complaint against the lover (not the wife), the state can act against the lover (not the wife). So, its again the male that gets the ax. Not the female. The Indian law is clear: The male is bound by marriage. Not the female. The female can have sex wherever she wants. But not the male- even if his wife does not have a problem. I think two consenting adults should be allowed to have sex. Its stupid to make it criminal for anyone. But the GOI has got different ideas. They have plans of making it criminal for women as well. Its been a discussion for about two years now and has been held back by serious protests from women rights activists.

Are u serious.. it has to be hoax

It should be criminal for both. Sometimes I feel that all men should unite and start a "Shahar (city) Nar mukti morcha". Women in villages may be opressed. But in major metro cities, they have more rights these days:--D..girls quota in colleges, reserved seats on public transport...etc:giggle:

Not before the abolition of underage marriage' date=' or polygamy.[/quote'] that is already illegal
that is already illegal
polygamy is illegal in india? then what is all this about some muslim lads in places such as lucknow and lot moving about with a harem of veiled and oppressed women?
:giggle: Are you that ignorant? Mere bhai, Bharat mahan has seperate LAWS for our beloved Islamic birathers so that they can practice their own Shariah from little green book right in the middle of India. and then there is this whole MUSLIM PERSONAL LAW BOARD with full backing of "Sikoolar" Kaangress party and Communists who make sure that this discriminatory panel exists and EQUAL law for all remains a dream in India. BJP has been shouting from top of their lung to bring "Uniform Civil Code" i.e. EQUAL law for ALL same like USA has.....but ohhh well, they are "Hindutva" extremists.:hatsoff:
This cant be true !!!
yes it is true.there was a big debate on this few yrs ago. however they forgot one scenario; if wife engages herself with another woman then is what the other woman did a crime
I keep giving you guys benefit of doubt while debating but it seems I am talking to a bunch of hihg-school kids on issues they have nary a clue about...
:giggle: Are you that ignorant? Mere bhai, Bharat mahan has seperate LAWS for our beloved Islamic birathers so that they can practice their own Shariah from little green book right in the middle of India. and then there is this whole MUSLIM PERSONAL LAW BOARD with full backing of "Sikoolar" Kaangress party and Communists who make sure that this discriminatory panel exists and EQUAL law for all remains a dream in India. BJP has been shouting from top of their lung to bring "Uniform Civil Code" i.e. EQUAL law for ALL same like USA has.....but ohhh well, they are "Hindutva" extremists.:hatsoff:
I am sure THX has given lecture even on UCC issue on thsi board.. too mamny people here talk without knowing zilch abut issues Thanks to Bharat-Ratna Rajeev Gandhi and shah-bano episode.. Even supreme court has given its verdict that under contitution of india existance of two spearate laws is not tenable but rase those issues and you become extremist overnight
It's a breach of faith and an agreement - so yeah' date=' it's a criminal act.[/quote'] I never knew Shwetabh cud have mullahic sensitivity in these matters.. To me it sounds like a moral issue than criminal issue..

I think Swetabh is right. An agreement can be anything for example even financial. So is a crime! It's not that murder is the only crime, even many people are convicted as criminal because of financial crimes originating due to breach of agreement. As far as marraige is concerned, if one desires one-on-many relationship, he/she can simply stay unmarried and enjoy. No one should be forced to marry.

I never knew Shwetabh cud have mullahic sensitivity in these matters.. To me it sounds like a moral issue than criminal issue..
Arre Mullah sensitivity kaise? I am not against polygamy for either side as far as both sides are aware of it. If a husband/wife is aware that his spouse is sleeping around with someone else and is fine with it, I have no issues. But most marriage agreements don't work that way and a breach of agreement, any agreement, is criminal.
Arre Mullah sensitivity kaise? I am not against polygamy for either side as far as both sides are aware of it. If a husband/wife is aware that his spouse is sleeping around with someone else and is fine with it' date=' I have no issues. But most marriage agreements don't work that way and a breach of agreement, any agreement, is criminal.[/quote'] i think it should be moral issue and if any party doesn't like this breach of trust they can walk away.. my beef is with making this physical relationship between two consenting adults criminal....... anyway sandy bhai agress with you here so I guess I am in minority here:--D
i think it should be moral issue and if any party doesn't like this breach of trust they can walk away.. my beef is with making this physical relationship between two consenting adults criminal....... anyway sandy bhai agress with you here so I guess I am in minority here:--D
Guruji, it's not only between two consenting adults....if it was I would be fine with it......it involves a third individual unaware that his/her contract is being breached.