Er. not political. Move to Chit Chat.
yes - posted here by mistake - can move to chit chat.
WOW.....don't believe something like this happened....
its OK, we normally move threads around

Its a very common problem in India and the developed countries also had these problems till the 80s. It happens because the teachers cant control kids and lose it. They need training and education on how to deal with stress at work. I hope this teacher gets punished and teachers around India are made aware that its not acceptable to hit a child. It happens in good schools as well. Once a teacher tried to push me off as what I was writing on the board was incorrect. I held her hand and asked "what do u think you are doing " ... couple of days later she threw a duster at student and he threw it back at her :giggle: ...

:two_thumbs_up: You are right - there needs to be a massive overhaul to stop this "hitting kids" to teach them syndrome - Teacherz sometimes totally lose it in India.
Fineleg' date=' have you studied in India? In rural schools?[/quote'] Why do you ask? Is it that - in rural schools - they have to "hit kids with canes and sticks and what not" and that is the "only method for teachers"? (anyway: 1. Yes, 2. No)
Guest Hiten.
:two_thumbs_up: You are right - there needs to be a massive overhaul to stop this "hitting kids" to teach them syndrome - Teacherz sometimes totally lose it in India.
Did you never get beaten up by teachers ? No wonder you haven't lost your complaining habits:P @topic: I think its a norm in India for teachers to hit students. What stress can a teacher get in a bloody preliminary school ? Its not like the teachers in India having a equivalent brain to Newton's/Einstein's. I think its a case of "pehle bhi maara karte the...toh ab kyun nahin?", its more of a "tradition" that is being followed by current lot of teachers. High Schools admins have to come hard at teachers for this conduct, to ensure nothing of these cases take place in future. Moreover, parents have to take up their Kids side and make the teachers realize that their kids come to school to get knowledge and not to participate in some military drill. I have seen parents find their own child's fault and will encourage the teacher to help the child learn a lesson in anyway as possible.
@topic: I think its a norm in India for teachers to hit students. What stress can a teacher get in a bloody preliminary school ? Its not like the teachers in India having a equivalent brain to Newton's/Einstein's. I think its a case of "pehle bhi maara karte the...toh ab kyun nahin?", its more of a "tradition" that is being followed by current lot of teachers. High Schools admins have to come hard at teachers for this conduct, to ensure nothing of these cases take place in future.
Not just the School Admins - the state govts should make it a criminal offense to "beat up students" in the name of maintaining discipline. Make it a punishable offense, and have some jail term thrown in for the teachers who violate these rules blatantly. Ofcourse if students indulge in violence or rowdyism, then have appropriate punishment including detentions, suspension and termination etc.

Then I don't think your statement is correct when you say "Teacherz lose it in India". Because teachers, those who have MEd and BEd degrees or those newer graduates who are working on a educational degree while teaching would never behave in this manner. My very very close relatives have worked in remote villages [so remote that there was no bathroom properly built there until 1990] and even in those villages, the teachers who were educated were interested in teaching, despite the environment around them. It is the govt. and the management of the school which has to take the blame here because they give jobs without considering the eligibility of a teacher and never give a proper interview for someone who's educating the future generation. I am not taking the blame off of Bhaini [or whatever her name] was - this is an inexcusable criminal act that has led to a blinding of a small young girl - she ought to be punished. But you can't generalize the way you have about teachers. The educational infrastructure in India is such that every small town has about 20-30 schools that were built a long time ago. They continue to hire teachers who understand nothing about children [just knowledge in the subject isn't enough]. It is something that has to be fixed. In Andhra Pradesh, under the rule of TDP, hitting a student was made an offense. It was followed pretty strictly. I have studied in the really rural areas of a big town such as Kurnool, Chittoor, etc where stuff that happens in Matilda did actually happen to me and a couple of kids. I can confidently say that it doesn't happen anymore in the same magnitude.

Then I don't think your statement is correct when you say "Teacherz lose it in India". Because teachers' date=' those who have MEd and BEd degrees or those newer graduates who are working on a educational degree while teaching would never behave in this manner. My very very close relatives have worked in remote villages [so remote that there was no bathroom properly built there until 1990'] and even in those villages, the teachers who were educated were interested in teaching, despite the environment around them. It is the govt. and the management of the school which has to take the blame here because they give jobs without considering the eligibility of a teacher and never give a proper interview for someone who's educating the future generation. I am not taking the blame off of Bhaini [or whatever her name] was - this is an inexcusable criminal act that has led to a blinding of a small young girl - she ought to be punished. But you can't generalize the way you have about teachers. The educational infrastructure in India is such that every small town has about 20-30 schools that were built a long time ago. They continue to hire teachers who understand nothing about children [just knowledge in the subject isn't enough]. It is something that has to be fixed. Anyways, rant over.
I dont mean to say all teachers are like this. I do have respect for good teachers, and quite a few have provided me the good education that I am grateful for. Those who do beat up kids need to be punished by the govt and by bringing about suitable law enforcement.
Did you never get beaten up by teachers ? No wonder you haven't lost your complaining habits:P @topic: I think its a norm in India for teachers to hit students. What stress can a teacher get in a bloody preliminary school ? Its not like the teachers in India having a equivalent brain to Newton's/Einstein's. I think its a case of "pehle bhi maara karte the...toh ab kyun nahin?", its more of a "tradition" that is being followed by current lot of teachers. High Schools admins have to come hard at teachers for this conduct, to ensure nothing of these cases take place in future. Moreover, parents have to take up their Kids side and make the teachers realize that their kids come to school to get knowledge and not to participate in some military drill. I have seen parents find their own child's fault and will encourage the teacher to help the child learn a lesson in anyway as possible.
When I was in class IX the whole class got punishment for 2 scales each .. well this bastard teacher hit my hand and it was swollen by the time I got home.. as soon as my dad saw it he became angry and went to the school next day with me. He went to the principal's office and the teacher was called. Then my dad surprised me .... he told him "next time you touch him ... I m telling u I will get you fired AGAR yeh tujhay gali bhi dey tub bhi nahi chuna" ... from that day I knew that its wrong and under no circumstances should a teacher ever hit a student !!!
Sorry to hear that. This "whole class punishment" is yet another Talibanish teaching that even rural or urban schools both did in India. There was this time when "whole class" got imposition and detention punishment. Why the hell whole class has to do it just coz teacher gets pissed off with some students? Some are just crazy.

I am not surprised that **** still goes on. In Chennai there is a school which is very popular for producing state rank holders every year. The brutality and things that go under the name of discipline in that school is unbelievable (my bro attended that school for a while). The parents are 'ok' with that since they produce consistent results. The principal of the school is a personal friend of many TN politicians and he has absolute carteblanche powers with respect to his students. The whole situation is pathetic.

I don't know if this is true or not but a friend of mine told me that there is a college in South India (I think in Tamil Nadu) where if a boy and girl are caught talking to each other they are made to kneel down for the whole day as punishment. I wish I remembered the name of the college so someone here could confirm whether this is true or not but it really escapes me. While the "punishment" mode using physical means has always been prevelant in India as we want "tough love" for our kids, it may be many times worse in rural areas than in urban cities (physical beating is being eliminated I think from big city schools). Unfortunately, the teachers dealing out these punishments often think they are trying to do the best for the students and some of them have no idea of the injury that can be caused. For example having studied in a Catholic school in a city, caning as punishment ( including wholesale class punishment:(() was something very common for every little offense. While the pros and cons of such a punishment can be debated, the ognorance of some teachers in the way it was dealth out scares me now when I look back. Usually it was dealt out by caning the buttocks (female teachers use to call the P.E coaches to help delivering this) which is a safer way. But some of the ignorant ones asked students to stretch their hands and then hit them on the knuckles (with ruler and sometimes even the cane!!). Now I think how lucky we were to escape without serious fractures!!!!! If this was the lack of thought in a relatively sensible city school I shudder to think what some of the rural students probably went through. Even in our school while some of the punishments were not that bad ( e.g. making the boys run a few rounds- it served as an exercise), the reasons for meting such punishments were really strange e.g. if your tie was loose or the blazer was not buttoned or some teacher percieved that you were not fully attentive in the assembly!!! I got repeatedly slapped one day by the idiotic cricket coach because he thought I was smiling when he was talking to the whole class!!! and the headmistress spanked once because she thought she heard a curse word (Saale:giggle:) when I was talking to a friend of mine during recess ( She was really hot so I didn't really mind:winky:). And then there was the stupidity of making students kneel down for the whole recess time if you ventured to "restricted areas" on the school ground even though no one knew on any given day what the restricted areas were :blink:They werre just made up by the house captains everyday to "discipline" students. Meanwhile parents were happy that kids are going to good catholic schools that keeps kids disciplined!!

I don't know if this is true or not but a friend of mine told me that there is a college in South India (I think in Tamil Nadu) where if a boy and girl are caught talking to each other they are made to kneel down for the whole day as punishment. I wish I remembered the name of the college so someone here could confirm whether this is true or not but it really escapes me.
kneel down I dont know, but there are 1 or 2 colleges where you do get punished for cross sexual communications.

I did my schooling in the best school in a city called Ropar from grade 2 to grade 8. I think almost every teacher used physical punishment, and I ranked in top 5 in the class, both in academics and getting physical punishment. The male teachers for Phys. Ed., arts, drawing, music and G.K. were big mother****ers, and would regularly beat the **** out of students. We thought it was common though. Slapping hard was common punishment for not doing the homework, caning was pretty common, pulling hair also. Basically, it was used for 2 purposes: 1). For people who didn't do hw. 2). For people who created tamasha in class (me!!) I remember one teacher asking me to keep my hands up, and then started slapping me repeatedly and told me not to cover my face etc. etc...hahahaaha :haha::haha: ..damn it was scary that time now it is pure funny.. Some other students were even more brutally handled, I mean some serious ass whipping they got almost every day.. Even the lady teachers were not far behind...some of them asked us to bend a bit so that they could reach our face since they were short...:gossip: :((

I am not surprised that **** still goes on. In Chennai there is a school which is very popular for producing state rank holders every year. The brutality and things that go under the name of discipline in that school is unbelievable (my bro attended that school for a while). The parents are 'ok' with that since they produce consistent results. The principal of the school is a personal friend of many TN politicians and he has absolute carteblanche powers with respect to his students. The whole situation is pathetic.
which shith school is this? PM if u cannot post here. I wish they abolish these ones.